We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Miss This Gem of a Dining Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Pane e Salute

Osteria Pane e Salute
61 Central St, Woodstock, VT 05091
802 457 4882
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 26 Restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss This Gem of a Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The Gold Standard! By far, the best meal and most delightful dining experience of our New England trip! Do not miss this restaurant if you are lucky enough to get a reservation. Deirdre and Caleb share their passion to make your dinner an unforgettable experience. The spectacular food, gorgeous surroundings, and perfect ambience combine to make Osteria Pane e Salute a "do not miss" when you're in Woodstock.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    14
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“This is a total dining experience; plan to stay the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Reserve in advance and spend the evening. Owners Deirdre and Caleb are extremely attentive and eager to please. Lighting, noise level, pacing and ambiance are all as one would hope for. The prix fixe allows you to sample a number of delectable courses, which you really should try to do. Portion size and pacing are spot on; you will not feel overly stuffed or wanting for more. Caleb made his own ricotta 1 hour before serving (the best!) and he came out with it at night's end and told us how he made it. The roasted eggplant, green onions & ricotta were delicious. I couldn't decide between the pastas, so they served 2 small portions so I could enjoy both. The "Neapolitan Bolognaise" was close to perfection, as was the secondi course and dessert. If you're not too familiar with Italian wines, Deirdre will help out. Wonderful food and glowing hospitality make for a memorable experience. We hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Once again--a truly great meal, great wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fourth time here--fourth great meal. Just like the restaurants in Italy--the table is yours for the whole evening, nice leisurely meal, and the owners cooking and serving themselves--always attention to detail. Deirdre made the most wonderful wine recommendations. Go and enjoy! (and ps pick up her cookbook while you are there! great recipes.....)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Outstanding culinary experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

You must go and you must make a reservation. The owners are delightful and the food outstanding. Let Diedra recommend a wine for you. She is quite knowledgable and spot on. The arugala salad with house cured bresaola was light and delicious. The arugala is grown in their garden and tastes the way arugala is supposed to! The pizza has the thinnest crust, a light flavorful sauce and the freshest toppings. For dessert we had a chocolate pizza and strawberry shortcake. Both worth every calorie. We will come back to Woodstock just to eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ambitious and creative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

But our experience did not live up to our expectations or to what others have described. Wanted to love this place. It is clearly a labor of love and the owners are dedicated to local foods and are clearly trying to offer a superlative experience. The atmosphere is casually elegant, the service was professional. The food uneven. Maybe it's what we ordered. Maybe it was an off-night. I'm giving a four because I appreciate what they are trying to do and hope they will be successful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Pane e Salute also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Pane e Salute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Pane e Salute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.