We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2  Casa Heidi from the NW CDinu Mendrea
2 Casa Heidi from the NW CDinu Mendrea
2  Casa Heidi from the NW CDinu Mendrea
1  Casa Heidi from the Hill, December 2007
3  Casa Heidi  Living room
4 Casa Heidi  Dining room - Living room
5  Casa Heidi  Kitchen
Bran
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TassieNan...
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

After a long journey by train and then by taxi we arrived in Bran and were welcomed to our 'home' for a week. A gorgeous house surrounded by fields, beautiful scenery, the sounds of a babbling stream and tinkling cow bells. After we had wandered through the house, with explanations from our guide regarding all operations of the kitchen, heating, bathrooms, bedding and how to operate the spa on the top floor, we quickly settled into the relaxing feel of our home.
The home is well equipped if you wish to prepare your own meals, with all the necessary kitchen items. Rooms are warm, spacious and very comfortable. All linen is provided.
The spa on the top floor, accessed by a ladder from the bedrooms, was certainly a draw card for us, and well used. If you need time to relax from your busy trip, then lying in the roomy spa, overlooking the green hills and fields is certainly the way to go.
We did not have our own transport and although the home is close to the township, it was limiting when we wished to travel further afield. There are however buses that travel regularly to nearby Brasov and taxis too are a great alternative for sightseeing.
A 15 minute walk to the centre of the township revealed the imposing Bran Castle, overlooking the goings on in the town. Well worth a visit, the many rooms and hallways in the castle have been lovingly restored, and you can wander through out the castle and appreciate the views of Bran and the countryside from many different aspects.
Correspondence through emails regarding payment was easy and information given by our host regarding activities in the area was appreciated. There was a bit of confusion about the final payment for our stay, but that was quickly dealt with, once again over emails.
Hopefully we will be able to return and spend some more time in this beautiful home.
Thank you Dinu! :).

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: We had to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2014
It was an honor to be chosen by Jo and Ben after their stressful and successful championship in Bulgaria. There were quite a few other…countries in the area they could have chosen. Thank you!
About the confusion related to the final payment: indeed, a confusion based on the similarity between Bulgarian Leva and Euros, but it was swiftly solved, also backed up by pictures we took and sent, not to leave behind ANY doubts.

We will so gladly host Jo and Ben again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
972travel...
Rehovot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb house, vistas which just take your breath away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Looking for a suitable holiday home for three generations of our family, ten in all, enjoying each other’s company but needing privacy too, we came across a recommendation in the “Guardian online” for Casa Heidi. Three double bedrooms, all with private shower & WC, all this in a spectacular location - it just seemed to fit the bill! Plenty of parking and play space for the young ones in front of the house all in a secluded, rural environment. We contacted Heidi and Dinu who immediately supplied with wealth of information regarding the property and its surroundings. Casa Heidi was for us!

We booked it for 10 days in late August / September and following the instructions given by the owners we were met in Bran by a smiling man, the house keeper, who showed us to the villa. Casa Heidi is well away from the tourist bustle created by the popular "Dracula Castle", 1 km away. Casa Heidi is surrounded by apple orchards and smallholding farm dwellings, blissfully quiet. In the evening the centre of Bran resumes its pleasant village atmosphere, too.

The description of what you get, as outlined on the website, is super accurate -- no exaggeration, no hyperbole! A super-clean, spacious living and eating area (easily seating the 10 of us with high chair included) and a well equipped kitchen, constant hot water is on hand (even for the large Jacuzzi) competently taken care of by the house keeper, who also makes sure the trash is removed and a lot more. We felt at home from day one.

Wonderful family walks within the picturesque village of Bran start right from the front door and our temporary neighbors were extremely friendly despite our lack of a common language. A short car ride will take you to nearby marked forest trails and if you want to make a day of it there are vistas which just take your breath away.

Of course we had to feed the family too and there is a very good supermarket in Bran offering everything you need. It might be a few Lei more expensive than shopping in the mall in Brasov, but ‘hey’, why not support the locals who share this jewel of a place with you.
To summarize: Casa Heidi met our expectation in every area and we would happily revisit. Dinu and Heidi are to be congratulated for the superb design of this villa. Mircea needs to be thanked too for his non-intrusive work to make our stay great quality time.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The layout of the villa offering communality & privacy
Liked least: Absolutely no negatives
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Chen N
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“We were charmed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

This was our most beautiful vacation in many years. We loved the cozy, so aesthetically pleasing and extremely well equipped villa. The views from its windows made our hearts sing. Waking up in the morning and seeing a squirrel jump from one tree to another, one meter away from our window while hearing the creek flow right behind it was just one ravishing experience. We enjoyed a lot the proximity to the authentic village life: every morning, on the other side of the creek, the same farmer with his wife were leading their cow to the pasture and they returned in the late afternoon. The surrounding landscape and the relaxing sound of sheep and cow bells constantly filling the air, gave us the feeling that we were living in one of thefairy tales we grew up with. The house keeper was extremely responsive and efficient, always with a smile. The sites we visited in the wider area completed our great experience: Transylvania 's impressive medieval Saxon towns and villages, as well as its spectacular natural alpine beauty. WE WERE CHARMED!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, house, area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2013
We chose to build this vacation house first and foremost for ourselves, seeking total peace of mind, wishing to be surrounded by breathtaking views, after spending stressful months in polluted cities. We chose this place and designed the house, collecting ideas and artifacts accumulated during many years of touring the world. Today, we and our guests know that there are VERY few places as spectacularly beautiful, as tranquil as the spot we chose and its surroundings.
A newer feature (in our wider experience in the area) is that it does NOT ONLY offer stunning natural beauty, but also some of the "universal pleasures" a vacation can offer AND at very reasonable prices: horse back riding, swimming, Spa, paragliding, Jeep tours, water parks, concerts, excellent restaurants, etc.
We feel blessed to have our vacation house in this place, to which we try to bring our little boy as much as possible. It is a GREAT JOY that such places still exist in our super-crowded, commercial, noisy world. Not only that it exists, but it's in 2013's Europe, with more and more affordable flights bringing you not too far from Casa Heidi: in Bucharest, Cluj or Sibiu, arriving from all over Europe! )
We are really glad to see that our guests perceive exactly what we intended to create. We are so thankful for their willingness to share their impressions!

Heidi and Dinu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Graeme U
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday, great scenery, great villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We thought it was fantastic. The villa is lovely, the housekeeper was very friendly and always available to help. We liked the size of the villa and the equipment within it. Everything you need. We really liked the living room, the great kitchen and the jacuzzi room is fantastic fun. The kids loved having a queen-sized bed each. The house felt like a home – not a holiday rental. Regarding location – stunning scenery.

The kids had a great time. Rasnov's fort and cave, Bran Castle (the whole “Dracula” thing), the cable-cars at Brasov and Sinaia and the Peles Castle were all big hits with them. Oh, there’s also a tiny model railway exhibition in the end-building of Sinaia's railway station – good for small kids before/after visiting Peles. Then there’s the 10-pin bowling in Bran itself. And just the fun of being let loose in the foothills of the Bucegi Mountains or the Zarnesti Gorge! We all had a great time.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Spaciousness of the villa - and the jacuzzi!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mummyjenn...
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
“For something a little different where you know you will relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011 for a stay in July 2010

For anybody looking for Western high standards but in a non-touristy setting then this is the perfect holiday location. Travel back in time to a land where all the family members harvest the alpine farmland by hand. Breathtaking scenery all around whether by foot or by car. After a lovely day out come home and enjoy a good meal then snuggle up with a good book or a family game of scrabble (or soak in the jacuzzi bath). The perfect contrast for people who normally live hectic lives......

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DnaGoe
Arcadia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We loved this vacation spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

We (2 couples + 1 child) have traveled a lot and I have to say that this place is pampering you. Not only compared to local alternatives (we did check quite a few), but by any standard! It felt like a home right from the beginning, warm and welcoming. The house is new, its architecture is modern, original, at times spectacular, yet the inside gives you a cozy, homey feeling. We got there late yet found everything we needed. The house was warm. In the kitchen (beyond the fact that it’s well stocked), everything we asked the house keeper to shop for us in advance was there. After dinner we all took a long hot shower. Towels were there, waiting for us.
We woke up in the morning to the breathtaking views of the mountains on both sides of the house and the gurgling little spring running along it.
The degree of privacy is exceptional for a vacation house which is so easily accessible. Not feeling that you are one out of X other groups in the house (and garden), but that it’s all yours is great!
The landscape all along the hikes in the area is stunning and the owner was very helpful in giving us tips on where to go, what to do, where to eat, where to rent a car from, etc.
One thing we enjoyed a lot was the Jacuzzi. The view from up there (in the attic!) is fabulous. Both us and our friends took our time on two separate days in the generous double tub, for more than an hour. We did have to let Mircha know in advance when we would use it, so he would add extra wood in the stove for heating, as we were asked to do from the beginning. Everything worked perfectly fine. The room with the heating system has its own entrance and there was no problem privacy-wise…
Too bad (or lucky us!) that the world is still unaware of all this (not just the fabulous house, but the whole area is stunning and offers so much to do!).

We loved this vacation spot!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Cumbria
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful
3 of 5 stars Value 3 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 3 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$168
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
DINU M
Speaks English, German
Listed since : Oct 2009
Response Rate: 75 %
Calendar Updated: 118 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing