We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charleston House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Charleston House
Save
You added The Charleston House to your Saves list
21 Pleasant Street, Woodstock, VT 05091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Wilmington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best B & B ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We always look to stay at B & Bs when we travel. Never have we had the pleasure of such sincerely delightful innkeepers as Dixi and Willa. The recent Hurricane Irene flooded through Vermont during our stay which caused all restaurants in the town to close. No challenge for our innkeepers. They merely went to their cupboards and whipped us up a wonderful pasta salad adorned with bits of this and that from frig and freezer. Add the wine, bread fresh cookies and ice cream and we all enjoyed a feast and great conversation for hours into the storm. Under such conditions you don't fake that you love what you are doing. Did I mention there was no running water during the storm? We barely noticed.
Excellent walkable location to all the attractions of quaint Woodstock. A truly wonderful get away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
63
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Nice B&B, location is good for walk to town, wonderful breakfasts, bed was 'ok', daily attention to cleanliness, carpet and sofa should be updated in near future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at the Charleston House for a weekend getaway. It's a beautiful old house, well maintained. We had an upgrade to a large room with a jacuzzi tub, fireplace and private deck - all lovely. The bed was very high (steps are provided), but comfortable. The bathroom was equipped with the thickest towels we've ever seen! I would suggest a less pungent dryer sheet for sensitive noses and those with allergies. A peek inside other rooms (the ones with doors open, of course) showed them to be spacious and nicely decorated as well. They have A/C, Wifi and a gorgeous cat, which the innkeeper let us know about while booking the room. The breakfasts were sumptuous, delicious and innkeepers were engaging. The location is perfect, within walking distance to the shops in Woodstock. The inn is on a main street, so road noise could be a problem with windows open for light sleepers. Also, there is a nearby church bell that chimes every half hour (we liked that!). We're thinking of bringing the whole family back when we're there for a wedding in the fall!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a delightful spot - perfect location to explore the village of Woodstock, comfortable rooms with up-to-date bathrooms, lovely rooms in which to relax on the first floor. And the breakfasts! Menus vary daily but each is delicious and kept us going through some long days. Dixie and Willa are wonderful hosts, with lots of information about the village and surrounding area, and clearly want their guests to feel comfortable and relaxed. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

The room was spacious enough and well furnished with a large bed, some antique touches, fireplace, large closet, adequate bathroom, and very plushy, new bath towels. We did not particularly care for the room being in the extension wing and not within the main house and felt kind of odd about spending time in the living area of the main house as if it "belonged" to the occupants of the main house, but that was likely just us.. Breakfasts served were delicious and could have easily been shared.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

This is the most charming B&B I've ever stayed in, with the most wonderful breakfasts. And the welcome couldn't be warmer. Most highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend and honestly if the special rate of $130 wasn't offered I would have been very disappointed with choosing this property. The owners are wonderful but you can hear all the other guests as well as the main road. The building is old and you hear the pipes clanging all night long.

The location is prime, however.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charleston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charleston House

Address: 21 Pleasant Street, Woodstock, VT 05091
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid the ambiance and historic tradition of the village, A part of what makes Woodstock special. Walk to surrounding art galleries, museums, shops and Vermont's National Park. Comfort and warm hospitality. Period antiques, fine reproductions, an eclectic selection of art, and Oriental rugs. 9 rooms, all with private bath. Some rooms with TV, fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Sumptuous candlelit breakfasts. Air-conditioning. Free wi-fi. Close to ski areas, golf courses, and Dartmouth College. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charleston House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.