We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shire Woodstock

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Shire Woodstock to your Saves list
The Shire Woodstock
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   46 Pleasant St., Woodstock, VT 05091 (Formerly Shire Riverview Lodging)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CapeCod
1 review
“Wonderful family experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were at the Shire for a family wedding weekend and both the bride and grooms' families took over most of the motel. There were lots of children and the accommodations were wonderful, the staff superb. They were so friendly and accommodating, and went out of their way to be helpful in recommending places to eat (with many children)--all suggestions were right on. There is a market across the street which was great for sandwiches, breakfast items, wine, etc.

Most rooms had river views and/or deck space; bed and bath linens were all way above what you would expect in a motel and the rooms were immaculate. They own the buildings next door (I think those rooms are for adults only) and they are beautifully appointed with 4-poster beds, fireplaces, etc.

We all had such a good time that we are thinking of going back to celebrate a 50th anniversary and 70th birthday next year. In spite of the weather being very overcast, we didn't get the predicted rain and the whole experience at the Shire was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 406 is beautiful, no deck but overlooking the river. It is in the house next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    132
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
92
162
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were in town for a family wedding. The accommodations were great. We were all in close proximity which made it great for the whole group that was from out of town. The staff was very helpful and efficient. If I am ever back in Woodstock I would not hesitate to stay again at the Shire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peoria, il
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A very nice, quiet place to relax and enjoy the area. Doesn't have many amenities (no restaurant or pool), but many places to eat and enjoy in the area. The second floor of the building next to the main motel is very nice with a balcony to enjoy the view.

Room Tip: rooms facing the river are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After a long day's drive it was delightful to check in to this motel and chill out on the porch outside our room with a view of the river and field beyond . Quiet, clean, congenial staff and short walking distance to the restaurants and shopping in town. The wi-fi was a bit spotty and we never found that free morning coffee but that's small stuff. We were very happy with our stay at the Shire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Shire is only a short walk to the center of town. The motel was clean and comfortable. We just had a little problem with the water going hot & cold while showering, but otherwise, a great alternative to staying in town!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the Shire, especially the deck overlooking the river. The motel is within walking distance of town.Nice that coffee is available until noon. It's clean and quiet, and has all the amenities you need.We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our room had a sleigh bed that was a real ankle biter. Many Motels now days have a small 2 cup coffee maker with condiments in their rooms. Coffee in the room should be included with the room charges at the Shire. They offer coffee in an upstairs room which does a handicapped person no good at all.

Room Tip: Each room needs a coffee pot or advertise the lack there of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shire Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shire Woodstock

Address: 46 Pleasant St., Woodstock, VT 05091 (Formerly Shire Riverview Lodging)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shire Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 42 rooms is uniquely furnished in traditional New England style and many of them have a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River which flows behind the property. Hospitality is our priority and we want you to feel at home here at The Shire Woodstock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Shire Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shire Woodstock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.