We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B & B in Woodstock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applebutter Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applebutter Inn
Save
You added Applebutter Inn to your Saves list
75 11 Happy Valley Road, PO Box 395, Woodstock, VT 05091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming B & B in Woodstock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Spent two nights at the Applebutter Inn and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Michael and Barbara were very helpful and the breakfasts were very different to
breakfast we normally have but delicious. I have since coming home received
the recipe from Barbara for her Blueberry Muffins. The information received from
both was very helpful and we thought Woodstock was great also the restaurants
recommended were great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
113
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Applebutter Inn is so sweet. Teddy bears scattered around and wonderful decor. The rooms are beautifully furnished with one having it's own private balcony. We recommend that you splash out and choose one of the larger rooms so that you get a private bathroom. The breakfast was quite ample with some very yummy muffins and pancakes. Hopefully you will get to sample a "Dutch baby," which is kind of like a blueberry cake in an individual dish. Our hosts, Michael and Barbara, were very supportive and helpful as we were in the process of making an offer on a house in Woodstock and needed some local advice. A great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Kisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I spent this Labor Day weekend in the Applebutter Inn in Woodstock VT and had a fantastic time. The Innkeepers, Barbara and Michael, were the perfect hosts and gourmet cooks. The property is beautiful, charming, comfortable, clean and serves the most delicious breakfasts prepared with care and love. It's the perfect home-base to enjoy the gorgeous surrounding area brimming with shops, restaurants, golf, walking trails and just plain gorgeous countryside. The Fall should be stupendous with glorious Fall color and the town of Woodstock is beautiful and open for business. We look forward to returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: The Cameo room is elegant, huge and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Only had one evening but enjoyed the room and the breakfast very much- fresh and welcoming room decor, nice breakfast room offering private tables, enjoyed the porch and afternoon refreshments- very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We booked a room here near Woodstock as a fallback, after a place in Burlington cancelled our reservations unexpectedly. What a stroke of luck for us! Barbara and Michael were just fantastic has hosts. I just wish we could have spent more time here, but we were eager to see more of Vermont. Michael was so nice to us. I spoke some golf with him, and he ended up giving me one of his books to take home. Barbara is a phenomenal cook. The breakfast was probably one of the best during our entire New England trip. The blueberry muffins were better than anything of that nature I have had. After breakfast, we enjoyed a nice long conversation with them before departing. Hopefully, we will be back in this area in the future and make a longer stay of it.

Room Tip: Royal Gala room was huge, very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern cal
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

A home away from home. Barbara and Michael are lovely hosts. The house is laid out really well, and there are many sitting rooms to while away the hours should you choose. We had the Jonathan room on the second floor which was clean with plenty of room and a comfortable queen size bed. Antiques are all over the house - I found myself wandering just looking at all the stuff in the different rooms. The breakfasts were fantastic and served very appetizingly to make the mouth water. In the afternoon fresh cookies and tea were served. One thing I liked about this B&B, unlike most others, is that in others the kitchen is behind closed doors, but here you walk through the kitchen to get the breakfast room and you can see what is being cooked. A nice touch. The Inn is located between Quechee & Woodstock just off the main road and an easy drive to either.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We've stayed at many B & Bs over the years and this is one of the top two. We haven't found number one yet. The warm hospitality by the innkeepers makes you feel especially welcome. They see to every convenience and make sure their guests are comfortable. The breakfasts are outstanding and beautifully served. It feels like home only better. We have made reservations for another stay, our third at Applebutter Inn in one year.
Ellen & Peter Camfield
8-7-11

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applebutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applebutter Inn

Address: 75 11 Happy Valley Road, PO Box 395, Woodstock, VT 05091
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Applebutter Hotel Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebutter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.