We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colina Del Paraiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colina Del Paraiso to your Saves list
Colina Del Paraiso
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Carretera Cadiz, km 166 | Urb. El Paraiso Alto, C/ Pinsapo, 29679 Benahavis, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a really amazing time at the cortina del paraiso. The staff was superb and help out when needed. The food in the club house was superb and all the facility's on the complex we're amazing. The town house were nice and big and accommodated three couples happily .

Room Tip: Town houses for family due to good facility's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    71
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
142
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the townhouses which was very comfortable and spacious. The provisions at the house when we arrived were thoughtful and comprehensive. You do need a car but being able to relax on the lower terrace as soon as you arrive is excellent. The roof terrace and the hot tub were great, we didn't book the weather but it arrived on cue. The views were fantastic and the storm over Africa was suitably dramatic. The gym was clean and suited my limkited needs. Reception arranged a very nice game of golf for me and were on hand for anything we needed. The local supermarket was good value and well stocked with good quality provisions. Estepona is a lovely town within easy reach and very convenient parking. We enjoyed a very tasty curry at Mini India which is in the Diana Centre on the A7. We thoroughly enjoyed the Amazon Adventure at Elvira and Aqualand at Torromelinos - look out for vouchers!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinadelParaiso123, Manager at Colina Del Paraiso, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Andy P,
Thank you for your recent review.
We try to provide a comfortable and friendly service. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and the all that the Costa Del Sol has to offer.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Paul O'Neill
Chief Executive
Colina el Paraiso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed from 8th September for a week and this hotel was outstanding. We had a late flight in to Malaga so arranged a hire car from the airport to the hotel (yes, you do need to get a hire car as it's a bit off the beaten track). Even at night the hotel was relatively easy to find, just follow the little yellow signs as you begin to get closer to it.

When we arrived check-in was seamless, and we made our way to our apartment. We'd booked a 2 bedroom apartment as there were no one-beds available, however when we got there it turned out we'd been given a 3 bed! And it was a stunning apartment! 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms (the onsuite to the master bedroom was huge), fully equipped kitchen, utility room, spacious living room and to top it all off, a balcony that was longer than a bowling lane! Incredible. And the quality of finish was really good, it was like a luxury apartment, definitely the best we've ever stayed in, and we've stayed in a good few places in Costa del Sol including the Club La Costa apartments. The view down towards the sea was great too!

The only downside to the apartment was that the air con unit was right outside the window to the master bedroom, and it was pretty loud so sadly we didn't sleep too well throughout the week.

There are 3 swimming pools, a nice restaurant at the top of the hill with amazing views and Sky Sports (so we were able to watch Everton v Chelsea) and several tennis courts, all in excellent condition. It wasn't busy at all when we were there (half the apartments seemed to be unoccupied), so it was really peaceful.

There is a great supermarket just a mile away near the coast just off the main road, and the best find of all was Pepe's beach, a beautiful beach just over the road from the supermarket. It was so peaceful with two nice restaurants next to it.

We got an amazing deal through yourholidays.com (via teletext holidays) so total cost for whole holiday (flights from Gatwick, accommodation and hire car through Hertz) was £300 each, bargain!

All being well we plan to make a return trip very soon!

Room Tip: Make sure the air con unit isn't right outside the master bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was the first time my wife and I have taken our (elderly) father on holiday, along with her brother and girlfriend, but thankfully we had little to worry about, the staff were courteous, helpful and friendly, I even got to practise my appalling Spanish! Which they endured with good humour. Overall a first class destination and one we shall be returning too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed last week August/first week September. We had a late flight in so arranged a private transfer from the airport as we were a party of 6 with shed loads of luggage including golf clubs and a granny. Our driver wasn't sure of the location but my hubby had done his homework and directed him straight there (so much easier from the passenger seat). We arrived at 1am local time and check in was quick and easy while the driver dropped the rest of our party and luggage to Block 3 at the other end of the complex. I bought milk and sliced bread from the mini-market (a cupboard behind reception) where they have essentials ideal for late arrivals like us plus single use BBQs and other handy items. I bought freshly baked baguettes and ice from the restaurant in the morning. There is a small library in the corner of the restaurant with pre-owned books.On entering our penthouse there was a welcome bottle of bubbly and tea/coffee etc and shampoo and shower gel enough for those travelling light until your first supermarket trip. We found the local Mercadona had everything we needed from plenty of fresh fish to contact lens solution but the hours varied from those advertised, presumably as it was end of main season. We prebooked a hire car from Avis in Puerto Banus (taxi 20 euros including tip). We were glad we HAD prebooked as, listening to a drop in, we got a much better rate, especially on the insurance. Our car was almost new, clean and the pick up was quick and easy.
We did not sit around the main pools as we had a penthouse and enjoyed the privacy of our own pool. However we would go down when they were quiet then return to our top terrace, sizzling hot but cleverly built with several areas of shade - ideal for watching the sad little man who would rush out in the morning to lay his family's towels on loungers (while we hummed the Benny Hill chase tune).
When we did visit the main pools my mum wore a thin cover up over her costume, as she is post surgery, and she was never challenged.
We went to the BBQ night and there were various meats, all very tasty, with the offer of more if we wanted, served with salad and chips. All the meals we ate in the restaurant were lovely and the service always efficient and friendly.
On our last day we asked for a late check out and it was no problem and no charge. When there was a mix up with our return transfer we asked at reception, very late for the next morning, if they could sort something out for us. The man on reception was so helpful, got it arranged and let us know straight away - transfers for a party of 6 plus luggage and golf clubs to Malaga airport was 130 euros.

Overall it was a fantastic holiday for our whole group, the staff were without exception friendly and helpful, easy access to Puerto Banus and views from penthouse absolutely gorgeous.

We would definitely recommend Colina del Paraiso to our friends and family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just spent a week in a penthouse in the third week of September.
Check in was quick, staff helpful and spoke English . We booked it just because it had a private roof top pool and were not disappointed at all. The penthouse had three bedrooms (a double and two twins)' three bathrooms , two were ensuite inc four showers. The shower was wonderful tons of hot water at all times of the day.
The kitchen was very well equipped, the crockery was plentiful and in good condition, all I would say is if you are taking children or are accident prone then it would be worth taking or buying a very cheap picnic set so that you could eat outside without fear of braking something.
The penthouse had six beds on the rooftop and plenty of chairs both on the rooftop and the living room balcony so that you could choose where to eat.
Another reviewer complained about the temp of the pool all I say is it was wonderful and absolutely perfect when it was 33degrees outside.
I would think that the complex was only about 25% occupied at this time of year. It was very quiet all days except for the usual pool noise with little children in the mid afternoon. The mornings and evenings were wonderfully quiet. We had wonderful, views over the mountain and down to the sea from our balcony and roof top.
We only ate in their restaurant on one evening but it was lovely, good service and beautifully cooked steak. I would think in the height of the season it might be very busy but for us it was easy to get a table.
The location is lovely and quiet but a car is an essential, there is an excellent supermarket at the bottom of the hill at the A7 entrance but you definitely need a car to get around. They have a small supply of essentials at reception but for any length of stay the supermarket is a must.
It takes about 50 mins to drive from Malaga airport.
We had a very unexpected welcome pack when we arrived, bacon,eggs, bread, cheese, ham, milk, juice, cava, jar of coffee and box of tea, jar of marmalade and crisps. It was so appreciated after the journey arriving hungry and thirsty. Don't know if it is for all apartments or just the penthouses but some of it lasted us all week.
There are tennis courts and gym and outside cinema, possibly not all year, a library in the restaurant bar if you run out of holiday reading !!. There is a playground for children but everything was empty at this time of year. Perfect.
We did not use the main pools at all but from looking at them they never seemed to busy, one reviewer said that they could not swim quiet lengths in them, I would say look at the website, it is a holiday complex not an Olympic training pool. Silly expectations when you go in the school holidays.
We would not hesitate to go back out of season, I think in the main holiday season/school holidays it would be very popular and busy but for us at is time of year it was perfect to read, sleep, swim and enjoy the weather.

Room Tip: If you want a pool for your own privacy, not to share beds at the pool and want peace and quiet you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent last two weeks of August at colinas with out two year old and six year old and loved the holiday. Parents also joined for a week. Great resort, very clean, staff very helpful and always accommodating. You do need a car, but there is a nice restaurant on site and we found a local family taverna just a few minutes drive away that we enjoyed visiting . Kids club was small, informal and great for our six year old who joined when she fancied, she easily met people in the pool anyway though. We had a townhouse, which was lovely and great views from the roof, but apartment might have been better without all the stairs. Thinking of returning next year. Only down side was air con which was under the same controls for all three bedrooms, but managed to find a compromise setting after a bit of trial and error.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colina Del Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina Del Paraiso

Address: Carretera Cadiz, km 166 | Urb. El Paraiso Alto, C/ Pinsapo, 29679 Benahavis, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benahavis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Benahavis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colina Del Paraiso 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colina del Paraíso is a newly built self-catering resort located 10 minutes west of Puerto Banus, nestled in the hills of Benahavis, offering privacy and tranquility. Within close proximity of the self catering complex are long stretches of beautiful coastline and some of the best beaches in Europe. There are a selection of three bedroom apartments, townhouses and penthouses including grand rooftop terraces with private pools or whirlpools. Colina del Paraíso strives to offer a world of comfort, leisure and relaxation, where you can also enjoy our on site sport facilities like swimming, tennis, practice driving range, paddle tennis and a fully equipped gymnasium.Also on site, our renowned Italian bar and restaurant Angelica. Enjoy delicious Italian fare with stunning vistas of the coast as far as Gibralter and Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Colina Del Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Del Paraiso Hotel Benahavis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colina Del Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.