We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applebutter Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applebutter Inn
Save
You added Applebutter Inn to your Saves list
75 11 Happy Valley Road, PO Box 395, Woodstock, VT 05091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Reisterstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't be beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We just spent two wonderful days at the Applebutter Inn. Barbara and Michael couldn't have made us feel more at home with their gracious hospitality. The breakfasts they prepared were outstanding and incredibly filling. You will not walk away hungry. In addition Barbara and Michael are a great resource for things to do and places to visit. We stayed in the King David room and it was quite spacious. We were even able to use the screened in porch just off the room, which had a nice view of the property. All-in-all we highly recommend the Applebutter Inn if you are visiting the Woodstock, VT area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
111
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We came to Vermont for 3 days XCountry skiing in Woodstock the last week of February, and were disappointed that we were unable to ski due to bitterly cold days and icy conditions on the trails. But we ended up having fun anyway due in large part to our hosts Barbara and Michael. We had one of the larger rooms, very comfortable, with a fireplace. The innkeepers made us feel not only welcome but that they were having as much fun as we were. My wife mentioned in passing that she loved rice pudding. the next morning, our breakfast included rice pudding(and the recipe). We also admired the color of the house next door, and when we left, Barbara handed us the formula for the paint her neighbors had used. Needless to say, you don't get this kind of service and personal attention staying at one of the large hotels in the area, although you do get to pay a lot more.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are upstairs, and like all old homes, there's a long narrow staircase. They do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Applebutter Inn is the ideal getaway destination; we spent two nights here between Christmas and New Year's and arrived home totally relaxed! Barbara and Michael are the perfect hosts and have created an inviting home-away-from -home for their guests. We feasted on generous breakfasts that included a fresh fruit cup and flaky scone or blueberry muffin, followed by a filling entre, such as crème brulee French toast. Yummy! By late afternoon, when we returned to the Inn from a day's activities, the self-serve coffee/tea/hot chocolate table also offered a fresh baked goody; powdery butter cookies one day, spicy gingerbread bars the next.
Our room, the King David, had a remote-controlled gas fireplace, which was a cozy feature that contrasted with the snow falling outside our windows. In addition, we felt quite papered by the luxurious bed and bath linens and plush, sleep-inducing mattress. An unexpected treat the morning after the snowstorm was to find all the guests' cars had been thoughtfully cleared of the snow and ice: surprise valet service!
We stayed at the Applebutter Inn a few years ago and are so glad we found our way back. We're already looking forward to a third visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Barbara and Michael are wonderful hosts. Their inn was comfortable and more than accommodating and the breakfast was INCREDIBLE! It is ideally located just minutes from downtown Woodstock as well as the many things to do in Quechee, VT. I would absolutely, 110% recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a one day or week long stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King David room and although it was small, it had everything my fiance and I needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We spent the last night of our three and half week holiday in Canada and USA at the Applebutter Inn on the way back to Montreal - a wonderful choice! Barbara and Michael were very very welcoming but not intrusive, they offered advice, they were happy to chat but only if we wanted to. As a result we felt very much at home. Although we had a lovely bedroom (Jonothan), we spent time in the sitting room to read and enjoy the space and the warm and comfortable ambiance.

Barbara and Michael suggested and booked for us a restaurant which was very good, ideal for our special last night's holiday in nearby Woodstock. The breakfast was lovely, juice, homemade muffins, fresh fruit, and pancakes with local sausagee and eggs, endless coffee or tea. Our room was very comfortable and quiet with everything we could need.

An excellent B & B and a wonderful way to end our holiday!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Jim and I just returned home to Conn. after our wonderful two-day stay at the Apple Butter Inn in Woodstock, VT. As I stated above we were delighted at our first time ever stay at a B & B. Michael and Barbara opened their home to us and we felt very much at home. The Apple Butter Inn is small hosting six guest rooms however the homey feeling coming from the house coupled with the graciousness of Barbara and Michael will make your stay so, so enjoyable you will want to return as we most certainly will. Your breakfast, prepared by both Barbara and Michael, will be very satisfying, fresh and just plain delicious. The rooms at the Inn are very, very cozy and most importantly very clean. Again I can't say enough for our stay and if you are looking for a
B & B in the Vermont area go there you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Applebutter twice, and we'll go back again! Barbara and Michael are very friendly and welcoming, the 3-course breakfast is outstanding and there are even homebaked cookies out every afternoon/evening, a different type of cookie each day! Barbara and Michael also make a point of trying out all of the local restaurants in order to know what to recommend to their guests, and have plenty of activities in the area to recommend as well. We have stayed in 2 different rooms, both very charming and descriptions accurate. We were there for our anniversary this year and they put a bottle of champagne in our room to celebrate! we would definitely go back again and recommend this place to any and all travelers looking for a great stay in the Woodstock area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applebutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applebutter Inn

Address: 75 11 Happy Valley Road, PO Box 395, Woodstock, VT 05091
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Applebutter Hotel Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebutter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.