We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Iurca de Calinesti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Iurca de Calinesti to your Saves list
Casa Iurca de Calinesti
14 Dragos Voda St, Sighetu Marmatiei 435500, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Modern hotel in quiet area on outskirts of town centre and a good base to explore the Maramures area. Our room on 2nd floor was large and clean with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Most rooms are twin bedded - if you want a double you need to ask for a large bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was basic but the restaurant next door served excellent local dishes and had a resident traditional singing group that performed every hour or so in local costume. Free WiFi but only possible to get good reception downstairs. Parking available next to hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a large or King size bed if you want a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel seems to be the best one in the drab town of Sighet. We stayed there 5 nights and toured Maramures from there. The hotel is well laid out and its main asset is its restaurant nearby. It saves you time looking for a decent dinner and it serves reliable and good food. By and large the services offered by the hotel (house) are good, however, you can feel a certain amount of diletant management. It results apparently from the fact that the hotel is relatively small and is not supported by an international chain. Tiny things which bothered us: the curtains didn't close fully, letting in light in the morning; the cupboard's door was shaky and almost fell out; there is no place to lay the towels on in the bathroom; the bathroom's ceiling is slanted and its doors scratch the ceiling; the laundry has no dryers and depends on sunshine (the hotel carries 4 stars!)These seem as pedantic observations but show a certain lack for details. The girls at the desk are lovely. They seem overworked and underpaid but this is probably a general symptom of the country. If next time in Sighet, we would definitely get back to this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We have been to Casa Iurca for 5 days in Dec and spent New Years Eve there as well. First I have to mention the owners that are very welcoming, helpful, always in the middle of the action and keeping an eye on everything.
The location is clean, built in traditional style and offers great service and confortable small rooms. A special mention to the food which not only a lot in quantity, but large variety and very, very tasty (especially meat). It is all locally produced, organic and beware of gaining weight. The parties they organise are a blast for everybody, they have a resident dance and traditional music band and also invite quality traditional dancers and singers.
The city itself is not much, however the surroundings are charming, lots of nature and rural landscapes to see.
The people are all very welcoming and they kept their traditions for hundreds of years.
getting there is relatively easy as there are two airports within 50-100km.
Will go gain someday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Casa Iurca de Calinesti has recently added a hotel next to its existing charming pension, and it was a very welcome surprise after a hard day's traveling. Friendly English-speaking staff, large, spotless rooms, beautiful linens including down duvets, good hot water, satellite TV, wireless in the lobby, ample breakfast included. The pension's courtyard restaurant next door was excellent, and we enjoyed (seasonal) forest mushrooms and fresh trout all grilled over a wood fire. An outstanding value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchares
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I live in Romania, 500 km from Maramures (in Bucharest). I had the pleasure to be here twice, but only in the restaurant. Now, I plan my honeymoon here.

First time I've been here at one of my best friend weeding (2008). The wedding was perfect, although local wedding traditions where a little strange for me. The food was the best and PALINCA (some alcohol drink from this side of country) was great (i couldn't have to much, it's very hard).

Second time, I was here one year ago (2009), but just for food. I was in vacation and staying with another hotel. We ordered some specialty for 2 persons. They came with at least 2 kg of meat, potatoes, 2 types of salad. We could have this meal for at least 6-7 hungry persons. And it tasted gorgeous.

Now, I'm looking for to have my first stay in here and in a special moment of my life. I'll have additional details after my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I think I was given the honeymoon suite up in the attic of the hotel! It was a large room with two sky lights (so no view or curtains for that matter!) and a bathroom with a huge jacuzzi which included coloured lights at the bottom (and which I had problems emptying)!! Beware you have to go up three flights of stairs because there's no lift in the hotel. There was a new flat screen TV with several English language film and documentary channels and Euronews. They helpfully provided a hairdryer but remember to bring your own shampoo because they don't offer much in the way of free lotions etc. There was a little fridge in the middle of the dressing table and a large cupboard. The bed was on the hard side and had two single duvets but at least the pillows were feather. The first day, breakfast was a buffet and the "hot" food had gone cold because the heating bit wasn't working! None of the hotels I stayed in seemed to provide fresh orange juice - you just get orange squash. Luckily the next day they provided a freshly cooked breakfast to order. There are a few parking spaces outside the hotel which is nice if you have a hire car. The hotel seemed to have the only restaurant in town. The food wasn't amazing (maybe I chose badly) also you have to remember this isn't a particularly developped town so don't go expecting much. Depending on the receptionist you will be allowed to use their laptop to check e-mails which is convenient. Location wise it's pretty central although the town isn't much to rave about shop or nightlife wise! It's not that kind of place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for two nights in September 2009. We heard about it by reading reviews in Fodors and Frommer's, both of whom rated it highly. They were not wrong. The Pensione has about 2 dozen rooms. We saw three of them and they were all spotless, tastefully furnished, spacious and very modern. The internet was by ethernet and worked flawlessly and at high speed. We had a virtual apartment with two bathrooms, a sitting/TV room, a bedroom, about twice the size of a normal NYC apartment.....for about $100 daily, including a cooked to order breakfast in the morning. The two young women whom we met who were working on the front desk were friendly, smiley and helpful. Parking was free and right in front of the facility. Very safe. Next door was Elie Weisel's birth home which is now a museum and the hotel's restaurant is next to that. The whole facility was being managed by an extremely helpful Romanian man who speaks English well enough to handle any issue that comes up. One of the front desk girls understood and spoke English quite well and the other is in the process of learning. Their can-do attitudes are noteworthy. The rest of the staff barely gets by with a few English words, but they get the essentials done with a smile. The restaurant is quite good. We visited the Elie Weisel home, walked around the town, walked across a river on a bridge into Ukraine and visited the village there, visited a Communist Resistance Museum in an old Communist Prison, visited a remarkable "Merry Cemetery" in Sapanga, a few klicks away. One can comfortably stay busy and entertained in this small town for a couple of days by staying at the Casa Lurca and seeing what there is to see in the area. This hotel is a gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Iurca de Calinesti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iurca de Calinesti

Address: 14 Dragos Voda St, Sighetu Marmatiei 435500, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Maramures County > Sighetu Marmatiei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sighetu Marmatiei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Iurca de Calinesti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Iurca De Calinesti Sighetu Marmatiei, Romania - Maramures County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Iurca de Calinesti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.