We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a family reunion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodstock Inn and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Woodstock Inn and Resort to your Saves list
Woodstock Inn and Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pre-Holiday B&B Package
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for a family reunion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I cannot say enough positive thing s about the woodstock inn in Vermont. The staff was excellent, from the doormen to the maids, to the waiters, to the desk personnel. The food was also incredible. The breakfasts were varied and tasty. There were choices that were very healthy and those that were very calorie- laden. The desk personnel were always ready to help with suggestions for dinner or directions to various activities,such as hiking or beer- tasting. But the best thing about the woodstock inn was the beds. Everyone in our group slept incredibly well because the beds were fantastic. I intend to call them and ask for the brand and model because I want that mattress for my bed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for selecting The Woodstock Inn & Resort for your family reunion! We were delighted to host you and are so pleased to hear about your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again for future visits. We can look into our bedding information and let you know the details!

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    143
    55
    26
    18
See reviews for
131
332
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just came back from This lovely little gem. It felt like we stepped out of the universe and went somewhere in time. In a good way. We needed to get away and relax and this was just the ticket. Drivable from Boston or New York yet light years away. The mountains are majestic, the quaint small village warm and welcoming, the town is full of walkers, families, and dogs just strolling. Everything does shut down early so saving your afternoon nap for the evening. The Inn is so charming with a lingering smell of a fresh burning fireplace that some how never leaves. Beautiful staircases and mahogany line the Inn in various places throughout. Comfortable couches and chairs are placed strategically through out that also to its ambiance. The bed are so comfortable and clean with crisp while linens encasing them. The food was very good too. I do recommend making a reservation as we did have to wait a bit. But, hey all we had was time. I sincerely recommend this Inn to all who is looking for a romantic escape with lots of R & R and beautiful landscape. I wouldn't recommend it for families though it just seems a little to off the beat and track for children. The spa was great too. Book your service early so you can us all the amenities that the spa has to offer for the day. Do eat at The Prince and the Pauper too. Enjoy!!!Golfing was fun too, nice course.

Room Tip: We got a room with the fireplace. the breakfast was a bit pricey take a walk in town and you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Woodstock Inn & Resort. We are delighted to hear about your visit and appreciate your recommendations for things to do around our resort and in the village. We will look forward to welcoming you back for future relaxing getaways!

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The staff certainly makes one feel welcome and valued! Our room 334 was comfortable and overlooked the grounds.

The Red Rooster for breakfast was great with a cooked to order omelet station. The Chef was wonderful and prepared the best omelet that I've had in a very long time. Dinner on the other hand in the Red Rooster was a disappointment as the meals were served at room temperature and not hot. Granted some large parties came in, but hot food should be served hot.

Try dinner at The Prince & the Pauper just a short walk from the Inn for a better experience.

There is a resort fee of $20/day whether you use any of the facilities or not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Woodstock Inn & Resort. We are delighted to know you had a relaxing and comfortable stay. We appreciate the review and feedback regarding your dinner experience in our restaurant and will address your comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for future visits.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spend two nights at the Inn. Our room was luxurious with a 4 poster bed. We had requested a handicapped room, and this had a walk in shower. We ate one night in the Tavern and the other in the Red Rooster. Both meals were excellent, especially the meal in the dining room. Our service was super. The inn is expensive, but as the saying goes, "you get what you pay for." We told every one that the last time we stayed there was in 1955 at the old inn on our honeymoon. We will not wait so long to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for returning to The Woodstock Inn & Resort. We are honored to be a part of your honeymoon memories and it was our pleasure to host you again! We appreciate the review of your recent stay and will certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed for one night at the Woodstock Inn on a weekday in August to take advantage of a mid-week special. Our room was beautiful and luxurious and the service was uniformly excellent. We had breakfast as part of our package, which was also excellent. If you think you can't afford it get on their email list - they offer packages and special deals for mid-week that bring the price down to reality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We are delighted to hear about your recent stay and thank you for the review! We appreciate you joining our email list to stay connected to Woodstock Inn & Resort updates and will look forward to welcoming you back for future visits.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had the family there during a super busy day. Various weddings and town block party...
Got in quick and easy. Seems very historic and we had someone tell us the stories.
I had the ribs/great! My husband had salmon very good but very small whereas the ribs were abundance. Great sweet potato fries...Quick service. Tad high in price and parking was interesting. (Probably not normally an issue)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent experience in our restaurant, The Red Rooster. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal and some of our history too! We hope to welcome you back again should your travel plans bring you to our area.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Let me begin by stating that we received an offer of 2 nights for the price of one for signing up for their email service. Secondly, let me say our first stay was 19 years ago as the first leg of our honeymoon in Ogunquit Maine. This was our fourth time at The Woodstock Inn and we weren't disappointed. We had a beautiful room facing the green on the third floor. Everything clean and working properly. The optional tub or shower stall was a great touch. Our first night dinner was in The Tavern. Our server was wonderful and attentive. My wife ordered the mac & cheese while I opted for the mac & cheese with lobster. It was the best I have ever had. Expecting a small portion with a couple pieces of lobster, I was quite surprised that the portion was more than I could eat and lobster hunks were everywhere. I suggest this dish to anyone ever spending the night here.

My wife and I used the fitness center down the road both mornings. It's a fabulous facility with plenty of machines, weights, classes and a pool. I took my first ever spinning class Thursday morning and the instructor (Eric) couldn't have been better. He assisted me with the bike and continually asked if I was ok during the workout. The Spa is beautiful and popular. Make an early reservation since my wife waited till the last minute for a pedicure and was shutout.

My only complaint with beautiful resorts like this one and The Equinox is that the regular room rates are too high and the food and beverage is out of line too. It forces guests to go off property to spend some money that could have been kept onsight. No matter how beautiful a bedroom is, it's still a bed and shower and we don't spend more than $180 night. Having said that, the staff is top notch here and sp is the facility. If we get an occasional deal we'll be back to spend money. We love it here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for joining our email list. It was our pleasure to welcome you back to The Woodstock Inn & Resort and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed another memorable stay. We appreciate your detailed review and will share your feedback among our staff. We are honored to be a part of your honeymoon experience 19 years ago and will look forward to welcoming you again for another special occasion.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large and luxurious traditional Vermont inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TIG Global, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodstock Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.