We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melaza Bistro

Melaza Bistro
71 Central St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1107
+1 802-457-7110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American, Latin, Tapas, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our goal is to provide you and your guest with a casual fine dining experience where classic New England cuisine meets with subtle tropical flavors. !Let Melaza be your Place for Dining.....Enjoy Melaza's relaxed and refined atmosphere featuring outdoor seating on the front patio and back terrace. (Weather permitting). We offer Gluten Free, Tapas and Diner options.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This place was part of a package on our Northeast Bus Tour and it was the best food of the entire trip. I chose the stuffed pork which was delicious. The dessert was some sort of caramel cake that was the best I've ever had that I never had before! A goodlooking waiter added to the ambiance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    90
    24
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved the eggplant timbale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I would go back to this restaurant just to get the eggplant timbale! It was to die for! The service was good. The area of the restaurant we were seated in was a little bright, but they had no problem with moving us to another table. I had a mango mojito, it was ok, nothing special, but everything else was great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had our most outstanding meal (and not the most expensive) here. We enjoyed their special "pork shank" and "sole stuffed with crab". Incredible drinks and incredible service. This should be a dinner stop for everyone that comes to Woodstock, Vermont.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabuloso! A Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I could not say enough good things about the quality of the food and this restaurant. It's outstanding. This is first class anywhere. I live near DC and a restaurant this good would charge a lot more for the food. We called the Chef to congratulate him and he graciously came out to say hello. We had the leaf wrapped Grouper, roasted pork, and Mofongo. Oh My!!! They were good!!!!! It was a great night-cap for our romantic Fall getaway. Fantastic. Thank you Chef for an unforgettable meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Delicious and different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We got lucky having arrived on community customer appreciation night. Several small plate specials and margaritas were discounted. My hubby had the banana wrapped grouper - yummy - and I sampled several small plate specials. My margaritas were exceptional. In season make a reservation, but off season is easy as there are two floors of dining area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melaza Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Melaza Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melaza Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.