We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming evening...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kedron Valley Inn

Kedron Valley Inn
4778 South Rd, Woodstock, VT 05071-9505
802-457-1473
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 27 restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Brandon, VT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A charming evening...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Kedron Valley Inn is on the outskirts of Woodstock Vermont. The dining room was beautiful and offered an intimate and comfortable atmosphere. The menu was enticing. You could select pub style food (i.e. hamburgers...even a turkey burger for a healthy alternative) or a more formal dinner. I selected the sole. It was served on a plate of linguini with asparagus and lobster cream. It was a fresh dish with many delicious flavors that heighten the flavor of the fish. For the dessert, the Inn was offering a seasonal dessert...an apple tart with a toffee sauce. It was the perfect ending to the meal. Sweet and portioned appropriately. I also like that it highlighted Vermont's autumn flavors. My dinner companions tried the chocolate mousse. It looked delectable and they were not willing to share a bite. I would highly recommend a trip to the Kedron Valley Inn for dinner. The service was impeccable, the atmosphere was elegant, and the food was exceptional.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, General Manager at Kedron Valley Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening at the KVI. Our Chef’s fall menu has been well received by our inn guests and local residents. We hope you’ll be back soon to enjoy the tasty food, warm service and gracious atmosphere here at the Kedron Valley Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    49
    14
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“How could it all go so wrong in 4 short weeks?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went to the Kedron Vally Inn in July, and it was just wonderful. Food great, service great, and the inn manager checked in on us 3-4 times. Such a nice time. Fast forward 4 short weeks...service mediocre and food...ummm...the best description is not very good. We sat one table over from our earlier visit. Was this a cursed table? Have they lost their chef? Is the restaurant failing and no longer a focus? I don't know the answer to these questions, but will skip the Kedron for dinner for a while. I was embarrassed I recommended them for dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy J, General Manager at Kedron Valley Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We’re sorry to hear that your recent dinner at the KVI was not as enjoyable as your previous visit. Unfortunately, on rare occasions, we do have guests disappointed in their experience with us. In these instances, we try to do all we can to address any problem brought to our attention. We feel we have made tremendous progress in making the KVI restaurant one of the top dining options in our area. We have a terrific new chef who joined us 6 months ago, offering a creative menu emphasizing local products, an award-winning wine list and a wonderfully atmospheric and historic dining room. We hope you will give the KVI another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Up and coming...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Kedron Valley Inn has been re-done in fine fashion -- a fine old country house has an open and airy main dining room, a cozy tavern, and several dining tables on the spacious front porch, and the overall impression is one of a warm welcome, comfort, and good food and drink. We found the staff particularly friendly and cheerful; we started our evening out on the porch but, as it seemed to be chilling off rather quickly, asked to move indoors, and were immediately given a choice of several nice tables. The wine list is a good one, and not terribly expensive -- like the menu, in both respects -- and our dinner was served in a well-paced and professional manner. The dishes themselves were a little uneven: my locally-raised roasted chicken was *really* good, while my wife's pork chop turned out to be a piece of pork loin, and "seared" pineapple in the salsa arrived cold. Still, flavors were good, and lesser aspects of her dishes were not so much major failings as ways a good dish could have been made better. Locally-made ice cream, shared for dessert, was nothing short of *memorable* (Vermont does that sort of thing really well!). Prices are quite moderate, particularly given the really pleasant setting, and while we splashed out a bit on a really nice bottle of wine the total check was a pleasant surprise.

We hope to return next year, and to see how a promising kitchen continues to develop --

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner and atmosphere in South Woodstock - will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a terrific meal in this charming inn. Everything was well done, the atmosphere is great and not pretentious, and the innkeeper, Wendy, is a real gem. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Porch Where Time Stands Still So Why Not Linger Forever?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

The Kedron Valley Inn succeeds in attracting both locals and visitors to its establishment as evidenced by the fact that we shared (inadvertantly) the porch dining area with the family from which we rented our renovated barn in South Woodstock.  There were two other sets of neighbors present and as many tourist families.  What is so magical as a quiet country road receding into the distance?  Right at a turn in the road, at the edge of a tiny village, is where you will find the Kedron Valley Inn that so graciously combines a casual atmosphere with locally procured produce, meat, and cheese, not to mention delicious VT after dinner drinks like ice cider wine and maple liqueur.  Our kids enjoyed their grilled pizza and a game of tag on the front lawn, while we savored a quiet summer's eve.  The service was knowledgable and timely.  Even the music was just right -- loungey cabaret and jazz standards.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kedron Valley Inn also viewed

 

Been to Kedron Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kedron Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.