We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable family owned country motel close to Woodstock amenities and very reasonably priced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Braeside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braeside Motel
908 Woodstock Road, PO Box 411, Woodstock, VT 05091   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Woodstock
Littleton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Comfortable family owned country motel close to Woodstock amenities and very reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

The owners of this motel are so friendly you will want to come back again just to see them! The view from every room is just what you want from a Vermont motel. It is a lovely green mountain with cows grazing high on the hill top. It is set back from the road far enough to be peaceful and quiet. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. The coffee is made for you in the lobby of the motel every morning and you can fill your cup as many times as you like. All of the wonderful amenities of Woodstock are within one mile of this motel and it's priced so reasonably that you'll actually have money to enjoy the restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, VT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

I stayed with colleagues for business and we all had a great stay. The location was great, the price was right, and the staff were super accomodating. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is a tough review to write, as nothing was really so negative about this place. For sure, it's a great value for the area, no question about that. Everything else was just average.

It's about 1.5 miles from town, so not too bad. It's really just your average, roadside place. The woman who checked me in told me that internet was spotty (turned out I wasn't able to access it at all), which may be more the area than the motel, but still important to me. There was no way to make tea/coffee in the room, something I really appreciate having & pretty basic for the place to provide. They had some in the office, but when I went to get some that night at 10:00, they were closed & didn't answer a knock on the door. I didn't want to ring a bell to disturb them, but simply having coffee/tea in the rooms would be great.

The room itself was fine- very small though we were 3 people with 2 beds. But they were clean & that's the important thing. Beds could use an upgrade as well as well as the bathrooms. No soap or shampoo either, but we did have a small fridge in our room.

All in all, it was a fine stay - a bit more attention to the services for guests would have helped, but a great value for the area and fine if you're not staying too long.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Woodstock is one of our favorite places to visit, and we always stay at the Braeside. It is a lovely, charming motel in a beautiful, pastoral setting. The first time we stayed there we arrived at night -- when I walked out of the door in the morning, I literally laughed at how beautiful the view was. Lovely Vermont! It is located about three or four minutes by car from the Woodstock village green, so it is like staying in town but with a better view.

The rooms are always very clean, the pillows are great, the beds are comfortable, the heater is great (in fact, had to turn it down in December) and the hot water is plentiful! Most rooms (all?) have a mini-refrigerator, and dogs are welcome (there are two or three rooms designated as pet-friendly). In fact, we stayed here the first time years ago because we were traveling with our dog and had been turned away from other motels in the area. The owners are exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable about the area -- they will point you to the good restaurants! On a practical note, the WiFi service is terrific -- got some work done before heading out to enjoy the Vermont snow.

Overall, a lovely, peaceful, comfortable place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

other inns in Woodstock were over priced so we stayed just outside of the town .. it was very much like an old fashioned motel - where you park outside of your room. basic room with no coffee or fridge !! small old fashioned bathroom .. staff were friendly ...

  • Liked — good price
  • Disliked — no coffee
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
224 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

Woodstock is really expensive for hotels. This is a small motel a few miles east of town on the road to Quechee. It is very clean, friendly and safe with lovely views from the windows. Beds are ok, bathroom is standard motel; the place is quiet. It has no frills whatsoever - apart from free wifi - not even coffee! But a good choice for the money

  • Liked — Its price
  • Disliked — Lack of coffee in the morning
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

The owner of the motel was super friendly and helpful. The room above average size, really homie and extra clean. Great place to stay.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Braeside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Motel

Address: 908 Woodstock Road, PO Box 411, Woodstock, VT 05091
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculate, 12-room motel is set on a quiet hillside, only one mile from Woodstock's historic downtown. Discover why many Woodstock visitors return time and again to the Braeside! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braeside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Braeside Motel to your Saves list