We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Garganta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Garganta to your Saves list
La Garganta
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barriada de El Chorro s/n, 29552 Alora, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alora
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

On a family Sunday trip out we spotted this restaurant with fantastic views. A family of 5 with 2 grandparents & our 2 dogs we stopped for lunch.
We hoped to sit on the terrace we saw from the road in the warm November sunshine, as it was full we were offered the side terrace, it turned out to be fully shaded with a gale whipping through! That was the least of our worries
We ordered 3 starters to share which were edible but hugely overpriced. Our mains, 3 albondigas, of which 2 were cold & sent back to be warmed, after 15 minutes they were returned 1 warmish & 1 cold, the third arrived warm but with a dead fly in it. The asparagus omelette looked horrible was declared the worse meal ever served, (this coming from a gentleman in his 70's is going some). My main of San Jacob was disgusting. All meat mains were just served with a few cold fries & nothing else. I have read other reviews that suggest the restaurant owners are English, if we had known this we would have addressed our issues to them. This is the worst excuse of a restaurant I have ever eaten in. It clearly survives on one off passing trade, it is daylight robbery & the owners should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I stayed here for four nights in Sep 2011, and couldn't fault the hotel in any way - spectacular location, friendly and personal service, god quality food at a range of reasonable prices, great pool especially if, like me, you prefer to do some lengths-swimming and even the view whilst swimming was stunning.

The room was a 'duplex' with bedroom and bathroom upstairs, and kitchenette/sitting area downstairs. If you like quirky, you'll love this - exposed stone around the breakfast bar, bright colourful tiles around the kitchen, a quaint spiral staircase (admittedly very narrow but that added to its charm) that led up to the bedroom in the eaves and a bathroom almost modelled on a cave and full of character. Throw open the shutters of your room for a breathtaking view of the gorge each morning!

I got there from Malaga airport by train to Alora where I got on a minibus that seemed to be waiting at the station to pick up anyone and everyone to take them the 3km into Alora and conveniently it continued on to El Chorro. Very straightforward. There is a train from Alora to El Chorro but it only runs once away about 7pm, but the station is right opposite La Garganta.

There's nothing much in El Chorro apart from a little shop (ideal for a jar of Nescafé, bottles of water and the odd bottle of wine), the station, a campsite and a bar. But it was so beautiful and peaceful, you can totaly chill out. There were lovely walks either along towards El Camino del Rey or up the mountain through the pine trees. A car is needed really so that you can get to the lakes about 6km away. Althought the hotel hires out mountain bikes (about 25euros a day), think twice before tackling the ride to the lakes as it's seriously uphill!

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure your rom faces the front for great views of the gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Okay the hotel is ideal for the location and as long as you avoid the crappy 'English' run restaurant you should be fine. Food is below average and typical English attempting Spanish cuisine. Take a walk and find somewhere better to eat or visit a local whetherspoon here in England for better food and probably better service (service at bar and restaurant is appalling)!

Hotel service is great, spanish, willing to help, service with a smile.
Restaurant service is shoddy, grumpy, full of wasps, miserable cockney women, dire.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

we visiting el chorro, and decided to take lunch at la garganta, from the moment we arrived we were meet by an english man, pretending he was spainish, knowing we were english he allowed us to pigeon english the order, then when to talk to some friends in english.

The inflexibility and poor attitute, and poor value for money let this place down. the food was over priced, the attitude was poor and it seems the advocado sage continues here, as i had asked for it on my salad to be told there were not any, but when my partners salad came, it was full of advocado?

I would visit for the view and leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longton UK
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

On Wed 8 April we called in for lunch at La Garanta en route to the Lakes. Served by a very pleasant young English lady, we odered four main course chicken caesar salads, one without the advertised avacado. Fairly swiftly, four bowls arrived which were quite plainly of starter-size. My wife's had one small piece of chicken, our two friends had two apiece, and mine had three (plus the only piece of bacon) - all equally small: none had avacado. We quietly pointed all of this out to the waitress, who said someone would come from the kitchen. An older English lady arrived, but before we could explain, she began to talk in a VERY loud and astonishingly aggressive manner, stating that she had personally 'counted out all the bits' - not seeming to accept the evidence on the table - and that if we didn't like things we should leave, marching straight back to her kitchen. We did! On the way out, we politely asked our waitress if we could see the manager; she replied, clearly very embarrassed for everyone, that the kitchen lady was in fact the owner!! Judging by the aghast expressions on others waiting to be served, not many lunches were served that day. Not a good day for either the hotel or England Mrs Kennedy(?). We ate in a small local restaurant about a half a mile up the road (Le Pizer?) - excellent local food and service. We plan a three day visit to the Lakes again in the summer - we will happily bypass La Garanta.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmatk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

CLEANING
I'm not sure if we were suppose to clean the room oourselves. Some day they would come and clean a little change the towels and make the bed. But that only happened 2-3 timesover two weeks.

INTERIOR
Extremely small kitchen and not very well equipped. We had to ask for a bread knife and lids for the pots. There is only a microwave oven.

The sofa was useless.

Bed was okay.

Bathroom was fine, but sometimes there were a lcak of hot water.

Not much storage space.

  • Liked — The location - we came for the climbing at El Chorro
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

La Garganta is a converted flour mill with well equipped apartments overlooking the gorge and reservoir at El Chorro, on the route from Antequera to Ronda. There is an excellent restaurant, swimming pool and good access from the railway station nearby. It is a well organised and welcoming hotel in quite a unique location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Garganta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garganta

Address: Barriada de El Chorro s/n, 29552 Alora, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — La Garganta 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your La Garganta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Garganta Alora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Garganta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.