We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply beatiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Paleta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skofja Loka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Garni Paleta
Save
You added Hotel Garni Paleta to your Saves list
Kapucinski trg 17, Skofja Loka 4220, Slovenia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skofja Loka
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“simply beatiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

this place is beatiful, a perfect stay.
clean with nice views on the river and the old stone bridge.
kind and friendly people. thanks Igor, the owner.
a bountiful, appetizing breakfast.
we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
61
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brno
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

we only stayed a night and traveled on but Igor was really a great host. He gave us tips what to do and where to go and was concenred that we spend a great time there. The room was clean and has air conditioning. We also liked the fact that the hotel has a really great location. Just cross the bridge in front of the hotel and you are in the old town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed two nights, then ten days cycle touring, then another night. We were collected at Ljublana airport (25 mins) and returned at the end of our holiday by the welcoming hotel owner and host, Igor.
I can only commend him on his levels of service , local knowledge, and his efforts to ensure we had a very pleasant, stay in his comfortable hotel and trouble free airport transfer.
The hotel is superbly located and Skofja Loka is an enchanting town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent a whole week in the picturesque old part of Skofja Loka. From tripadvisor we got the idea to stay at Hotel Garni Paleta and we never regret it. We enjoyed to be there (the place is calm and relaxing), to walk around the hills there, to ride the bikes rented by our great host, Igor for free. Igor was always ready to give helpful advices on how and where to go in Slovenia. Skofja Loka is very close to Ljubjana and to Bled, and not so far from Bohinj, so that you can make one day trips to the most beautiful parts of the country.
Once you get there, do not miss to taste Igor's homemade spirit made of honey. Its delicious!

Room Tip: Room 6 was a very good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were still a little jet lagged when we arrived into Skofja Loka and met Igor. We couldn't have asked for a better host! His introduction to Skofja Loka was superb and we felt right at home.
We used the bikes he had available which was great fun and took advantage of a lift up to a local gostilna in the hills with an incredible view of the town below.
The room was very spacious, immaculately clean and we wanted for nothing.
Great attention was paid to the breakfast, and at all times Igor went the extra mile for us (and everyone staying). You've got to stay here, as along with everything else, it is so handy to the town. Stunning views over the river too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river if possible...that way you can hang out the window and admire t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hotel is in a perfect location, near the old town and all the sights. The room was very clean, big and comfortable with nearly 500 tv channels.:-) It was cleaned every day. We spent 7 days at Hotel Garni Paleta and we really enjoyed it.

The hotel owner, Igor is a very friendly and helpful man. His home-made honey brandy (’mézes pálinka’ in Hungarian) and elderflower syrup were delicious (and thanks for the ’potica’.:-))
Every morning he suggested to us where to go and what to see depending on the weather forecasts. Slovenia is beautiful, but 7 days were not enough for everything. Next time we sure to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We booked the Garni Paleta based on Tripadvisor reviews and are glad we did. After flying into Zagreb, we bypassed Ljubljana (a great city in its own right) and headed straight for Skofja Loka. We had originally booed for 3 nights, but extended for a 4th as it's such a great location and Igor really goes out of his way to give advice and help you in any way possible. He supplied a wonderful start to our holiday.

Room Tip: We had requested a river view room and Igor gave us room 1. I can't compare it to any of the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Paleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Paleta

Address: Kapucinski trg 17, Skofja Loka 4220, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Skofja Loka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skofja Loka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garni Paleta - the hotel in the centre of old Skofja Loka - Excellent starting point for hiking, skiing, cycling and one-day trips. Hotel Garni Paleta is in the old part of town of Skofja Loka where the most tourist attractions are. It is situated in a quiet, romantic location by the river, with a view of the castle. In the hotel's vicinity there are many restaurants, pubs, cafes, shops and museum. The hotel has private parking spaces, a garage for motorcycles and bicycles and NEW PICNIC NEAR THE RIVER – free of charge. We rent bicycles, transport of passengers from and to the airport, we organize half a day's and whole-day trips in Slovenia. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Paleta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.