We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Al Lago to your Saves list
Al Lago
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Felix Rodriguez de la Fuente, 11, 11688 Zahara de la Sierra, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

First time in rural Spain, a bit anxious about my non existent Spanish, to be met by Al Lago's owner welcoming us in her native English. Wow. Bedrooms very tastefully decorated, and a beautiful view from the window. Made to feel so welcome by all the staff. Al Lago was relaxed and we felt "at home". Great to return there from a long day's walk. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've never had a view from a room quite as restful as this. I hadn't anticipated being so close to the water, so I was delighted when I realised that all the rooms look out onto it. Inside the room, things are also pretty - ambient colours with splashes of bright fabric, nice smells and a funky bathroom. The formula here seems simple - do a things on a small scale, and do them really well. It's not super slick or uniform like a corporate hotel, but more appealing as a result in my opinion! We had dinner in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the wine and 3 courses we ordered. The Spanish staff who served us were delightful and deserve a special mention. We only stayed one night so didn't get chance to make use of the outside space the hotel offers but can imagine it would be gorgeous in warmer weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Al Lago from 24-25 Feb 2013. We are both well travelled and to put it mildly quite fussy. We put a lot of effort into searching for particular types of hotels and experiences. We found everything we were looking for in Al Lago.

Hosts -

The Hosts are fabulous. They were in constant communication leading up to our booking, suggesting hikes and walks in the local area and even arranged climbing permits. They also kindly packed us a picnic to take on one of our walks.

Room - Excellent

The bathrooms are modern, the shower was excellent and the bed comfortable and large. The balcony had an amazing view over the lake and provided an excellent vista from our room.

Price -

As always, we read the negative reviews before booking somewhere and the two poor ratings on this website proved totally unfounded. The prices of both the hotel and food proved exceptional.

Food -

We had two breakfasts and a dinner at the hotel and the food was nothing short of perfect.

Staff -

Limited English but charming and always helpful with a smile.

Evidence of Exceptional Service -

On a romantic holiday, I unfortunately got stuck doing some work. The owners bent over backwards to make sure the wifi was working, and enabled us to extend our check out until well into the afternoon to help us out.

Overall - Amazing

Room Tip: It is my understanding that there are only a few rooms and they all have lovely lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Thank you so much to all at Al Lago for a lovely restful stay. You provided so many nice touches, from a superb comfy bed with nice linen, handmade soap and scented candles, tea in bed poured perfectly from a sweet handmade teapot and home-made limoncello to finish off a tasty meal made with care from local produce. Great local wine also. It all exceeded my expectations - except the weather, which I am sure Mona would have sorted if she could! It was a great base to explore this stunning area by bike. I hope to come back soon and for longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We took up the hotel's offer of two night's b & b, a special S.Velentin gourmet dinner, and a bottle of excellent cava for €180.
We thoroughly enjoyed that dinner and the Tasting Menu the following night, plus we had light lunches on the hotel's terrace overlooking the lake on both days.
Our room was excellent, with quality beds, linen etc, as was the shower room/toilet. Both were spotlessly clean.
Mona and Stefan were excellent hosts, and their ever smiling and helpful staff were a joy.
The village is a short walk, and well worth the considerable effort (for over 60's).
A trip up to Grazalema is thoroughly recommended, but not for anyone with vertigo, as the road is very challenging, but the traffic is light, and the views stunning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Al Lago hotel is a fairly simple hotel with nice, basic, almost 'guest-house' style rooms. This is not a criticism, simply an observation. The owners are exceptionally helpful and the real 'star' of a stay here is the food. The Al Lago Restaurant produces some wonderful cuisine and their 'tasting menu' should not be missed.

The surrounding area is rural Spain at its best.

This isn't an 'easy' place to reach but if you have any iinterest in or love of rural Spain or its secenery, you really should make the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaAC, Owner at Al Lago, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your review and great feedback, we are happy you enjoyed the food and surrounding area so much, it is certainly a special village. The only concern we have was the word basic in your room review which may lead some people to think we are lacking in some ammenity. We have made sure to provide large comfortable beds with deep well sprung mattresses and all our sheets and towels are custom made with high thread count.
The views are all to the lake and the bathrooms have been designed in local stone with modern high quality fixtures. There are flat screen TVs with stations in many languages, quite unusual in the area, and we always provide mineral water, nice shower gel, shampoo and hand made soaps. I believe our aesthetic is probably quite simple and minimalist, we prefer to stay in harmony with the area but I would hope all the necessary comforts have been provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is really a fine restaurant with 4 impeccably kept rooms. A one night stay at this lovely little establishment will definitely lead to more visits so that we can take advantage on the many activities on offer here such as pony trekking, rambling through the national park, or Kayakking on the magnificent lake that you can see when dining al fresco or from your room.

Room Tip: I dont think there is a difference but ask if you have a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Lago

Address: Calle Felix Rodriguez de la Fuente, 11, 11688 Zahara de la Sierra, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Zahara de la Sierra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Zahara de la Sierra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with spectacular views of Zahara´s lake. We have a well known restaurant open for lunch and dinner, serving local produce (some from our farm). The cuisine is rustic with innovative touches featuring local specialities such as wild boar, pork cheeks, paellas and in summer a wide array of fish. We also have vegetarian and vegan options, daily specials, home made desserts and an extensive wine cellar featuring many local bodegas.In addition Al lago has as a bar serving drinks, tapas and baked goods all day long. Breakfast is a buffet of fresh fruit salads, cereals, yoghurts, fresh juice, cold cuts and patés, boiled eggs, Andalucian tomato puree, breads and hot beverages.All our spacious, thoughtfully decorated en-suite double bedrooms have their own balcony with wrought iron doors, large beds, flat-screen satellite TV, built in wardrobes and rain showers. There is wifi in public areas and guests can use the hotel computer if need be. Al Lago has free on road parking and access is by recently asphalted road. We are surrounded by fabulous walking country with the Garganta Verde and many other hikes on our doorstep. Located on the edge of a typical white village/pueblo blanco into which you can wander and enjoy local bars and shops. A paradise for walkers, birders, cyclists, foodies, botanists, painters and horse riding enthusiasts. The architectural wonder of Ronda is half an hour away and other lovely white villages close by. Roman ruins, oilve oil mills and wine bodegas can be visited in the area also. For swimming the playita (spring fed mini lake) and local pool are open from mid June until Mid September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.