We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family food stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Cottage Snack Bar

White Cottage Snack Bar
462 Woodstock Rd, Woodstock, VT 05091-5202
802-457-3455
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 26 Restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Scituate, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great family food stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I have visited this place many times over the years. It keeps getting better. Great, inexpensive family-type lunch place with burgers, salads, fish & chips, etc. When you get your lunch at the counter, take it outside to sit by the river, or, better still, enjoy lunch while sitting on one of the covered gliders overlooking the river.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“YUM and FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I LOVE going to the snack bar in the warmer months! Back a bag, wear a bathing suit, grab some yummy fried clams and sweet potato fries and head down to the Ottaquechee River for a swim!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clams Riverside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Good fried clams are impossible to find on the west coast so I was excited to hear that this place has incredible whole bellied fried clams while visiting. Everyone was correct! Crispy on the outside and juicy bellies. I could have eaten these all day. Be sure to order their tasty french fries with you lunch, you'll be glad you did, best I've had in a long time. A little pricey but when you're in the mood for great fried clams price is no option. If it's a nice day opt for the outside seating on cedar gliders along side the river, enjoying the scenery as well as the clams.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Vermont
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great simple food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We like to go to the White Cottage. The food is simple, as is the atmosphere. You order at the window, they call your name when it's ready, and sit where ever you want. The offerings are basic and everything is really good. They make really good fried fish; lobster rolls, fried clams, and the fish and chips are all awesome. Burgers are good, grilled chicken is tasty also. Besides that they have great icecream. The price is not all that expensive, and on a nice warm day it is nice to eat down by the river, which is about 100 feet walk from the back door. We go quite often in the summer for an impromptu meal, even on weeknights. (They're closed from mid-October till May 1)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fried clams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I never write reviews, but I am a fried clam aficionado and I have traveled from Rhode Island to Ipswich to Main in pursuit. We never expected to find any in Vermont, but stopped and turned around when we passed the sign. Didn't expect much, and it took a while for them to be cooked. But when we tasted them, we were blown away - delicate, crunchy, tasty, and not the least bit greasy. Definitely up there with the best we've ever tasted. From now on this is a must stop anytime we are in Vermont. Thanks guys, you were the high point of our Fall sightseeing trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Cottage Snack Bar also viewed

 

Been to White Cottage Snack Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Cottage Snack Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.