We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodstock Inn and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Woodstock Inn and Resort to your Saves list
Woodstock Inn and Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sugar Season Escape
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The most wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We've always dreamed of coming to the Woodstock Inn and our visit was divine! We had a lovely room and the incredible staff directed us to many sights around the region. It was our first visit to the area and we felt right at home. Several friends had recommended that we stay at the Woodstock Inn and were thrilled to experience this quintessential New England treasure. Our thanks to everyone at the Inn - you all provided us with a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for including us in your east coast vacation, and for the kind words. It’s a long trip from Seattle and we’re happy that we were able to make it worthwhile. We’re especially proud of our staff and have shared your comments; they work hard to make our guests’ stays enjoyable, and always appreciate the positive feedback. Thanks again, from all of us at The Woodstock Inn & Resort!
Yours truly,
Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    149
    61
    28
    18
See reviews for
146
352
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Good thing I got the Sugar Season Escape package for one night and left with a $215.00 bill. I have to give credit to their website designer who makes the Woodstock Inn seem like paradise reincarnated. In reality, the place is on a small lot and I had a view of the parking lot. Don't forget the resort fee of $25 because to do anything you have to DRIVE there. Including a workout room. Why bother? I got one of the worst rooms in the place, and the walls are like paper. Clearly a place riding on their reputation and thinking they are really worth over $300.00 a night (yes, that is the standard rate.) What a rip-off. Save your money and stay at the Sleep Woodstock Hotel. I have not felt this ripped off in a long time.

Room Tip: Pay through the nose and maybe you will get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for visiting The Woodstock Inn & Resort, and for your candid comments. We will research and discuss your concerns with our leadership team, and hope that on your next visit you’ll have more opportunity to take full advantage of all the wonderful activities The Resort and the area have to offer. Very truly yours, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Loved this hotel! The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more obliging. Always greeted you with a pleasant smile. Loved that there were quaint restaurants and shops within walking distance. Billings Farm was a wonderful experience. Ben and Jerry's factory was only a little over an hour away, and the ride up there was picturesque and beautiful. Dinner in Richardson's Tavern was delicious. Wish we could have spent more time there!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for visiting Woodstock, and for your glowing review! Woodstock really is a special town; maybe that’s why our staff is always smiling! We’re happy that you enjoyed Richardson’s Tavern and our Vermont Cheddar Fondue, and especially thrilled that you remember our people’s smiles… that’s why we’re here! Thanks again, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We chose the Porch Room and it was absolutely delightful. The amenities were amazing and the staff was by far the friendliest I have ever encountered. The entire trip was more than we could have ever asked for and if you are going to treat yourself to a relaxing weekend, pick this town and pick this hotel.

Room Tip: We chose the Porch Room. It's lovely and if you are staying with your partner, you have two sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Wow! What a warm, wonderful review! We pride ourselves on the warmth of our staff, and we’re honored to have made such a deep impression on you! I agree 100% with your sentiments, and we all hope you’ll “pick this town and pick this hotel” again soon! Very truly yours, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Woodstock is a New England town out of central casting. Easily walkable, scenic, historic-era homes. This boutique-style hotel brims with service-oriented staff who never fail to say 'hi' or open the door for you, and seem willing to cater to your every whim. We visited recently for a family birthday with 10 people and felt welcome from the minute we arrived. Rooms were great size (even for a family with 2 growing teens). Grounds are immaculate. Daily tea time with fresh cookies is a nice touch. Had dinner one night in the tavern, which was surprisingly good, despite our arrival just short of closing. Morning breakfast buffet was outstanding, with a wide selection that changed just enough each day to keep it interesting, but not so much that you feel like you missed out on something.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We’re so happy that you enjoyed your visit to Woodstock- you’re right that it’s a wonderful little town, and there’s no place else we could imagine being! We’ve shared your comments with our entire staff, and we’re all thrilled that you found them friendly and welcoming- especially that we were able to accommodate you in Richardson’s Tavern. This is a great area for family activities throughout the year, and we hope to see you in Woodstock again soon! All the best- Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I had dinner with friends who were staying at the Inn. The food was delicious, beer list was good and the service terrific. It's a cozy spot. Perfect for families and gathering friends together. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for visiting Richardson’s Tavern, and for the great review! We’re thrilled that we were able to provide you and your guests with a cozy spot to meet, and glad you enjoyed our farmland-inspired artisanal Vermont beers. We hope you’ll return to The Tavern often when entertaining family and friends and look forward to welcoming you during all four seasons! Yours truly, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a long weekend at the Woodstock Inn in Woodstock, VT. We had a chance to leave our young kids with the grandparents to relax. And relax we did! Woodstock in May was absolutely GLORIOUS. The weather was perfect - 70-80 degrees with a nice breeze. Nicest days of the year so far.

We kept our car valet parked (no charge!) the entire weekend, as everything is within walking distance. We loved that. There are plenty of great restaurant options within 2 blocks of the hotel with patio seating you'll want to enjoy. We particularly enjoyed Bentley's restaurant and bar, diagonal from the Inn, at noon on Sunday for live music (but no patio). Anyway, Woodstock Inn also has great restaurants - one casual and one more upscale. We attended a free/local quartet concert we learned about in the hotel's weekly flyer, which we received upon check-in. This was a great way to check out the locals and get the flavor of the area (i.e. they bring dogs to concerts in churches!) We also took the Inn's maps and took a 1.5 hr hike up Mt. Tom, which I highly recommend. Low to very moderate intensity - very easy, but a great view of classic New England. This place would be amazing in the fall. The (basic) room we had through the Travelzoo deal was nice and comfortable. My favorite part was the full-size bath products (not for keeping, but for easy use!) and soft sheets. Also, an excellent breakfast buffet.

Grab a nice bottle of wine or six-pack of local beer and take them out back to an Adirondack on the Inn's lawn to enjoy. This is a perfect getaway location for NYC, Boston or Hartford. We hope to come back again (sans kids) soon!

Room Tip: Rooms to the east are in the afternoon shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for the great review! You picked the perfect weekend to be here, and it sounds like you took full advantage of it! You’re right: this is a wonderful spot for a family weekend, and may be even better as a getaway, without the kids! Maybe on your next visit you’ll be able to squeeze in a round of golf or a Spa treatment and a visit to Billings Farm and Museum?
Thanks again, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large and luxurious traditional Vermont inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodstock Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.