We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fuegoblanco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fuegoblanco
Save
You added Fuegoblanco to your Saves list
Camino los Aneales, 29593 Alora, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Alora B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Fuegoblanco for 1 week at the beginning of February, to get some winter sun. Sarah and Kenneth were the perfect hosts. They were incredibly helpful and gave us all sorts of interesting recommendations. The food served was absolutely wonderful- all home made and organic. The fresh orange juice every morning, made from oranges which had just been picked from their trees, was out of this world. It was like having the best of both worlds- staying in a villa but not having to cook! Nothing was too much for them, and Sarah even brought our evening meal up to our room when our little boy fell asleep early. Our little boy was delighted with their cat as she didn't run a mile (I'm not sure if she was delighted with him!). We had the larger of the apartments with the balcony at the front, which was perfect. Everything was very clean and the villa itself is beautiful. It is a very relaxing and peaceful environment- you could stay for months! We all felt extremely revitalised at the end of the week, and were very sad to leave. It felt like saying goodbye to old friends. We would definitely return again. February was actually a lovely time to go, although we may have been lucky with having perfect sunny weather all week. Many thanks to you both for a really lovely holiday. (Apologies for the late review- I don't know
where the time goes!)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fuegoblanco, nestled in the spectacular countryside north of Malaga, is a true hidden gem. Kenneth and Sarah are the perfect hosts. The rooms are lovely - clean and bright and comfortable. The pool is excellent. Breakfasts outside in the morning sunshine could not be better. Evening vegetarian meals as the sun goes down and the stars come out - wonderful. We came back here after too many years away, and had a fantastic time. The surrounding area is worth exploring - gorges, huge lakes, caves, etc. Fly to Malaga, pick up your hire car at the airport (helpfully arranged through Fuegoblanco, and much less hassle than the grim queue you have to endure otherwise) and head inland. It really is a slice of paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a wonderful few days at Fuegeblanco in May 2013. We were made to feel very welcombe, Sarah and Kenneth being fantastic hosts who went out of their way to make us feel at home. The accommodation, gardens, and food were brilliant and their local knowledge of eating places, places to visit, and even places to park were appreciated.
We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is quite a hard place to find, and the approach road - part concrete road, part stream - is rather forbidding, but the hotel itself is simply lovely. Sarah and Kenneth are very welcoming, and they looked after us with great kindness.

You need to be aware of what you are getting. This is not a glitzy hotel on the seafront; it's a small fruit farm. Very peaceful. Food is vegetarian or fish. Sarah and Kenneth allow guests the run of the farm.

For breakfast, amongst other things, we were given fruit and a jug of orange juice that was so fresh that it's quite different to the stuff we buy in supermarkets. It had been on the tree an hour earlier.

There's a local walk of about a mile, down to the river, along the river for a bit, and then back through the neighbouring fruit farms. There are many other longer and more taxing routes in the area, too. It's very beautiful.

I would love to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Sarah and Kenneth were incredibly warm and welcoming hosts. They arranged some horse treks with Louisa which were an amazing way to see the local countryside, helped us plan days out with suggestions and maps, and made some wonderful meals to cater for my vegetarian and gluten free diet. Fuegoblanco is set among orange and lemon groves in a very pretty area of Andalusia. We did some lovely walks locally and it's easy to drive to towns like Alora, Ronda and Malaga for days out. The rooms were spotlessly clean, there were games available to play, and lots of books about Spain which were helpful. Breakfasts were good and tasty - the freshly squeezed orange juice was delicious. The swimming pool is well kept and has gorgeous views of the surrounding hills from the terrace. I'm already trying to work out when I can return!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at Fuegoblanco. Sarah and Kenneth are incredible hosts who will make sure you get the most out of your trip, whether it's relaxing by the lovely pool, strolling around the groves and the river, going for excellent local walks and seeing great scenery, and taking trips to local towns like Alora, Ronda, Antequera and Malaga. The first time we went we also managed day trips to further places like Gibraltar and Granada - very doable if you're prepared to drive for a couple of hours. The nearby lake area where you can hire pedalos is also really nice. So the location is excellent, and only 45 mins or so from Malaga airport. Sarah's dinners are always really tasty with lovely fresh, local, seasonal ingredients, very often from their land. But your hosts will also encourage you to try the excellent Andalucian cuisine available in Alora and elsewhere. We had the suite which provides lots of space to spread out, but there is also a big communal downstairs lounge, a sitting area upstairs, a patio where meals are served, and several other places to sit and relax if you take a standard room. We definitely haven't been for the last time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having journeyed from Christchurch, New Zealand it was a place of healing and rest from shattered nerves and earthquakes. Sarah and Kenneth are excellent hosts and are attentive and discreet. Their knowledge of the local surroundings and information provided to guests is exemplary and updated by happy guests; other hosts could take a lesson from them.

Books, locale information, tea and coffee and the pool all allow for relaxation along with the walks that can be easily taken from the property. Even walking up the hill and into Alora gave wonderful views and was worth the climb via the monastry on a hot day. The views from Fuegoblanco are spectacular as the sun moves during the day there is always a different aspect of the scenery to fire the imagination. Driving to any area for the day is easy, following the instructions provided by Sarah.

The rooms are well appointed, comfortable, relaxed and homely. We stayed for two weeks, home from home, except I did not have to do any housework! We found some evenings over dinner with other guests that a 'fuegoblanco family' would just happen. As a result dinner would be arranged to accommodate this or seperately as suited the situtation. In other words nothing was a problem and was smoothly accommodated.

Being carnivores, we can only say that the vegetarian food cooked by Sarah is something that could change our thoughts on diet. It is beautiful food.

Back home I am realising that this was a wonderful place to avoid the hustle and bustle of computers if you wish to, although this service is well provided for.

Keep up the good work Sarah and Kenneth, it was worth every mile of the flight to get there. Your directions to Fuegoblanco, even after we decided to come from the opposite direction, were spot on.

Thank you for your restorative hosting, Anne and Allan

Room Tip: Rooms are all lovely and individual right down to the key symbol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fuegoblanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuegoblanco

Address: Camino los Aneales, 29593 Alora, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer six en-suite rooms with views over spectacular countryside. Two lounges, pool, terraces and gardens give opportunity to relax with others, or escape as the mood takes you. We are popular with independent travelers who like the freedom and privacy normally associated with self-catering accomodation without the hassle of actually having to cook and clean for themselves. They tell us they love the relaxed, laid-back atmosphere here, and easy access to major tourist sites. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuegoblanco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.