We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marsh - Billings - Rockefeller National Historical Park

Marsh - Billings - Rockefeller National Historical Park
54 Elm Street, Woodstock, VT 05091
802-457-3368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Woodstock
Type: Historic Sites, National Parks, Farms, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vermont's first national park is dedicated to conservation.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We recently spent 3 weeks in Woodstock, Vermont. We toured the Marsh- Billings - Rockefeller Farm and Museum and found it extremely informative and very beautiful. The Park Service tour of the Mansion was great. The guide was very knowledgable and entertaining. Hiking in the park is absolutely fantastic. Be sure to make it to the Pogue. If you are a hiker, it's a moderate to easy hike. For others, it could be considered more difficult. The movie, A Place in the Land, shown at the entrance to the farm, is very well done, and in fact,it was nominated for an academy award film - documentary. If you tour the farm, ask questions! The people who work there are passionate about farming and conservation…..Thank you US Park Service and Mr. Marsh, Billings and Rockefeller!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    36
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The movie about the history is the same one which is shown at Billings Farm. We took the 45 minute tour which went into a lot of detail....a bit more detail than I wanted, but it gets you into the house. Walking the grounds may be enough, but the house tour is worth it if that interests you. The grounds and trails are worth the visit on a nice day

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“nice place to stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I enjoyed the tour from Ranger Marie. French accent was fun. Very informative. She made the tour fun by including the kids on the tour. Beautiful mansion. Small by Rockefeller standards. Grounds are gorgeous. Great views. Bring a picnic and sit on the rocking chairs on the porch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Park with a healthy hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I gave the park 4 stars, instead of 5 only because you enter the park without any idea of how the entire park looks like... My boyfriend and I just hiked up a healthy-length up a hill and then finally came across a beautiful lake and meadows. If the entrance had more of an indication of what kind of park this was, it would have been an easy 5 stars:)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Dylan greatly enhanced our appreciation of this mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This mansion is a most worthwhile, unique National Historical Park site.

Dylan's most engaging personality, impressive fund of knowledge and well-delivered presentation maintained my interest throughout the tour.

I have been on numerous National Park tours in all USA time zones, including Hawaii and his tour ranks as one of the best.

We will definitely return while visiting from Massachusetts.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marsh - Billings - Rockefeller National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Marsh - Billings - Rockefeller National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsh - Billings - Rockefeller National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.