We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Pilar 3 | Near Marbella, E-29679 Benahavis, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benahavis
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited early May. We received a warm welcome, and the personalised menus to take away I thought were a nice touch as well as a clever marketing ploy. A welcome aperitif served in a stone mug was enjoyed by all. Local food and wine in evidence throughout the menu, knowledgeable support by the staff and we can forgive the young waitress for dribbling our local wine whilst pouring. I will be back to further explore this menu and my lovely female companions thoroughly enjoyed their evening.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
80
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chislehurst Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Amanhavis is more like a very good restaurant with rooms. The owner was charming and staff very friendly with excellent food. We stayed 8 nights which was a mistake in our opinion. Why ? our room was very small with insufficient accommodation for 8 days. However, it was the least expensive and we would have loved to be advised that a larger room would be more suitable. Sadly, the weather was cold and raining for 3 days - fine it happens but, there was no heating on in our room or, in the Hotel lounge which was disappointing. The mattress was comfortable but, the bed ( could only just walk around one side well ) had a wooden surround making it uncomfortable to sit on. The furniture was just adequate for 8 days - but no desk height table or, dressing table to lay out items, maps etc. Very thick walls making it cool - lovely in the heat of the Summer of which we had a few days of. I would have enjoyed this picturesque hotel better if we had a better room but, did not know as it was our first time.

Room Tip: Ask re; size, noise etc - we were on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Found the hotel via TA and indeed, it is fabulous. We stayed at the Philosopher´s Study, a lovely appointed room with books, an escape tunne (yes, it is correct) and all what is necessary for a nice stay. But what makes it special is the care to details of the past. The team were very helpful and seemed to enjoy explinations on why the rooms have been decorated in such a way. Breakfast was lovely and I can imagen, that it will be even better, once they serve it on the sun terrace.

Room Tip: All rooms seem fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved this little hotel and its team. They are amazingly friendly and exceeded every possible expectation. The rooms are superb, more like a4.5 star hotel, really tastefully done. The breakfast was done with a BIG smile and it was delicious, especially the home-made croissants. For dinner we first opted out, but the second day stayed at Amanhavis. Big mistake to go out !! The food is out of this world. The Iberian Pork and the Andalucian Fish Plate were to die for. Absolutely first class, can´t wait to return !

Room Tip: Book soon, they are often sold out !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spend our wedding anniversary at Amanhavis Hotel. Several friends had stayed there and highly recommended it. Room was amazingly appointed. The restaurant us best in the region anyway. We thank the entire team for making it a wonderful stay and making us so welcome. Great experience.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kircubbin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My Husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay which should have been 4 night stay in Hotel Amanhavis. Upon arrival everything was as expected, friendly welcome and quaint hotel and village. We stayed in the Philosophers Study which we found quite dark and very small and in need of a proper refurbishment. The hotel gives the impression of perfection but when you scratch under the surface all is not well. The pool needed cleaned as there was scum around the edge. Sunbeds on the roof terrace don't work as the backs fly forward when you try to sit on them. Trying to ascend onto the 2nd roof terrace would have been difficult for a Sherpa never mind an able bodied person. But the best is yet to come. Cockroaches found in bed and bathroom.Owner says rooms were sprayed in April well there is a really bad infestation in the Philosophers Study. Ended up cutting stay short because of this. Owner refunded 2 nights which allowed us to go and find somewhere else to stay. Just really glad didn't book to eat in the restaurant if they had cockroaches in beds and the bathroom. This hotel gets good reviews but I feel the owners are resting on their laurels because of this and have failed to keep up a maintenance programme. This hotel needs seriously updating and a good clean. The rooms are dark and hide a multitude of sins. Please make sure if you stay you check everywhere as things aren't always what they seem.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This boutique hotel and absolutely superb restaurant is a MUST for the discerning traveller and/or holidaymaker. My wife and I return each time we are in the area and AMANHAVIS seems to get better and better. And no wonder; not only is the food of Michelin rating, the service and incredibly friendly welcome makes this an alpha rating restaurant. The hotel is appealing and extremely comfortable. Try it! You won't be disappointed.

Kathleen Mackie

Room Tip: Any room is agreeable - and all themed too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Calle Pilar 3 | Near Marbella, E-29679 Benahavis, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benahavis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benahavis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel of high standing only minutes from the famous Marbella / Puerto Banus and the beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanhavis Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.