We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodstock Inn and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Woodstock Inn and Resort to your Saves list
Woodstock Inn and Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Anybody who dose not think that the inn is a excellent place to stay doesn't know a thing the front desk management is very friendly and the rooms are fantastic. If you don't like it here just stay home.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    143
    55
    26
    18
See reviews for
132
332
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I paid fro my three sons stayed at this resort as part of a getting married gift for one of the brothers

The golf portion was unexceptional but nice- but it was completely spoiled by the staff and their poor customer service.

Firstly , surprise surprise !!,, they called back to announce that what they had stated in their reservation offer was not possible and they had made a mistake , so I would have to pay extra for some features ,,all this just 1.5 hours prior to ETA with 250 miles already on the odometer .

Secondly ,,with the hotel not that busy - the staff was rude and completely unconcerned with the guests and their comfort.

Thirdly, breakfast was amazing

Finally if you go here be ready to pay big bucks for a great breakfast only ,,for everything else go elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Woodstock Inn & Resort. We are disappointed to hear about your experience as this is not our standard level of service. Your feedback is appreciated and a member of our management team will be following up with you directly.


Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Woodstock Inn and Resort offers the best Vermont has to offer from luxury accommodations, great bar, good food and its all on the most beautiful green right in the heart of the quintessential Vermont town.

The hotel staff is friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. The rooms are updated, well appointed, and comfortable. If available, select a tavern room with a porch but even their standard rooms are fine.

The hotel is in walking distance to great shops, restaurants, galleries and ideal for long walks and offers seasonal golf and skiing. Its also close to area attractions.

The lobby and sitting areas offer great places to sit, relax and read especially next to the lobby's massive fireplace.

Advance reservations are best but I've also just stayed as a last minute decision and been pleased each time.

Room Tip: Choose a tavern porch room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for returning to The Woodstock Inn & Resort! We are delighted to read about your most recent visit and appreciate the gracious review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn over a long weekend for a wedding. Overall the grounds are beautiful but there were a lot of details that made our overall experience just so-so. The list below may sound picky, but for the price we paid for our room, I was expecting a more luxurious experience.

-the hallways and stairwells are dark and dated; the hall floors could benefit from new carpet
-similarly, the room had a few places that need maintenance; there was a bit of mold on the ceiling next to the a/c vent and a bit of wood was missing from the bottom of the door
-several hairs in the bathroom that were not ours; in addition, the conditioner bottle had conditioner running down it
-it would have been nice to have a separate pool for children; the pool area had a lot of children playing which made reading and relaxing a bit difficult
-the spa/salon experience wasn't great; I had a blowout and was asked to arrive with wet hair as they do not shampoo, which I found strange for a high-end salon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Woodstock Inn & Resort. We are disappointed to hear about your experience, but appreciate the feedback. We will follow up with the appropriate departments to address the issues you encountered. Again, thank you and if your travel plans include Vermont in the future, we do hope you will consider us.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I went up to Woodstock from NYC the weekend before Christmas and it was a perfect weekend getaway. Our room was heavenly -- incredible bed, gorgeous bath and we had our own fireplace which was fantastic. We slept with the windows cracked and built a fire each morning while we sipped coffee we had sent up to the room. Ahhhh...I want to go back! We loved Richardson's Tavern...the dark wood, big chairs and cozy fireplace were so inviting. We went there the first night for dinner and ended up staying for dessert and after-dinner cocktails and came back the second night after dinner elsewhere for dessert and coffee. The town itself is quaint and fun to explore being all dressed up for the holidays. There are little pubs and cafes with delicious beers and coffees and great for lunch. Down the road from the Inn is an activity center with a gym, courts, pool, etc. and we drove down to play tennis a couple times. We didn't have any spa treatments, but it looked lovely! There wasn't any snow at that point, but later in the winter it would be great to go back and take advantage of all the nearby ski options.The staff was fantastic and really made it a perfectly relaxing, seasonal escape from the city. One recommendation: The Simon Pearce Restaurant + Glass Blowing Mill are only 25-30 minutes away and I HIGHLY recommend stopping in for brunch...especially around the holidays!

Room Tip: If you go in the colder months, it's worth it to get your own fireplace...there's plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Woodstock Inn & Resort for a getaway last December. We are delighted to hear about your stay and appreciate such a detailed and gracious review. The holidays are certainly a special time in Woodstock and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I heard about the Woodstock Inn years ago while sitting next to a couple from New England on my way to Singapore. They told me how lovely it was and I must go there. So when we planned our New England vacation we included a stay at the Woodstock. And we were not disappointed. It is a wonderful hotel in a very quaint Vermont town. The rooms were very spacious and clean and the staff was outstanding. That night we had a delicious meal at the tavern, sitting on the patio. We would recommend this inn to anyone traveling in Vermont.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for making The Woodstock Inn & Resort a stop during your trip through New England! We are delighted to hear about your stay and appreciate the review and recommendation. We look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were travelling round Vermount so stayed in a few hotels. This was by far the best one. In the lovely town of Woodstock it had a great setting. The rooms were grand but cosy. The restaurant was very nice too with a friendly bar man in one of the bars. If you ever get a chance to stay in the area, look this one up!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Woodstock Inn & Resort. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we appreciate your gracious review. We look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large and luxurious traditional Vermont inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TIG Global, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodstock Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.