We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like coming home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jackson House Inn to your Saves list
Jackson House Inn
43 Senior Lane, Woodstock, VT 05091   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Felt like coming home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Jackson House Inn for our one year anniversary in May and have already booked our return for September. Rick and Kathy made our trip truly magical. They are extraordinary individuals who have created such an extraordinary place.

They welcomed us, gauged who we are and from there helped us to plan local activities (boating, hiking, arts, scenic drives, eating) unique to our interests, and wonderful adventures that we would not have found on our own. We explored and adventured, taking their recommendations, and quickly fell in love with the area.

We began each day walking up through the hills and trees, along the brooks and roads behind the house. We were there as the leaves emerged from the buds of the trees covering the mountains. When we returned to the house for breakfast we sat in the beautiful dining room and looked through the walls of windows at the mountains and beauty surrounding the house.

And as we sat, we enjoyed and luxuriated in the BEST food we have ever eaten in a b and b, and indeed some of the best food we have ever eaten at all. It was so nourishing, full of flavor and texture, an experience of food that was so unique. Rick kept telling us that one of the things that is so special about Vermont is the love that people bring to their work. This was the case again and again at the Jackson House Inn. I was reminded of one of my favorite books, "Like Water for Chocolate" in which the food magically takes on the emotions and intention of the chef. It was as though we could taste the care within the food.

We came as guests and left as friends. We are so looking forward to our return as the leaves again transform on the trees.

Thank you thank you thank you, Kathy and Rick!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
180
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband I have been fortunate enough to stay in a number of luxury inns along the East Coast in the last several years--including two others in Woodstock. The Jackson House Inn surpasses anything we've experienced, and, I cannot emphasize this enough--every aspect of our stay was utter perfection.

The house itself is immaculate with a seamless blend of historical features and contemporary offerings. The rooms--we stayed in Malena's Tango, and peeked in at others--are warm, soothing, elegantly decorated and immediately inviting. They also contain what might be described as the world's most sumptuous bedding--feather-topped mattresses and down duvets. You might want to consider building extra time in to your itinerary to allow for extended lounging in these miraculous beds. Our room featured a therapeutic massage tub as well as a gas fireplace, and both were welcome sights for weary travelers.

As for the key to any successful B&B, Rick and Kathy are the most gracious hosts one could imagine: accommodating to our varying daily schedule (offering breakfast at earlier-than-usual times as we traveled to a graduation ceremony and departed for a late-morning flight), engaging as we chatted about local attractions and dining options, and as welcoming as two people could possibly be.

In the tradition of saving the best for last, I have to say that the breakfasts designed by Rick (and designed truly is the appropriate word--they were not merely "cooked" or "presented") are indicative of some kind of culinary gift from the gods! Passionate about "thinking globally and acting locally," Rick incorporates offerings from local farms and dairies into his dishes, and the result is nothing short of phenomenal. The first-course treats often included decadent yogurt and fruit dishes while the entrees ranged from apple-cheddar pancakes to what my husband and I now refer to as THE BEST FOOD EVER: Rick's version of Charleston grits and sausage. I can only hope that all guests are fortunate enough to experience that dish during their stay. Also--as another note on how accommodating Rick and Kathy are--I have both a shellfish and egg allergy, and Rick went out of his way to ensure that I had the most delectable dishes possible without those particular ingredients. Much appreciated.

Clearly, I could go on interminably, but I will close by encouraging you to seek your quintessential Vermont vacation at The Jackson House Inn....perfect in every way.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kterwelp1, Owner at Jackson House Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. It was a true pleasure to have you and Jason with us last weekend. I'm delighted that you found the bedding to be so memorable. As RIck and I planned for the inn's upgrades, we wanted that aspect of the guest experience to shine. In addition, Rick was honored by your comments about breakfast as his goal is to exceed expectations. Again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Came to Vermont with some friends to go Skiing and found the Jackson House Inn. Incredibly friendly couple/inn keepers. Warm, relaxing, GREAT FOOD!! Great location to skiing (Okemo Mountain and Killington).

Clean, hospitable, quiet rooms. Wonderful property off the main road from Woodstock.

Highly recommend for any and all travelers. Wanted to come back the minute I left.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The Jackson House Inn delivers what one would expect of a top rated Inn. Meticulously clean with tasteful interior design, wonderful beds and linens and Kathy and Ricks's attention to every detail enhanced our stay. A bonus is the breakfast served. Rick is a creative artist in the kitchen and he prepared a memorable meal: an exceptional, out of the ordinary treat. Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester , New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Rick and Kathy made us all feel as warm and welcome as is possible. They were the perfect hosts for what was their first wedding event in their newly renovated home. Their attention to detail was oustanding. With a total attendence of almost 40 people, nothing was every out of place or forgotten. The dinning room and dance floor were idea, and the floor to ceiling stone fireplace made a perfect back drop for the wedding sevice. The food was excellent both for the reception and for the breakfast meals. Thr rooms were nicely decorated and extremely comfortable. This is definitely a five star 'GEM' tucked away in Woodstock,VT.

Room Tip: Do you want to be greeted by the Sun in the AM?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Being a guest at several Inn’s over the years, we can say without reservation that our stay at The Jackson House Inn was the warmest and most intimate country Inn we have experienced. Rick and Kathy have done a magnificent job restoring this 1890’s farmhouse, which has the elegant charm of a historic Inn situated in a lovely, peaceful setting….. blended with today’s modern conveniences. All the guest rooms are well-appointed with beautiful furniture and cozy beds, each room having its own unique characteristics. The spacious common area offers the flexibility of either sitting by the stone fireplace, grabbing a beverage in the bar area, or retreating with a book to one of the sitting area’s. Rick and Kathy’s attention to detail and personal level of service are exceptional. As previous guests have indicated, the breakfast Rick prepares are unique and fantastic. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat in a beautiful setting with a warm intimate feel, we highly recommend staying at The Jackson House Inn. We look forward to returning to The Jackson House inn for many years to come.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

My girlfriend and I traveled to Vermont for a weekend getaway hoping to experience the slopes and see what Vermont was about. I had been to Burlington, but was excited to see a smaller town and this was exactly what I hoped for. The inn is truly beautiful and the innkeepers could not have been nicer. We enjoyed a fantastic breakfast of cheesy homemade grits with sausage. What's even better is that it was only a half hour away from Killington, just a quick drive for a full day of skiiing! We couldn't have had a better stay and look forward to going back again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jackson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson House Inn

Address: 43 Senior Lane, Woodstock, VT 05091
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Jackson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson House Hotel Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.