We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, clean and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shire Riverview Lodging

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shire Riverview Lodging
Save
You added Shire Riverview Lodging to your Saves list
46 Pleasant St., Woodstock, VT 05091 (Formerly Shire Riverview Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Vernon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Convenient location, clean and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday and Monday night in August. We were in Room 404, a 2nd floor luxury king room with a porch overlooking the Ottauquechee River and the fields of the Billings Farm and Museum. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch rockers in the evening. The room was clean and comfortable, with two wing chairs and a gas fireplace, which we did not use, but would be lovely in the winter and fall. The window a/c unit was a bit noisy. We did not feel comfortable leaving the windows open, because they fronted on the porch, which we shared with the rooms on either side of us. A Keurig coffeemaker was in the 1st floor lobby with a selection of coffee and tea. Shampoo, conditioner, soap, and a hair dryer were supplied. I missed having a full-length mirror. The lighting in the room and bathroom was more than adequate. Parking was right outside our building. Since we were set back from the road and overlooked the river, it was very quiet.

Mac's Market across the street is a full-service grocery store. The town and its many restaurants and stores was an easy 5- to 10-minute walk. The Billings-Marsh-Rockefeller National Historic Site is a 20-minute walk. The location is great and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    127
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
88
158
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is our second trip to the Shire. Very reasonable price for this area! Couldn't touch a B & B anywhere near this price. We looked hard the first time around. Now, The Shire would be my first choice hands down. Full of charm, four poster beds, adirondack chairs along the river. Fabulous! And since we are usually on a motorcycle, it's great as it's in walking distance to town, restaurants. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The place is immaculately kept, inside and out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

The best placed we have stay at on our trip. Don't let the picture scare you. The front of the property is on the street level. Room is comfortable, clean and convenient to All the attractions. Walk to restaurants and shopping. Great place to stay for day trips. G.M. Is friendly and helpful with dining suggestions,ect. Enjoy..

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent two nights at the Shire Riverview and really enjoyed our visit. Our room was very clean, and comfortable. We had a nice sitting area in our room and at our front and back doors (over looking the river). We watched Cedar Waxwings from our back porch). The room contained a small bar fridge so we could buy food at the grocery store across the street and have light meals sitting on the deck. We parked our car and walked everywhere.

The staff were very helpful and everything was just as advertised!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor and could park our car right in front of the unit. We also had ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The four of us decided to do a weekend getaway to Woodstock Vt. When I started checking hotels I came across the Riverview Motel. What a find! We had an end room overlooking the river. We took advantage of the generous deck and lovely view. Our room was large, clean and charming. The location is perfect...close to town and all that Woodstock has to offer. The staff was courteous and helpful. We would certainly choose this Motel on a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Shire for five nights and I was once again very pleased with the experience here. I had stayed here several times in the past while traveling on business through the years and this property has remained SUPER CLEAN, comfortable, and nicely appointed. The gardens are beautiful, too! Owners are very friendly and accommodating. Our room had a porch overlooking the Ottaqueeche River and the view and location were perfect. The gas fireplace in our room was perfect to take out the chill after a guided fly-fishing trip. This property is within walking distance to town and all services. Our riverview location was quiet, private and I can't say enough about this place. I have stayed at the Woodstock Inn as well and for the difference in cost, would have to say, save the $ on lodging and enjoy the wonderful restaurants in this area. Shire and Melaza, we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Loved the riverview building - room 404 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

MY wife and I stayed ah the Shire Riverview Motel in Woodstock recently. The room was an excellent value for the area. It was very clean and comfortable and the refrigerator was a nice addition (kept the wine and water ice cold). The staff was very friendly and the place is very motocycle friendly - you can park right outside your room and its walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants and shops. Will stay there agian.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shire Riverview Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shire Riverview Lodging

Address: 46 Pleasant St., Woodstock, VT 05091 (Formerly Shire Riverview Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable lodging in the heart of Woodstock Vermont. Each of our 42 rooms are uniquely furnished in a traditional New England style with most rooms having a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River. The Shire Riverview is a short walk to all the Village of Woodstock has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shire Riverview Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.