We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, dreadful restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Garganta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Garganta to your Saves list
La Garganta
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barriada de El Chorro s/n, 29552 Alora, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alora
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel, dreadful restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Okay the hotel is ideal for the location and as long as you avoid the crappy 'English' run restaurant you should be fine. Food is below average and typical English attempting Spanish cuisine. Take a walk and find somewhere better to eat or visit a local whetherspoon here in England for better food and probably better service (service at bar and restaurant is appalling)!

Hotel service is great, spanish, willing to help, service with a smile.
Restaurant service is shoddy, grumpy, full of wasps, miserable cockney women, dire.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leics
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

we visiting el chorro, and decided to take lunch at la garganta, from the moment we arrived we were meet by an english man, pretending he was spainish, knowing we were english he allowed us to pigeon english the order, then when to talk to some friends in english.

The inflexibility and poor attitute, and poor value for money let this place down. the food was over priced, the attitude was poor and it seems the advocado sage continues here, as i had asked for it on my salad to be told there were not any, but when my partners salad came, it was full of advocado?

I would visit for the view and leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longton UK
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

On Wed 8 April we called in for lunch at La Garanta en route to the Lakes. Served by a very pleasant young English lady, we odered four main course chicken caesar salads, one without the advertised avacado. Fairly swiftly, four bowls arrived which were quite plainly of starter-size. My wife's had one small piece of chicken, our two friends had two apiece, and mine had three (plus the only piece of bacon) - all equally small: none had avacado. We quietly pointed all of this out to the waitress, who said someone would come from the kitchen. An older English lady arrived, but before we could explain, she began to talk in a VERY loud and astonishingly aggressive manner, stating that she had personally 'counted out all the bits' - not seeming to accept the evidence on the table - and that if we didn't like things we should leave, marching straight back to her kitchen. We did! On the way out, we politely asked our waitress if we could see the manager; she replied, clearly very embarrassed for everyone, that the kitchen lady was in fact the owner!! Judging by the aghast expressions on others waiting to be served, not many lunches were served that day. Not a good day for either the hotel or England Mrs Kennedy(?). We ate in a small local restaurant about a half a mile up the road (Le Pizer?) - excellent local food and service. We plan a three day visit to the Lakes again in the summer - we will happily bypass La Garanta.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmatk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

CLEANING
I'm not sure if we were suppose to clean the room oourselves. Some day they would come and clean a little change the towels and make the bed. But that only happened 2-3 timesover two weeks.

INTERIOR
Extremely small kitchen and not very well equipped. We had to ask for a bread knife and lids for the pots. There is only a microwave oven.

The sofa was useless.

Bed was okay.

Bathroom was fine, but sometimes there were a lcak of hot water.

Not much storage space.

  • Liked — The location - we came for the climbing at El Chorro
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

La Garganta is a converted flour mill with well equipped apartments overlooking the gorge and reservoir at El Chorro, on the route from Antequera to Ronda. There is an excellent restaurant, swimming pool and good access from the railway station nearby. It is a well organised and welcoming hotel in quite a unique location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Garganta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garganta

Address: Barriada de El Chorro s/n, 29552 Alora, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — La Garganta 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Garganta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Garganta Alora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Garganta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.