We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melaza Bistro

Melaza Bistro
71 Central St, 71 Central St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1107
+1 802-457-7110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Latin, Tapas, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our goal is to provide you and your guest with a casual fine dining experience where classic New England cuisine meets with subtle tropical flavors. !Let Melaza be your Place for Dining.....Enjoy Melaza's relaxed and refined atmosphere featuring outdoor seating on the front patio and back terrace. (Weather permitting). We offer Gluten Free, Tapas and Diner options.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were in Woodstock between Christmas and New Years and looking for something different from the Woodstock Inn restaurants. Melaza is just what the doctor ordered. From the fun, inventive cocktails before dinner to the flavorful, unique mains this place hit all the marks. There was something for everyone - our kids were happy, as were we - and we tried everything from black bean soup to coffee rubbed steak.

But better than the food was the staff. They were warm, friendly, fun and very attentive. I highly recommend Melaza as a great Woodstock restaurant!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    39
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful meal in Woodstock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Melaza Bistro was a great surprise! The food was full of flavor. We loved the various appetizers. Not a single dud in the group. The pork shoulder was fabulous. The mojitos were awesome. The staff couldn't be nicer and attentive. This is a definite must go if you are in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Happy Surprise in Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Visited Puerto Rico recently, and this restaurant (in Vermont!) beat most. Excellent tropical drinks, very tasty appetizers (try the sweet plantains), and great entrees (scallops or pork shank). Servers were very knowledgable and friendly, and the atmosphere was fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Surprise in Woodstock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Amazing Caribbean food in Vermont!!! Who knew??? Our bartender/waiter was awesome. Hostess was very accommodating and do save room for the Tres Leche Cake!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun time in Woodstock Vt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Coco splash had you feeling you were back in the Caribbean in December. Staff went out of their way to accommodate our large party who arrived without a reservation on a very cold Friday night. Food and service were great. Hostess on Friday night was a delight!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melaza Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Melaza Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melaza Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.