We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, few small shortcomings.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Padierna Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Padierna Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. de Cadiz, Km 166 | at Flamingos Golf Club, 29679 Benahavis, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Benahavis
Gibraltar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food, few small shortcomings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had a wonderful short spa break at this hotel over the past two days. I chose this hotel primarily due to its proximity to Gibraltar, it's renowned good food and the top notch spa. I was not disappointed in either of these areas. The food at La Loggia and La Veranda were superb, especially the latter where it's evident there is a world class chef cooking for you! (Chocolate sponge cake to die for!)

The only reason I mention shortcomings is that at such a high class, five star hotel you expect pretty much perfection, or close to it. These are not the types of things I would review for a lower class hotel. I found it quite hard to navigate around the spa area, in particular finding my way to the gym, a few extra signposts inside the spa area would really help.

On arriving at the hotel it also wasn't obvious whether we should use the underground parking, or drive up to the hotels front entrance. On asking the staff at the entrance we were told to use the underground parking, while this is perfectly fine, is a little out of the ordinary at a five star hotel.

The rooms were very clean and spacious, a little old fashioned but that is just my own personal taste and not a shortcoming. The hotel is decorated to a very high traditional standard and really is beautiful, very Roman themed :)

That aside I had a fabulous time, ate so well and had wonderful spa treatment. Definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a view over the golf course, it's beautiful =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind review about our hotel, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our cuisine at La Loggia, at La Veranda Restaurant and our Spa treatments.
As the new Season has started, I would like to inform you that our Beach Club, “Villa Padierna Club de Mar” is now open to the public for lunch and will be opening for dinner as well as from the 20th of May, I hope you will be able to visit us again soon to try our new menu, where you will be able to enjoy a wide selection of Mediterranean dishes.

We take on board all your constructive comments and we look forward to welcome you back shortly.

Warm Regards from Sunny Marbella.

Daniela Isler
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    80
    35
    28
    13
See reviews for
79
204
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I visited Villa Padierna Palace Hotel for five nights for our first years wedding anniversary in April 2013. The hotel is a true five star venue. The Terrace restaurant was excellent and to the standard of other top restaurants in Marbella and Puerto Banus. We often eat at michelin star restaurants and were very impressed with the food and the waiter service also. We had champagne and strawberries in our room waiting for us when we arrived and again for our anniversary too which was a lovely gift from the hotel.

The staff and Villa Padierna were excellent and always on hand to help. The staff also spoke excelllent english which was handy as our Spanish is limited. During our stay the piano would be playing from the afternoon through to the evening which created a lovely ambience when returning from the beach or going out to dinner.

Our room, a junior suite was immaculate, with modern elegant decor with beautiful views over the golf course and water fountains.

My husband and I used the spa and the treatments were great and staff there were very helpful too.

My sister lives in Spain and we are regular visiters so will definately be returning and would like to thank all the staff at the Villa Padierna Palace for making our stay such a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, Guest Relations at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see that we have made your stay a memorable one. It is inspiring to see that we have made a difference, and that you are thinking of returning to the hotel.

It is our pleasure to make you feel at home and special, even more when you came to celebrate such a special event with us.

We are truly thankful that you have taken the time to leave your observations and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in a near future.

Until then

Warm Regards,

Daniela Isler
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel already in June 2011 and it was ok but nothing special.
After two years we returned back to the Villa Padierna and we loved it. The hotel is still like a museum, rooms well decorated and the view from our room was spectacular. The Golf was in excellent conditions and the service in the hotel was much better than two years ago. They have received a well deserved 6th Star and have now a beach club just minutes away from the hotel with a complimentary shuttle service.
The only small criticism: There is no breakfast buffet and therefore the service staff is a bit stretched at times. We will definitely return to this wonderful hotel, especially if they keep improving like they have done over the last two years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are thrilled to see that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you have noticed our improvements.
I would like to inform you that you will be able to enjoy our Buffet Breakfast on your next visit as it is again available at La Loggia Restaurant since last week.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel in the near future.

Until then

Best Regrads,

Martin Schneck
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice and calm place to stay in Marbella surroundings.
Spacious and luxury rooms with excellent beds. Huge terrasses.
Good and friendly service in the hotel excepted the chaotic service and mediocre quality of the standard breakfasts.
The air-conditioning in the bedroom was 90% inefficient but I guess it had been restricted during spring and I can't imagine that it wouldn't be upturned in summertime!
Spa fitness, beauty rooms, indoor swimming pool absolutely outstanding.Outside pool in a splendid garden were you can relax on long chairs.
Golfs courses (three of them are part of the resort) are more than excellent.
I just regretted that the practice range was 3km away from the hotel.
Luncheon food is not good (but I'm French!) and I'd had appreciated some typical spanish meals rather than this international burgers, club sandwich etc..
In total, a very recommendable place to stay in for golf and taking a breath.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, we truly appreciate that you have taken the time to leave your observations on our hotel.
We take in your comment about our Breakfast, and will lead it on to our head offices for consultation. Also I am very sorry to see that you have not enjoyed our Lunch variety, even more seeing that you have clearly not tried our Beach Restaurant, which is just 5 minutes from the hotel, and were you can get to with our free of charge shuttle bus which goes every our. I am sure that you would have enjoyed the menu.

Therefore I honestly hope that we will be able to welcome you back in a near future.

Until then,

Best Regards,

Martin Schneck
Managing Director
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVERLY HILLS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I wanted to give this hotel 6 stars if possible. We had the most amazing time in this fabulous resort and we don't even play golf. The grounds and the view of this hotel is beyond anybody's expectations! The reception told us Michelle Obama and a hand full of celebrities had stayed there and we thought no wonder! The beauty of this hotel is unsurpassed. We had rented a car and we visited Ronda which was incredible. There was a ten minutes ride to a gorgeous little village named Benhavis and we had the best lamb ever in Rufino restaurant. Another day we visited Gibraltar and Tangier. If you don't want to rent a car this resort is not for you. This place is for rejuvenation of body and mind. Quiet, peaceful, serene and just wonderful. The spa is the most famous in Spain and if you drive 10-15 minutes you get to old town Marbella with all the shops and restaurants. If you don't want to have a car I suggest Don Pepe hotel which is in old town or Marbella Club hotel. But for us Villa Padierna Palace hotel is the ultimate. We did tell the concierge that it would be great if they had a movie channel since all they had was news channels and they said they are working on it. We will definitely go back in September to repeat our unforgettable experience .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are so thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have had such a positive experience during your trip. We are also very delighted to hear that you will come back to stay with us in September and that it is your ultimate choice.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time prior your arrival if you have any special requests.

We look forward to welcoming you shortly to our property.

Best regards,


Martin Schneck
General Manager
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We've just enjoyed a marvellous week at Villa Padierna. This is much more than a hotel. It's a vision of beauty. At every turn you find a feast for your eyes and soul.The public areas, interior and exterior, take you back to the elegant glory of ancient Rome (I know, it's in Spain but the owners are Italian, I think.) The pool area, the amphitheatre, the gardens, they all display a glorious imagination of planning and style. You just feel so good being in the midst of this enchanting beauty. All this before you get to the luxurious rooms.
The service is almost faultless ( the golf shop staff were rather unwelcoming). Yes, we're fans and we'll return again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments; we are delighted to see that you have truly enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We have indeed the honor to have one of the most beautiful and unique hotels on the Costa del Sol.
The owners are actually Spanish, the Lady is countess of Villa Padierna, from there the name and they have a passion for antiques.

We are pleased to hear that you have foreseen to be coming back to visit us in the future.

Best Regards,

Martin Schneck
Managing Director
Villa Padierna palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just spent 2 nights in hotel planning my daughters wedding... Breathtaking, amazing views, service first class. Patrica is the wedding planner so helpful and made us feel confident about wedding in July . Spent day at beach club also beautiful. Looking forward to wedding as I know it will be amazing

Room Tip: Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, General Manager at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. We are very pleased to read that you have spent such a great time at the Villa Padierna Palace, for your pre-wedding stay, we will definitely pass your comments to Patricia Morales who is planning your special day to make sure that we meet all your requirements and expectations.
We look forward to celebrate your wedding day at our Venue, we will do de everything that is in our hands to make sure that this will be a day to remember for the rest of your lives.
See you very soon at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel.
Best regards,

Martin Schneck
General Manager
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Padierna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Padierna Palace Hotel

Address: Ctra. de Cadiz, Km 166 | at Flamingos Golf Club, 29679 Benahavis, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benahavis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Benahavis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Padierna Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are very few places in the world that inspire such serenity and beauty as the surroundings of Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, located in the heart of the golden triangle: Marbella, Benahavis, Estepona, our Luxury 5 Star has been recognized by Seven Stars & Stripes as Six Stars, and recently awarded as the world best Golf Resort by the World Travel Awards. Designed as a replica of a Tuscan palace, offers 129 deluxe rooms and suites also including 9 Villas with private pool, and a wide selection of unique experiences, such as three 18 holes Golf courses; Flamingos, Tramores & Alferini, Medical Wellness Spa, Racquet Paddle Club, 4 Restaurants and its exclusive Club de Mar on the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Padierna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Marbella
Padierna Hotel Marbella
Padierna Villa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.