We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Woodstock Visit is not complete without a visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marsh - Billings - Rockefeller National Historical Park

Marsh - Billings - Rockefeller National Historical Park
54 Elm Street, Woodstock, VT 05091
802-457-3368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Woodstock
Type: Historic Sites, National Parks, Farms, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vermont's first national park is dedicated to conservation.
Windsor, CT
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A Woodstock Visit is not complete without a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A Woodstock Visit is not complete without a visit.

It's across the street from the Billings Farm and Museum.

It includes the Mt. Tom trail system, which is accessible from Faulkner Park.

Take the tour of the Mansion. It's worth your time and money.

If there's an "Artist in Residence" make a studio visit.

You can visit for free, but there are for pay extras.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    36
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We enjoyed taking the tour. Did not know anything about the Marsh or Billings families, so it was very educational and the house was very interesting. Our ranger guide could have been better. He wasn't knowledgeable enough to answer some questions and not real personable, but adequate. As we were leaving we saw another ranger with another group and it appeared he was more into his job. Guess you can't expect every ranger to be a performer.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to visit. Unique National Park that has a mansion tour included.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The visitor center is shared with the Billings Farm - also a great place to see. Watch the film at the visitor center before touring the property if possible. Not to be missed in any event! It was nominated for an Academy Award as a documentary. The primary guided tour covers the mansion and gardens and lasts a little over an hour. We had a terrific park ranger give our tour. There are other specialized tours also available. Discount if you have a National Park card or are over 62.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Incredible House, tour and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is not to be missed for anyone who loves history. We didn't realize a reservation was needed, and just made the 3pm tour. The ranger who gave the tour was very good, made all the history humorous and interesting. This is a USA treasure.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinclairville, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Love National Parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We did not go into the house or the farm but spent our time wandering the grounds instead. I asked a maintenance worker a couple questions and found her was FULL of wonderful information. He explained a ton of stuff about the park and told us some of his favorite places to visit. We took his suggestions and was very happy we did. Make sure to watch the video in the visitor center at the start of your visit. It will help you to understand what you are about to explore a bit better.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marsh - Billings - Rockefeller National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Marsh - Billings - Rockefeller National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsh - Billings - Rockefeller National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.