We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend wedding in Vermont” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shire Riverview Lodging

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shire Riverview Lodging
Save
You added Shire Riverview Lodging to your Saves list
46 Pleasant St., Woodstock, VT 05091 (Formerly Shire Riverview Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Avondale
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend wedding in Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

WE spent four days in Woodstock, VT this July for a family wedding. The room at the Shire was wonderful!! We need an accessible room and are often disappointed with what some call "accessible" but not here. The room on their first floor was large, roomy, had doors to the veranda over looking the river and was very comfortable. The AC was wonderful as was the bed. The only drawback is easily fixed with a shower bench for those who cannot stand to shower. If you are visiting Woodstock and the area for vacation, however, and require a scooter or wheelchair or walker, very little of the area is accessible. One store, a variety store, I could enter about ten feet and most of the places to eat were inaccessible to me. We had to drive twenty miles to restaurants that were open to me. All that being said, the Shire was great!!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms all open to a veranda over looking the river as does the accessible room (102) downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    127
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
88
158
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I would definitely stay at The Shire again. Our room overlooked a lovely babbling brook and had a great view of the VT mountains. Location is perfectly situated near the downtown shops, and the owners/employees are very friendly. (We needed a place to store some ice cream from the Ben & Jerry's factory, and they graciously provided some freezer space).

Room Tip: Request a riverside room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohoes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

From the minute we arrived, we knew that this motel would be fabulous. The staff was friendly and accommodating, including the owner. Our room was comfortable, quiet, and super clean. We reserved two doubles with a view of the Ottaquechee River and it was quite lovely. The location close to town made it convenient for walking and even though we faced the front, the road noise was minimal. All in all it was a terrific experience that we plan on repeating in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was a lovely, spacious room with a great view over the river. There is also a balcony to sit with even better views. Coffee is provided in the morning but no breakfast; we went to the handy supermarket across the road and bought breakfast to have the next morning.
If only the owners provided a basket of muffins or pastries and some proper milk, this would be fantastic. It was ok, having shopped over the road, but how simple would it be to provide something other than the awful pre-packaged half and half milk packs? They are so disgusting! We left the rest of our milk carton for others - why not put a couple of packs out?
Apart from that, a ovely room with good views and a good location. Noise could be heard from adjacent room but, luckily, this was only after we had woken up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel was very nice and comfortable.
We went for a getaway and were not disappointed.
The location was great as it is very close to downtown Woodstock and was an easy walk, even in the heat.
The staff were typically friendly Vermonters.

A nice touch was morning coffee and on the upstairs terrace overlooking the river. Quite quaint.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Shire Riverview Motel in Woodstock, VT. We had not made any reservations as we were simply on vacation and driving randomly, we were a walk in on vacation and driving through the area. The staff at the desk was very courteous and polite. They had no problem with the fact that we had a small dog with us. We were given a room on the back side of the Motel overlooking the river. The room was large, roomy and very clean. All staff both upon arriving and staff in the morning doing the cleaning was very nice and friendly. We walked into town and met a couple of gentlemen with a dog that were hiking and needing a place to stay and recommended The Shire Riverview Motel. They took our advice and were given a room also. I would highly recommend this Motel to anyone traveling through Woodstock, VT and will definitely stay there again when I am in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was on the lower level in the back facing the river and was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We rented a room with 2 queen beds for 4 of us who attended a wedding at the Woodstock Inn this July. Worked out great, big room with plenty of space for the girls to get ready. Lots of mirrors. We walked to the Woodstock Inn from the Shire, short easy walk. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. Only reason it didn't get 5 stars is because the woman who checked us in was not very welcoming. Appeared she was in a bad mood....?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shire Riverview Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shire Riverview Lodging

Address: 46 Pleasant St., Woodstock, VT 05091 (Formerly Shire Riverview Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable lodging in the heart of Woodstock Vermont. Each of our 42 rooms are uniquely furnished in a traditional New England style with most rooms having a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River. The Shire Riverview is a short walk to all the Village of Woodstock has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shire Riverview Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.