We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant has closed down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Gallego - CLOSED

El Gallego
Carretera del Valle | Bda El Puente, Alora, Spain
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Spain and UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Restaurant has closed down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I agree this restaurant was very good. Maybe the chef will move onto another restaurant.
They were originally up in the town.
Will keep you posted

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was probably one of the best curry I have ever tasted! Cant wait to go back and other time and have some more! Good service and they altso had a pooltable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alora, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful food - lovely hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have already written a review about this restaurant weeks ago i find it really annoying when you don't bother to print it and don't even give a reason for not printing it !
I live in Alora and have visited the restaurant many times because it is so good -NOT because I am associated with them in ANY way.
I don't think, this should mean that my review has no value

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alora
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best bar in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Anna and Ramon are not only the best cooks in Alora, but also the friendliest and most congenial hosts. I wish that they were still located up in the town centre (where I live), but their new bar in the Barriada el Puente offers more space, a bigger and better kitchen and a fantastic sunny outdoor terrace. The food is always outstanding and the drinks are always reasonably priced.... what more could you ask for? Another bonus is the best pool table in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We've visited friends in the lovely town of Alora before, but this was the first time we had been to El Gallego. The owner's Ana and Ramon we're very welcoming towards me, partner & 18 month toddler. The food was excellent. All was very well priced with nice sized portions. Drinks were well priced as well. The new bar is lovely with nice decor and a nice range of different people and languages around the place. Would highly recommend and can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gallego also viewed

Alora, Province of Malaga
Alora, Province of Malaga
 
Alora, Province of Malaga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gallego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.