We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B n B in Woodstock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jackson House Inn to your Saves list
Jackson House Inn
43 Senior Lane, Woodstock, VT 05091   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Yankee-Best of Vermont
Ranked #1 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful B n B in Woodstock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We decided to end a hiking holiday in New Hampshire, en route to Ottawa, Canada in Woodstock, Vermont. As the earlier part of the trip was quite busy, we wanted to end our vacation on a relaxing note. We stayed in the Francesca suite in the Jackson House Inn and had a wonderful stay, courtesy of Rick and Kathy, owners of the inn. Rick is a creative, conscientious chef, who sources his ingredients locally if possible, preparing delicious breakfasts daily. We stayed for three days so we were able to enjoy three very different preparations (all of them extraordinary) and as I had mentioned I was lactose intolerant, Rick was careful to make adjustments to his recipes to accommodate my dietary needs. Kathy is a consummate hostess, making the experience very special by assisting in providing recommendations for local dining experiences and also making reservations. We enjoyed a unique meal at Cloudland farm thanks to their recommendation. The inn is elegantly furnished and the gardens are beautifully landscaped. Our view from the suite offered a serene outlook onto the garden and the hills in the background.

Room Tip: The suites facing the garden have a private balcony from which one can enjoy the night sky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
193
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were diverted here when one of the owners of our booked B&B were taken ill. The Jackson House stepped up to help out their friend and put is in one of their beautiful rooms at our original booked price, although well below their standard rate. The rooms were truly beautiful, and the grounds are stunning. The breakfasts were truly 5-star and our hosts were incredible. We travel the world and this was one of our finest stays in our own backyard! A little pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

For the past 15 years we have enjoyed visiting interesting cities and small towns, in the eastern U.S., from Florida to Maine. We find staying in small Inns delightful and have experienced some very special places. Recently we visited the Jackson House in Woodstock, VT, and agree with others, that it is simply the Best of the Best! The Inn itself is beautiful, set in an amazing three acre garden, overlooking the Green Mountains and just outside the charming village of Woodstock. What more could you ask? Maybe to have innkeepers who offer warm hospitality. You'll certainly find them here! Kathy's discerning eye and impeccable taste are evident throughout. You may want to be near interesting shops, restaurants, & historic places. Those are all around this area! And how about the breakfast ...what can I add that hasn't been said? Rick is a "Five Star Chef " in our book!! I believe all I could add would be a suggestion ... call for a reservation as soon as you possibly can!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A truly wonderful place to stay. Breakfast was creative and good, much better than the typical bacon and eggs. Rooms were quite clean and beautiful. The couple that runs the Inn are remarkable and helpful. Since every one is suspicious of reviews that say only positive things…my one criticism is that they need a better reading light by the bed in the Clara room. Other than that, this is just about as good a B and B as you will find.

Room Tip: Clara was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

from the moment we walked in the door it met all my expectations, the place is immaculate and Kathy makes you feel right at home. We stayed in one of the suites which was unbelievable, as for breakfast they are to die for, you can see that Rick has a passion for cooking. If I could give the Jackson House Inn a ten star I would.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A beautifully renovated historic home with lovely expansive gardens including a pond awaits you! The Jackson House Inn is ideally located very close to Woodstock but distant enough to be quiet and peaceful. The owners are absolutely delightful and clearly they love welcoming guests. You will be astounded by the delicious breakfast which is served in stunning dining room overlooking the fabulous gardens. My husband and I both highly recommend the Jackson House Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Jackson House Inn is beautiful inside and out. The grounds include a delightful variety of landscaped rooms-- a pond with a stone cairn center, a perennial garden, a lawn, etc. The public rooms inside are similarly varied and comfortable. There are so many perfect spaces for contemplation, for conversation, for reading. Our bedroom (Mary Todd Lincoln Room) was cozy, well-lit, well-appointed, quiet, clean with a comfortable bed and great shower.

Rick and Kathy are warm and careful hosts who are attentive to all needs, including the need for privacy. Rick's breakfasts were revelations of taste and texture. For cocktails or before-bed night -caps, Rick has built a well-thought-out wine cellar and collection of spirits.

This relaxing weekend was one of the best we've had in many years of travel around the country and around the world.

Jackson House Inn is a destination worth seeking out. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jackson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson House Inn

Address: 43 Senior Lane, Woodstock, VT 05091
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson House Inn offers refined relaxation surrounded by the beauty of Vermont. Just outside the village of Woodstock, our property is perfect for a private romantic getaway or a chance to reconnect with friends. 6 One-room suites with fireplaces and 5 classic bedrooms blend history with modern conveniences - all with an en-suite private bathroom with shower (some with massage tubs), WIFI, in-room controlled air conditioning/heating, most with HD television service. Locally-sourced, organic products are featured in a memorable multi-course full breakfast served at individual tables in our dining room, and non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available at all times. Wines, beers and spirits are available in the late afternoon/early evening. Stroll three acres of grounds including a freshwater pond, perennial gardens and an evergreen maze or gaze at the landscape from patios, balconies and chairs on the lawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Jackson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson House Hotel Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.