We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay in the big city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Independence Courthouse Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Independence Courthouse Motel to your Saves list
Independence Courthouse Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   157 North Edwards, Independence, CA 93526   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Alameda, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One night stay in the big city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Independence is a very small town but the Courthouse motel is just what you would expect. Very friendly and nice people. Julie checked me in and Greeting me by name and seemed truly happy to have me stay. The room was clean and small but the price is very reasonable. The soda machine would not take my money but there is a service station across the street that is owned by the same family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
16
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2days and was very pleasantly surprised with the comfort and clean rooms. Owners are very friendly and accommodate you with all needs with extra coffee and nice soft towels. A must stay here and will return again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The motel recently remodeled their rooms. Although the rooms are a bit small the place was very clean and the furniture up-to-date including flat screen TV's. The lounge benches just outside your door was a nice touch. I would go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Older place with attendant issues, but clean, comfortable and functional. Easy access to the various towns and sites of the Owens Valley and Eastern Sierra. Julie is great and exceptionally helpful. We will likely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here by chance when driving through Independence. Checked in late and owners were really friendly and accomodating who were very forthcoming when I asked for directions the next morning. The room was really clean and comfortable. Great value too.

Location is good, with the motel just off the main highway. Great place enroute to Death Valley as it only around 45 minutes drive away. Was ideal for us to stay there, as we could go to Death Valley nice and early the following morning.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Although an older motel, with absolutely no frills, our stay was very comfortable. I can't speak highly enough about the owner, Julie. This was definitely the most an owner, manager or employee of any hotel I've ever stayed in, has ever cared about my business. Not only were she & her family kind, they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable & had everything we needed despite arriving fairly late, approx 11pm, on a Sunday. The beds were simple & standard older motel style, but they were comfortable. A/C unit worked well & kept the room cool & comfy all night. Real coffee mugs with the coffee pot! Parking at the door for quick & easy loading/unloading. Good wi-fi. Considering rates in the area, this was reasonable for summer @ $85 for two double beds, but that may vary depending on time of yr & day of the week. I'm picky about hotels, but I'll take great service any day over a few frills. Keep your expectations modest, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Long day hike and when we came back room wasnt cleaned and no clean towels. Air conditioning was turned off by one of the workers for some reason. Most likely Julie. Terribly expensive for the service. Location is great if your going to court though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Independence Courthouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Courthouse Motel

Address: 157 North Edwards, Independence, CA 93526
Location: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Independence Courthouse Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Independence Courthouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Courthouse Hotel Independence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Independence Courthouse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.