We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely river for fishing, swimming,canoes, or biking along side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ottaquechee River

Ottaquechee River
Woodstock, VT
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 things to do in Woodstock
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: River that runs through Woodstock.
vermont
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lovely river for fishing, swimming,canoes, or biking along side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This river starts quite small west of Woodstock, lovely through the town of Woodstock with old homes and gardens along the edges. This Taftsville covered bridge was damaged during the 2011 Irene hurricane and will be under repairs for 2012 and 2013 but still very interesting to see. State stocks the river with fish each year. Later it runs into Quechee Gorge where you can either see the river and gorge from Rt 4 highway bridge, or hike down to the bottom. This river ends up at a flood control dam in North Hartland- a nice spot for swimming and picnics, and from there flows into the Conneticut River.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“RIVER REVIEW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husbands first view of this bridge and river he called me in California and described how much he was enjoying it ...Years later we traveled there together, now it is a part of our yearly travels. We love New England sights and this is so traditional. There is a small store above the bridge, I walked in for a snack ...it was so clean and tidy .... not the relaxed New England general stores that I knew so well. I asked where the owner was from ... as we chatted I found he had attended Occidental College and had lived one block from where my parents lived and where I had spent my teenage years in California .... small world . Later I learned that Amish people had also settled in this area from PA during WWII because they were pacifist and it was mandatory for them . They continued to live there working at Dartmouth Medical Center..... I continue to learn so much from chats with the "natives" ..... where ever I travel .

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The all around beauty of nature. There was nothing to dislike about this wonderful place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to live”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We have been blessed to live right on the Ottauquechee River and it is beautiful. Hurricane Irene caused a lot of damage along the river in August 2011 but it is recovering.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“just fascinating!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Just a fascinating covered bridge, so New England!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ottaquechee River also viewed

 

Been to Ottaquechee River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottaquechee River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.