We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugarbush Farm

Sugarbush Farm
591 Sugarbush Farm Rd, Woodstock, VT 05091
802-457-1757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Attractions in Woodstock
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working Vermont farm open to visitors. Free samples, free admission, visit with real farmers
Lake City, Florida
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We found this farm while driving around Vermont. I am so glad we did. You can walk through the maple trees and see how they tap them to make syrup. You can see the process of making syrup. They also have a tasting room for the wonderful cheese. We purchased some cheese that was wrapped to travel. They have a nice gift shop and sell tiny bottles of maple syrup that can go in your carry on luggage. After our visit we had a picnic lunch on their picnic tables. It is a beautiful spot to spend some time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    62
    17
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Souther California
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“worth stopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a fun place to learn about how maple syrup is made. They have a video on the subject and there is sampling of both the syrup and their cheeses. Good gift shop for purchases. Great family that runs this place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
betsylarry, Owner at Sugarbush Farm, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
So glad you enjoyed our maple syrup and learned more how its made. While we are sort of out in the country we are close to many other attractions. Looks like from your "kegmaster" name you might have been in Vermont to sample some of our beer too. Vermont has more breweries per capita than any other state and both Harpoon and Long Trail are within a half our of Sugarbush Farm. We are also only a few minutes from many other attractions like Quechee Gorge, Simon Pearce Glassblowing Vins Nature Center and Billings Farm and Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great maple Syrup/ Cheddar cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We found this farm in my husband's search for maple sugar. It's a working family farm that produces maple syrup and cheese. There is a store where you can buy jellies, jams, syrup, cheese and so much more. You can sample the products and they do mail orders.
I thought the prices were average and not expensive especially when you get a home made product.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Sugarbush Farm is in the middle of Woodstock nature. The road leading to the farm is beautiful, loaded with scenic and well-kept homes and farms. I couldn't stop taking pictures as we were driving. Once you get there, you see a cow that waits for you to pet it as well as goats that ask to be fed. By paying 50 cents, you can grab a bag of oats to feed the goats. Next to the goats are the roosters. When we were there, 1 rooster got out of the pen and was venturing around the parked cars. He was friendly and eventually stayed near his cooped up friends. The actual farm allows you to try 12 different cheeses as well as 5 different types of maple syrup, which is made right on the farm. You can even walk in their "park" of maple trees that educates you on how the syrup is pulled from the tree and made. We purchased several types of cheese and syrup to bring back to NYC. A true gem!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fun and educational trip to a real farm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We visited this farm to participate in a cheese tasting and maple syrup tasting. The hosts were very knowledgeable about the cheese and flavors. They explain how aging affects the cheese flavor. Similarly, they explain the factors that affect the maple syrup color and flavor. They have a machine that makes maple syrup you can see (we visited in June, so the machine was not operational, as the late winter and early spring is the syrup season). You can walk the woods where they have the maple trees and all the plumbing they have to collect the sap. The farm is about a 20 minute ride from White River Junction, VT, and is a scenic and enjoyable drive. They have a nice store on the premises where you can buy cheese and syrup and other Vermont stuff.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarbush Farm also viewed

 

Been to Sugarbush Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugarbush Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.