We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sarten

La Sarten
Avenida de Andalucia, 13, 29679 Benahavis, Spain
+34 952855575
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 50 Restaurants in Benahavis
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good food and wine, nice view, excellent service and reasonably priced. A lovely lunch venue.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant with a stunning backdrop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

What a fabulous evening in every way spent at this restaurant! We were a party of 8 and the first to be seated at a round table on the terrace - a wonderful view of the mountains was enjoyed by all of us! Food was delicious. A few of us ordered the pork which is a house speciality and it was truly divine. As was the suckling pig. But the best thing about this restaurant was the service. Our main waiter was a young man (25 he told us) who is actually the grandson of the original owner. He was attentive, chatty, funny and truly an asset to the establishment. We think his name was Ubaldo. Needless to say we left him a handsome tip which was thoroughly deserved!! He really made our night one to remember and is good looking and charming to boot! Complimentary liqours and mini magnums at the end were willingly consumed! Oh yes, and the chocolate brownie isn't on the menu but Ubaldo told us it was his favourite, we understood why after one mouthful!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Good food, great location especially on the terrace on a nice day. Service is good, people are friendly. Nice selection of dishes

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service but disappointing food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I was here 20 years ago having solomillo à brasa which I still remember. I was very excited to come back but this time my solomillo was way overdone. I regret that I didn't send it back. The service was very friendly so I hope they were just having a bad day in the kitchen.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Straight forward old fashioned Spanish country a classic ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

It was 20 years since our last visit to El Sarten- the menu is practiclly the same:. It is a very safe menu roast shoulder of lamb was yummy .I can't say the same for my wifes partridge . Get the lamb and spicy shrimp al pil pil .Rabbit was so so. Steak was fatty but tasty. Stick with the lamb and you will leave very satisfied. Desert was bananas swimming in a liquer liquid , but it was delicious. Service on Sunday was friendly and bustling. I would go back if I was looking for country style Spanish.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sarten also viewed

Benahavis, Costa del Sol
Benahavis, Costa del Sol
 
Benahavis, Costa del Sol
Benahavis, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Sarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.