We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cortijo Valverde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cortijo Valverde to your Saves list
Cortijo Valverde
Apartado de Correos 47 | CTRA Alora-Antequera Km 35,5, 29500 Alora, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Alora B&B and Inns
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Peace & Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you are wanting some serious R&R & you want to eat a sumptious dinner without the need to go driving & restaurant hunting look no further. Lots of favourable things have been written about C.V. & in our opinion the hosts deserve all the praise they receive. Our recent week long stay was not our first visit & for us to go somewhere more than once the place has to be special. Many thanks to Caroline & Ali for enabling us to do loads of nothing.
Margaret & Gordon Davison

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
131
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Fabulous place to stay! We may have been unlucky with the weather during during our 5 night stay in early April but we were extremely lucky in choosing Cortijo Valverde as a place to stay. Ali and Caroline have organised their business perfectly to ensure their guests have a great stay...very comfortable accommodation,delicious food and great company provided by themselves and the other guests. A car is essential to make the most of the visit...Ali provides a folder on arrival with instructions for possible day trips to local attractions. This folder served us very well during our trip! We made trips to Marbella ,Malaga, Ronda and Antequera and look forward to our next visit when we hope to go a little further afield to Cordoba and Granada. Honestly cannot think of anything negative to say about this place. Book and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Well worth the journey! The location is convenient for a number of days out sightseeing and numerous golf courses are within 45 mins. This is quality accommodation in a rural setting. Ali & Caroline are superb and helpful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent and the varied dinner menu is testament to Caroline's culinary skills. We always looked forward to our meal in the evening, not only for the delicious food, but also hearing about the days out of the other guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

What can I say? Coming here is like coming to my home in Spain! Ali and Caroline made us feel incredibly welcome as usual, food was outstanding as ever and even the fact that it was March and we had to eat indoors, rather then on the terrace as you would in Summer, didn't detract from the experience one little bit.

Ali was also very helpful in arranging horse riding for us at a local stables - Alora Riding Holidays, also excellent. I can't imagine coming to this part of the world and staying anywhere else - we're already booked in for the Summer!

Room Tip: Premier rooms have fridges, iPod docks and TV/DVDs, standard rooms have amazing views from the terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This was really one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays spent in Spain where I have been a frequent visitor over recent years. The warm welcome and excellent hospitality (not to mention the superb cooking) were really fantastic and led to some unforgettable evenings. The room was well equipped and with it's own private balcony and provided a real opportunity to unwind. Ali and Caroline were also exceptionally helpful in their guidance as to where to visit and in their knowledge of Spain - a real encyclopaedia of knowledge. A rare gem to stimulate not just the taste buds but also the mind. The hosts were unbelievably helpful throughout our stay - definitely a return visit beckons!

Room Tip: We had the superior room with a view of the mountains -wonderful aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This really is a wonderful place to stay and in particular for the charming and interested attention you receive from the hosts. It honestly felt that after a couple of days you were staying with old friends who joined you for a glass of wine and a chat in front of the log burner in the lounge.
We took the superior double which was beautifully furnished, absolutely immaculate with a lovely bathroom and every facility you could think of including a sun terrace outside your front door.
We cannot speak highly enough of Caroline's food from the fresh home-made bread to the amazing value dinners (be cheeky enough to ask for the lemon meringue pie - it is unbelievable!).Even the Sunday evening sandwiches turned out to be a meal in themselves. Going in the depths of winter we didn't get full benefit from the magnificent gardens or pool which add another dimension to the visit - you probably don't want to go out once you get there in the Summer - it's all on site.
We went out and about from there including Granada and the coast both within relatively easy access and Ali is excellent in advising on route planning and visits.
Wonderful place, superb value.

Room Tip: They all look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Went with six friends to spend Christmas at the Cortijo. From the moment we arrived we felt at home, we were made so welcome by Ali and Caroline. Such a lovely cosy feel to the place, nothing too much trouble for them and the food was excellent, well presented with lots of special touches.Wonderful views and pleasant gardens, lots of private areas to be quiet if you wished. Lots of info about the area available with a wide variety of activities on offer.
They even gave each of us a small Xmas gift! And when we left we had a bottle of their special olive oil. We will definately go back again, perhaps in late Spring when we can swim too. A really lovely break, thank you.

Room Tip: All our rooms were similar size, well appointed and with sunny terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cortijo Valverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Valverde

Address: Apartado de Correos 47 | CTRA Alora-Antequera Km 35,5, 29500 Alora, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortijo Valverde is a peaceful country hotel, under new ownership since July 2006. We are in the heart of Andalucia, only 45 minutes from Malaga airport and within easy access of Granada, Seville, Marbella, and Mijas. Amazing El Chorro Gorge and the beautiful Ardales Lakes are only 30-minutes away. Perfect for that special vacation destination for either a restful holiday, or a base from which to explore the many treasures that Andalucia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cortijo Valverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortijo Valverde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.