We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Padierna Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Padierna Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. de Cadiz, Km 166 | at Flamingos Golf Club, 29679 Benahavis, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Benahavis
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice and calm place to stay in Marbella surroundings.
Spacious and luxury rooms with excellent beds. Huge terrasses.
Good and friendly service in the hotel excepted the chaotic service and mediocre quality of the standard breakfasts.
The air-conditioning in the bedroom was 90% inefficient but I guess it had been restricted during spring and I can't imagine that it wouldn't be upturned in summertime!
Spa fitness, beauty rooms, indoor swimming pool absolutely outstanding.Outside pool in a splendid garden were you can relax on long chairs.
Golfs courses (three of them are part of the resort) are more than excellent.
I just regretted that the practice range was 3km away from the hotel.
Luncheon food is not good (but I'm French!) and I'd had appreciated some typical spanish meals rather than this international burgers, club sandwich etc..
In total, a very recommendable place to stay in for golf and taking a breath.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, we truly appreciate that you have taken the time to leave your observations on our hotel.
We take in your comment about our Breakfast, and will lead it on to our head offices for consultation. Also I am very sorry to see that you have not enjoyed our Lunch variety, even more seeing that you have clearly not tried our Beach Restaurant, which is just 5 minutes from the hotel, and were you can get to with our free of charge shuttle bus which goes every our. I am sure that you would have enjoyed the menu.

Therefore I honestly hope that we will be able to welcome you back in a near future.

Until then,

Best Regards,

Martin Schneck
Managing Director
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    79
    34
    28
    13
See reviews for
78
199
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BEVERLY HILLS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I wanted to give this hotel 6 stars if possible. We had the most amazing time in this fabulous resort and we don't even play golf. The grounds and the view of this hotel is beyond anybody's expectations! The reception told us Michelle Obama and a hand full of celebrities had stayed there and we thought no wonder! The beauty of this hotel is unsurpassed. We had rented a car and we visited Ronda which was incredible. There was a ten minutes ride to a gorgeous little village named Benhavis and we had the best lamb ever in Rufino restaurant. Another day we visited Gibraltar and Tangier. If you don't want to rent a car this resort is not for you. This place is for rejuvenation of body and mind. Quiet, peaceful, serene and just wonderful. The spa is the most famous in Spain and if you drive 10-15 minutes you get to old town Marbella with all the shops and restaurants. If you don't want to have a car I suggest Don Pepe hotel which is in old town or Marbella Club hotel. But for us Villa Padierna Palace hotel is the ultimate. We did tell the concierge that it would be great if they had a movie channel since all they had was news channels and they said they are working on it. We will definitely go back in September to repeat our unforgettable experience .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are so thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have had such a positive experience during your trip. We are also very delighted to hear that you will come back to stay with us in September and that it is your ultimate choice.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time prior your arrival if you have any special requests.

We look forward to welcoming you shortly to our property.

Best regards,


Martin Schneck
General Manager
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We've just enjoyed a marvellous week at Villa Padierna. This is much more than a hotel. It's a vision of beauty. At every turn you find a feast for your eyes and soul.The public areas, interior and exterior, take you back to the elegant glory of ancient Rome (I know, it's in Spain but the owners are Italian, I think.) The pool area, the amphitheatre, the gardens, they all display a glorious imagination of planning and style. You just feel so good being in the midst of this enchanting beauty. All this before you get to the luxurious rooms.
The service is almost faultless ( the golf shop staff were rather unwelcoming). Yes, we're fans and we'll return again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments; we are delighted to see that you have truly enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We have indeed the honor to have one of the most beautiful and unique hotels on the Costa del Sol.
The owners are actually Spanish, the Lady is countess of Villa Padierna, from there the name and they have a passion for antiques.

We are pleased to hear that you have foreseen to be coming back to visit us in the future.

Best Regards,

Martin Schneck
Managing Director
Villa Padierna palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just spent 2 nights in hotel planning my daughters wedding... Breathtaking, amazing views, service first class. Patrica is the wedding planner so helpful and made us feel confident about wedding in July . Spent day at beach club also beautiful. Looking forward to wedding as I know it will be amazing

Room Tip: Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, General Manager at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. We are very pleased to read that you have spent such a great time at the Villa Padierna Palace, for your pre-wedding stay, we will definitely pass your comments to Patricia Morales who is planning your special day to make sure that we meet all your requirements and expectations.
We look forward to celebrate your wedding day at our Venue, we will do de everything that is in our hands to make sure that this will be a day to remember for the rest of your lives.
See you very soon at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel.
Best regards,

Martin Schneck
General Manager
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I agree that the service was very friendly and helpful.
The both restaurants in the hotel are up to standard but maybe not the most creative menu, the dishes are very old fashion. But over all great ambiance, service and food.
The rooms are big clean and you get the real luxurious felling.
Spa was slightly disappointing, they have plenty off saunas and steam rooms, but thats more or less it, i would liked to see some whirlpools, but thats personal taste.
I hade a massage and i was very pleased.
Roomservice came up quick and great as it should at 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, General Manager at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind review and your feedback in regards to the restaurants.
We endeavor everyday to improve our quality of service and it is very important for us to hear our guests.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to our property in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Martin Schneck
General Manager
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had read previous reviews saying the staff were unfriendly and too few in number so we had some apprehension before travelling. These are completely unfounded. The staff were very friendly, extremely helpful and there was always a member of staff available when needed. The hotel is first class, the golf courses with the exception of Tramore, are challenging but highly enjoyable, and in pristine condition , and we would recommend this venue to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, it’s wonderful to hear that our staff made your stay unforgettable. We are also glad to hear that you had a fantastic golf experience at villa Padierna Golf Club, even tough Tramores Golf Course is as challengeable as the others.

Thank you once again and we hope to be welcoming you back soon.


Yours Sincerely,

Martin Schneck
General Manager
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Thermas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you want a most glorious golf holiday...this is the place! Not only is the hotel beautiful, the service incredible, the food excellent....there are 3 golf courses! The pro- shop has everything you could ever want from clothing, shoes and everything else for the game.
The situation of the hotel looks out toward the Sea and the views from the courses are lovely.
But the really special part is the front desk service that guides you every step of the way. Carolina, the beautiful, smiling hostess can attend to your every whim. She is utterly AMAZING!!
If the weather is good, it must be superb. For us it was cold and rainy and we still enjoyed a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Thermas C, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your positive comments. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with us during your stay. We will pass on your comments to Carolina as she will be proud to read your review.

We hope that during your next stay you will be able to enjoy not only the hotel but also the weather, the sun is shining today at Villa Padierna Club del Mar, our Beach Club which is now open to the Public for the Spring Season.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Martin Schneck
General Manager
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Thermas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Padierna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Padierna Palace Hotel

Address: Ctra. de Cadiz, Km 166 | at Flamingos Golf Club, 29679 Benahavis, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benahavis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Benahavis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Padierna Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are very few places in the world that inspire such serenity and beauty as the surroundings of Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, located in the heart of the golden triangle: Marbella, Benahavis, Estepona, our Luxury 5 Star has been recognized by Seven Stars & Stripes as Six Stars, and recently awarded as the world best Golf Resort by the World Travel Awards. Designed as a replica of a Tuscan palace, offers 129 deluxe rooms and suites also including 9 Villas with private pool, and a wide selection of unique experiences, such as three 18 holes Golf courses; Flamingos, Tramores & Alferini, Medical Wellness Spa, Racquet Paddle Club, 4 Restaurants and its exclusive Club de Mar on the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Villa Padierna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Marbella
Padierna Hotel Marbella
Padierna Villa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.