We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Benahavis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Benahavis to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Benahavis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huerta de Rufino S/N, 29679 Benahavis, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benahavis
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just returned after a quick break , but was not long enough, staff so lovely helpful and friendly , breakfast fantastic could not want for anything more, great value for money, the only thing was wrong was the drains in bathroom smelt a little , and the paint work looked a little tired , but would definitely go back,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    147
    62
    31
    12
See reviews for
55
235
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great location about 10 minute drive away from the busy coastline. Loads of parking. Helpful and very friendly reception staff. The shutters did not work in our room and the windows could not be locked so maintenance was called and it was fixed within an hour. Large suite with 2 big bedrooms and a lounge area. Room overlooked the pool and courtyard and towards the village. The hotel was very quiet when we were there. Pool cleaned everyday, lots of sunloungers and pool bar for lunch time snacks. We had B & B and the breakfast was as I would expect for a 4* hotel, plenty to choose from. The style of the hotel is Spanish hacienda with lots of tiling everywhere and fountains, dark furniture. I felt the hotel just needs some TLC and investment, it was clean, but dated. The bathroom was clean though the whole suite needed replacing and the sheets on the bed clean but washed so much they were very thin. The village has many good restaurants. It is a very good 4* hotel and we would visit again.

Room Tip: There are no coffee/tea facilities in the room, so take your own if you want an early morning cuppa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I decided on a cheeky week away and stumbled across the village of Benahavis. We havent been to mainland Spain for many years and wanted something different from the All Inclusive option. We chose the Gran Hotel Benahavis based on the reviews we had read and decided to try it out for ourselves on a B & B basis.

The drive through the mountains to the Village was beautiful and we knew on arrival that we were going to like it. The hotel was pretty quiet through the day as most guests are either out sightseeing or playing golf on the many courses.

Our room was huge and overlooked a very pretty courtyard and was very quiet with carpeted corridors.

We used the hotel as a base for exploring different places of interest in the day such as Ronda, Mijas, San Pedro and Espepona.

As we are both food lovers we were not disappointed by the array of restaurants available in the village. We particulary enjoyed the house white at Amigos with the Gambas Pill Pill to die for!

We were spoilt for choice in terms of restaurants and didn't have one bad meal. The suckling pig at another of the restaurants was awesome. Its an up market area and perfect for a romanticget away.

We will definately visit the Gran Hotel again very soon and would highly recommend it to everyone who likes a smaller hotel in beauiful settings with more restaurants than you could ever eat it...truly magnificent!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights towards the end of September.

We had had a nightmare journey having had our car broken into in Mijas village with our hand luggage stolen. We then had a rather uncomfortable car journey to the hotel. On arrival we told the receptionist what had happened and he was very helpful, ringing both the local police and the Guardia Civil. He also arranged for our car to be parked in the underground car park for free- there is usually a charge.

Our room was huge and spotlessly clean, with a comfortable bed and pillows and looked over the inner courtyard. It was near the lift but we were not disturbed by any noise. The electric blinds helped to keep the room cool along with the air con. Plenty of storage space with wardrobes and dressing tables. Easy to use safe and free wi-fi. We used the laundry service and thought the rates were reasonable.

The breakfast was buffet style and had a very wide range of food to choose from. We did not eat there during the evenings, there is a snack bar at the main pool. The grounds and pools were very nice and there was plenty of space. Even though the hotel appeared quiet I would imagine that even when busy you could still find a nice spot in the garden to sit. There is also a swim up bar but this was closed. Towels for the pool can be obtained free of charge through reception. We thought the bar prices were very reasonable. We also took advantage of the late check out at €20 to stay until 9pm as we had a midnight flight home.

The hotel is located just down a hill from the main town(it is steep so if you have walking difficulties you will need to find a less direct route), where we ate every evening at the wide variety of restaurants. There are a couple of small shops to purchase a small range of supplies. There is an immaculate kept park on the road into the village and at the end of the road near the hotel was a children's play park with a little coffee hut which opened until later in the evening. On the road out of the village there are some cold river pools where we swam, really refreshing but depending on where you start walking there could be a steep scramble down over the rocks!

Puerto Banus and Marbella are nearby, Gibraltar is about an hours drive and we would have found our days quite restrictive without a car. Benahavis is a lovely town and we will definitely go back to the the Gran hotel if the opportunity arises. 100% recommended!

Yes, if you look close enough, you can always find faults at any hotel but we were very happy during our stay especially given the start to our holiday.

On a general note there appears to be a lot of burglaries in the costa del sol. Keep money, passports, valuables and travel documents with you unless they can be locked away somewhere safe. We eventually had to go to Fuengirola to report our car break in, none of the Guardia Civil spoke English but there is a voluntary interpreter Monday to Friday morning. There is also no parking so you will need to look nearby. The interpreter we had was amazing and we were very grateful for her help. Make sure you take photos of where you are, your vehicle and try to remember everything stolen for the police report. They didn't seem at all interested in another tourist having stuff stolen but you will need the police report for your insurance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Following a few poor reviews on here, we were dubious about booking this hotel, but am totally glad that we decided to see for ourselves. The hotel is set in an idyllic mountainous location, in a quiet town with enough restaurants and bars to keep you happy. The staff are friendly and helpful, and there are several benefits including free wi-fi, free parking, spa treatments, gym, and loads more.

The hotel is decorated very nicely and has a grand feel to it. There are lots of sporting activities on offer and Marbella is not too far away.

For the reasonable price of this hotel, I would 100% recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We visited as part of a cheap, end of season, package with Thomson so weren't expecting much. The hotel was not very full - not their problem (well I suppose it was in a way).
Large hotel at the head of a beautiful valley, 10-15km from coast. Walks in the hills above and below are pleasant, especially in October.
Staff all courteous and friendly. Breakfast plentiful and reasonable quality.
Rooms enormous. Bedding clean and not too tired.
Towels plentiful but getting near their end of life.
TV had British channels - didn't have to miss Strictly...
Pools lovely - my wife says the water was a bit cold.
Food - ok, not fantastic. Evening meal lack-luster. Nearby restaurants offer much greater variation in choice, price and quality - see my other reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cadiz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

....the reason for the recent poor reviews.
We live near Cadiz and are just back from a two night stay at the hotel. Having stayed in the vast majority of half decent to 5 star gold hotels in and around Marbella here is, in my humble opinion the true picture:
The hotel is perched just ouside the centre of the picturesque and beautifully kept gastronomic village of Benahavis. Great mountain air and about a 15 min drive to Marbella or Estepona - so an extremely good location.( assuming you have use of wheels )
The staff, although not many, in number were really friendly,helpful and efficient.
We only ate breakfast there but I do seem to definitely remember eating A1 quality fresh fruit and good quality scrambled eggs on toast. The pattiseries on offer were far far above average for Spain. On the flip side the coffee was average and the fruit juice looked pretty uninviting.
The rooms are of a very good size and clean.The main negative here was the use of synthetic bed protectors which together with average linen made for a rather sweaty sleeping experience.
The whole property is in a pretty good state but would benefit from a bit of extra maintenance.
The outdoor garden/pool area are exceptionally spacious and a good place to relax.
Now here's the bottom line - I challenge anyone to find a better offering at the price currently on offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Benahavis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Benahavis

Address: Huerta de Rufino S/N, 29679 Benahavis, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benahavis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benahavis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Benahavis 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the exclusivity of this unique hotel 4* SPA located in Benahavís, a natural heaven. The Gran Hotel Benahavís SPA is the perfect place for those who want to forget it all and immerse themselves in elegance, comfort and luxury. With 4 stars rating the Hotel offers many facilities and services beyond guest’s expectations. Let our idyllic gardens and outdoor pools seduce you, savour its exquisite cuisine, rest in its large rooms and pamper yourself in our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Benahavis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benahavis Gran Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Benahavis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.