We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, variable prices, low chandeliers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodstock Inn and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Woodstock Inn and Resort to your Saves list
Woodstock Inn and Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sugar Season Escape
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, variable prices, low chandeliers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We recently stayed at the Woodstock Inn in Vermont and found the Tavern wing room to be lovely and well appointed. Definitely go on line and register for their I Prefer program and you can say about 30 to 40 percent off the room price and get a bottle of wine and $25 resort credit. It is hard to understand why you would NOT do this. Beware of low hanging light fixtures and jutting out book cases. In one night my husband hit his head four times. They should raise or move the light fixture and cut the book shelf over the desk back. Buffet breakfast was okay and not unreasonably priced, but the hotel seems ill equipped to handle even a buffet crowd and made us and others wait for a table when numerous tables were empty. We did not even know it was buffet only and still cannot figure out why they were so ill equipped to clear the tables when no one was handing out menus or taking orders. They need to make clearer in the restaurant lobby that it is buffet only. Still, all in all, a very charming place to stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the Tavern wing. Make sure they actually get your key programmed right the first time. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay- we appreciate the recommendation! We were unaware of any issues with the light fixture and book case, so thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will look into it right away. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Inn again soon.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    149
    61
    28
    18
See reviews for
146
352
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a lovely, first-class inn/resort. It's skilfully run, attractive, well located and comfortable. We liked it a lot. It's also expensive. Given its excellent location and features, the rates for the Woodstock Inn and Resort are not surprising; but I would suggest taking a good look at the alternative hotels and, in particular, the local B&B's before choosing the Woodstock Inn. Unless you're after the full resort experience, it may well be that what you really want is provided as well (or better) for less elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Woodstock Inn & Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy to know you found our Inn to be first class and comfortable. As you mentioned, we do offer a resort experience with several amenities to choose from. We hope you enjoyed our village and all it has to offer and look forward to welcoming you back to Woodstock again.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,Ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have stayed at the Woodstock Inn twice during the past year. I have wonderful things to say about the location and the beautiful town, the service at the Inn not so much.

After my first stay I was charged three times. One charge was correct and for my room, the other two were unexplained. When I tried calling the Inn to dispute the charges it took about 30 minutes to speak to an actual person. When I did actually speak to a rep from the Inn she was rude and basically said she couldn't do much until her accountant could look at things. She made me feel like I was trying to scam the Inn, not apologetic for the mistake. She even asked if i stayed with a Mr. N. McKinnon, I did not which made me believe they charged me for someone else's room. I have never heard of this man. A week went by and I hadn't heard anything and my credit card statement remained the same. I left another message stating my concerns and never heard back. Days later my statement was finally credited. So frustrating. A call back to settle things would have been appreciated!

Spa is very overpriced. I had a hair trial and make-up trial which was over 200 dollars and was not what i wanted. I was rushed out without being able to try a different style. I left unhappy and stressed over my wedding and still had to tip 20%. I feel like gratuities should be left up to the clients discretion. I ended up going to a salon down the street for $50 and loved the results.

Reception is not very helpful, valet is inconsistent and customer service is poor!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience with your bill and your experience with the follow up. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention - this is not our standard of service and we would like you to know it be addressed. Our guests feedback is extremely valuable to us and we want to be sure this does not occur again.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful setting, conveniently located to the village, on the green, near the Billings Farm and the Marsh Billings Rockefeller National Park, the VIN center, Simon Pearce, and various other specialty shops and visual and historic sites including the Saint-Gaudens National Park just across the Connecticut River in New Hampshire.
Hotel valet, reception and the concierge were all top notch and did their jobs very well. The hostess and wait staff in the Richardson's Tavern were pleasant, the clerk in the gift shop was very helpful with information about the products in the shop and with area directions and information.
The room was cozy and very clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom well appointed with a generous number of towels. The public spaces, beautifully decorated for the fall, were well placed, although other than in the library, they were a bit drafty.
Unfortunately there were some aspects that were not at all pleasant. The bathroom sink burbled at least 4 times an hour. At 6:45AM to about 7AM each morning we were awakened to what sounded like people playing Bocce ball on marble floors. We can only think that it was staff moving dining room furniture around in the Red Rooster in preparation for breakfast.
The new addition to the back of the building obliterated the view of the back gardens for those staying on the back second floor who enjoyed a lovely view of the roof instead. However that would certainly be better than the view of the side street that those across the hall would have.
When the addition & spa were added they didn't put in an indoor pool, which would be useful in Vermont for about 10 months of the year. Should guests want to relax around a pool on a dreary afternoon, they have to trek and schlepp their 'stuff' to a pool at a fitness club a mile down the road to a very public pool that has the coziness factor of an old high school gym. Unless you were fortunate enough to score a time slot with the very expensive spa and spend over a certain amount on your treatment, you will not be able to use the hot tub on site at the hotel.
Breakfast at the hotel: $16.00 per person... so walk down town to the local breakfast eatery and have breakfast for two at less than $16.00! They had better coffee too.
There are plenty of places in New England that offer more for the equivalent price, but if you are looking for overall traditional ambiance, great location and weren't concerned about additional amenities and didn't mind paying for an expensive breakfast, then this would perfect.

Room Tip: Possibly the top floor in the back would be the best. The back in general would be the better side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Woodstock Inn & Resort. We are disappointed to hear your experience was a bit inconsistent. We appreciate the feedback and certainly will look into the sink and other noise issues further. We are happy to know you found your accommodations to be comfortable and our staff to be top notch. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Woodstock Inn is a charming building from the outside, nicely landscaped and with the parking areas hidden from view. It sits opposite from the Village Green in a delightful setting. The check-in process was a disappointment. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, although we were 40 minutes early. We walked around the Village and came back to the Inn at the guaranteed check-in time of 3 P.M., but not only was it not ready for another half hour, the desk staff made no attempt to contact us when it was ready, even though we were sitting in the lobby and they had my cell phone number. While the room was nice, it would have been good value at $250 a night, instead of the $400 a night we paid. We ate one night in the Tavern and the food was average, but expensive. Several times we came up the steps to the Inn from outside and passed the waiting doorman who made no effort to open the door. This is not an Inn that will get any repeat business from us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are disappointed to hear about your recent experience as this is not our standard of service. We appreciate your feedback and will be sharing your review with our staff. Thank you for choosing The Woodstock Inn & Resort and we hope you will re-consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is my second visit, and I love it every much as much as the first. Of course, it's Fall foliage season in VT, so it would be hard not to like it here! The staff is gracious, the rooms are very comfortable and I love the amenities available. It's also convenient to all of the shops and restaurants. It's pricey, but I still highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Woodstock Inn & Resort again. We were delighted to welcome you back this Fall and appreciate your gracious review. We will look forward to seeing you for your third visit!

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Woodstock Inn is gorgeous! The setting is quintessential Vermont. Our room was big and the beds were comfortable and the bed was appropriately luxurious. What could be the downside of this, right?

For the price of the room I would've expected to not be over the service entrance (room 253). Being woken up at 6 a.m. on a Saturday on a weekend away didn't really sit well with me. Additionally, the hallways are so busy that you constantly heard the comings and goings of all your fellow travelers. There was a small kitchenette in our room, but the older refrigerator hummed so loudly that we thought an alarm clock was going off somewhere. Breakfast came with our package, but it wasn't anything really special. Buffet and an omelet-making station.

Overall, nothing to write home about and I won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Do not accept any rooms over the service entrance, which I believe are those in the "50's&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Woodstock Inn & Resort for your recent visit to Vermont. We are certainly disappointed to hear about your experience and the noise issues you encountered during your stay. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we will look into it further. We do hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large and luxurious traditional Vermont inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodstock Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.