We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dracula's Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bran Castle (Dracula's Castle)

Bran Castle (Dracula's Castle)
Str. General Traian Mosoiu, nr. 24, Bran 507025, Romania
+40268237700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bran
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dear Visitors to Bran Castle,On June 1, 2009, we celebrated the return of the heirs of Princess Ileana with Bran Castle’s rebirth as the first private museum and premiere tourist destination of Romania.June 1st Is the International Day of Children and Bran Castle’s day of revival.Fittingly, we have chosen to celebrate the day with special events for children, so that we may all remain fresh and young at heart.During the past year we have completed refurbishing the Castle, recapturing the spirit of Queen Marie’s favorite retreat and the loved home of her descendents. We have installed easy to read informational plaques and a media room for our visitors. We are currently restoring the park, as well as renovating all the facilities. We are also preparing additional cultural events and entertainment for our visitors.Following the Castle’s change of ownership, director Narcis Ion remained with the Ministry of Culture, but has continued to be our valued advisor. We have welcomed a new group of managing directors: Lia Doru Trandafir, Corin Trandafir, and Alexandru Priscu.We are happy to receive every guest that comes to visit us.Welcome to our castle, our home.Sincerely,Dominic HabsburgMaria-Magdalena HolzhausenElisabeth Sandhofer
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dracula's Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great place. Enjoyed the hospitality of Romania. There are little restaurants below the castle that are reasonably priced. Food was pretty good. They sell bottled Dracula Wine there, ironically it's white wine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    529
    269
    72
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A bit cheesy but historic.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lots of antiques inside, beautifully maintained, but overall, we liked Poenari Fortress much better - off the beaten path as opposed to a crowded tourist attraction that Dracula may have never even visited!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mystery à la Bram Stoker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Naturally after reading the novel "Dracula" I would want to visit this place. While the novel is, of course, a work of fiction it is indescribably awesome to see the place that has inspired it. The castle is truly incredibly beautiful, with the original architecture and much of the original furniture still intact, you can actually see the room where "Dracula" slept. The castle is surrounded by a cute fair complete with delicious treats and of course a haunted house ;)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nothing to do with Dracula......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If your motivation for a visit is the Dracula legend you will be sorely disappointed. Queen Marie of Romania occupied this castle. It is in a rustic style and fairly austere, you will not see any of the trappings of power you would expect to find in a European royal palace. The setting, however, is beautiful as the countryside in Transylvania is gorgeous. Unfortunately the local vendors try to profit from the Dracula connection, as tenuous as it may be, by selling all kinds of Dracula junk in the market just below it. If you are in Brasov, have free time, and are interested in Romanian history or architecture it will make for a pleasant 2-3 hour excursion. The visit itself will take you about 45 minutes, Otherwise you can skip it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
561 reviews 561 reviews
491 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Not Dracula's Castle, but Queen Marie's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Bran Castle is situated in Bran (about 30km far from Brasov) in a very scenic landscape. The entrace fee is 25 lei (the photos are included in this price), but the castle is not so big as it looks on the outside. Anyway, Vlad The Impaler (Dracula) never lived in this castle, it is just a story invented by Bram Stoker's novel, but Queen Marie of Romania loved this castle (near the castle is her chapel where her heart used to be after Balchik was occupied by Bulgaria).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bran Castle (Dracula's Castle) also viewed

Sinaia, Prahova County
Bran, Brasov County
 

Been to Bran Castle (Dracula's Castle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bran Castle (Dracula's Castle), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.