We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kedron Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kedron Valley Inn to your Saves list
Kedron Valley Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4778 South Road, South Woodstock, Woodstock, VT 05071   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Babylon, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Never disappointed at KVI. Our room was newly renovated and comfortably appointed. Dinner on the open porch was delicious, and we always look forward to the made-to-order breakfast! Innkeeper Wendy is always available and is a most gracious host. The grounds are relaxing to walk around any time of the day. The Woodstock area has much to offer, and KVI is a perfect base from which to experience it all!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Inn itself are like walking back in time. Beautiful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    35
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
27
123
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights in July and enjoyed the area. The accomodations were very nice. Good sized room with two very comfortable double beds. Beautiful fireplace that I'm sure is very nice in the colder weather. It was very hot outside, but the AC in the room worked very well. The only downside to the Inn was the breakfast. The first morning, the waitperson/cook was wonderful. She had a great personality, willing to prepare anything you wanted and presented everything beautifully. Unfortunately, she was off for the rest of our stay and her replacement (a man) had a totally different attitude. Second morning, he was willing to make something to order, but presented plainly on the plate and you needed to be really specific with your requests. The third day, he just offered a buffet horrible quiche, bacon, ham, some baked goods and fruit, and then seemed to be hiding so he couldn't be found when people came in and had questions/requests. The rest of the staff was very pleasant and helpful. One caution - they really do mean it when they say there's no cell service at the Inn and in many of the surrounding areas!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Spent a long weekend in Woodstock at The Kedron Valley Inn with my wife and the Atmosphere was great and the Hotel had a great centralized location to travel and explore the surrounding countryside. Our room was great, looked newly renovated and the complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day. Also we ate at the restaurant which had great service and the food was superb. Next time we are back in Woodstock we will defiantly stay at The Kedron Valley Inn again.

Room Tip: Website has Specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Very disappointed , even angry, that the dining facility was not available when we stayed . Part of the reason for booking there was the tavern and menu . The web site says "dining all year round " and this is just not true . i would have gone elsewhere if I had known .
Also, we were put in the annex despite being the only couple in the whole place . I felt very insecure and there no effective barriers to anyone walking into the place at any hour of the day or night ..
Breakfast was cooked to request but was actually inedible and way undercooked .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmf75, Manager at Kedron Valley Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
We apologize for any misunderstanding about our dining hours. Unlike many local Inns, our restaurant is open for dinner year 'round, even during Vermont's off-peak seasons. But, as is noted on our website, the dining room is closed on Tuesday and Wednesday each week for a staff break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We desperately needed a relaxing, fun getaway, and this inn was just what we were looking for. We travel with a dog and that was no problem whatsoever. They do have an extensive list of do's and don'ts you need to sign, but nothing any responsible owner could disagree with. We stayed in the Lodge and our room was huge: a large downstairs sitting area w/TV, fridge, and sliding door to an outside patio; and a spacious upstairs, king bedded room (also w/TV), gas fireplace (with timer, a nice touch) and a large bathroom with stall shower and separate whirlpool tub. They had recently completed an extensive renovation and the place looked beautiful, especially the main inn dining room.

The staff was very friendly and efficient. A really nice welcome. Although Woodstock proper has a number of excellent restaurants, we ate one night at the inn and would've gone another night as well except that they only served brunch that day. (Mother's Day Sunday.) Delicious food, great atmosphere, both for dinner and for breakfast, which has a large selection to choose from.

The inn is in a quiet bend of the road across from a babbling brook, and there is a great general store just a few dozen yards away, very convenient for anything you forgot in your hurry to leave your troubles behind... We plan on coming back as soon as we possibly can.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Just returned from quick vacation to Woodstock, a beautiful Vermont town. Stayed at the Kedron Valley Inn. Enjoyed this classic hotel alot. Nice quiet location just outside of town. Nice rooms had fireplaces and comfy bedding and a neat, historic post and beam Tavern that serves very good American food. New owners seem to be working hard to improve the place -- everything looked newly painted and spic and span. We stayed in one of the older buildings but it had been recently renovated and was new and clean. Staff was very helpful too. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Check their website for deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We've stayed at Kedron several times a year for the last 35 years because of the great horseback riding in the area. Like many properties, it has changed owners several times and is now in the first year of new owners. They are the same people that own the Reluctant Panther in Manchester. Kedron has always been a lovely old (1828) property and the new owners are part way through a program of room and dining renovation. As a result, the rooms are very nice, the bar is most hospitable and the dining room is again serving good food with an emphasis on local ingredients. Wendy, the manageress, and the entire staff are wonderful. There is a great pond for swimming, you're 15 minutes from Woodstock and it's attractions, and at night it's country-dark and quiet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 2 is the best, 26 second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kedron Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kedron Valley Inn

Address: 4778 South Road, South Woodstock, Woodstock, VT 05071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kedron Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kedron Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kedron Valley Hotel Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kedron Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.