We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moldova

Hotel Moldova
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Moldova to your Saves list
Hotel Moldova
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Nicolae Balcescu St, Bacau, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bacau
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Short stay on this hotel on a business trip,food very good,nicely located

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The photo's say it all, a comfortble enough city centre hotel for a 1 night stay, but the interior decor is unusual to say the least! A Ducati motorcycle in reception and lfesize toy stuffed animals in the dining room were somewhat bizarre. Also be carful if staying with small children as there is nothing to stop them falling out of the room windows if opened. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billund, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

On my previous business trip to Bacau, I stayed with Hotel Moldova. My accommodation was already booked so I hardly had any choice of changing the hotel. Actually when I read the mail for my scheduled accommodation at Moldova, my first reaction was to make a search at TripAdvisor. All the reviews made me more worried. But when I reached the hotel and checked in, I did not find any sign of mismanagement or under-maintenance. Rather, I was happy for the hotel. My room gave a nice view and even the bathroom was clean. Food was unexpectedly delicious and drinks were average. In all, I checked out very happy from the Moldova and don’t find any reason for not recommendation to any other traveler.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

The first good thing is the closed parking area (due to the huge number of wild dogs around which are common in Romania). The hotel reception is absolutely in order, the rooms not really comfortable but in a decent shape and the bathroom was OK and clean. Probably the best thing about the Moldova is the Restaurant. Breakfast is wholesome, tasty and you get a nice portion for a fair price. The food they serve for lunch / dinner is even better, the salads are fresh and the meat juicy. Special highlights: excellent wine & great dessert (if you pick the regional specialties).
All in all I'd say it is a good value stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcala de Henares, spain
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This hotel deserves to be the last of the list of hotels in Bacau for a loooooong, long time. Because unless they proceed to an immediate refurbishment, it is very unlikely that people keep on staying here even if all other hotels in the city close down. I came to Moldova hotel invited by a local institution: they booked it for me so I was afraid expecting something really bad after reading the comments. Unfortunately, all negative comments I had read were right.

The room was outdated and in a very poor condition, the carpet was dirty and smelled like hell. The common areas were unfriendly, the service poor and ther breakfast was made with products of the lowest possible quality (in a country and in a season where milk, fruits, and many other products are cheap and excellent quality).

Bad things:
- Tacky decoration.
- Inner doors that need to be replaced,
- Shower without curtain so all the bathroom was wet after taking a shower
- Rusty shower tray
- Noisy room
- Very small TV of unknown brand and unbelievably poor image quality (from Ceaucescu times perhaps?)
- Staff not speaking English and, especially in the restaurant for breakfast, rude.
- Parking area full of dodgy people
- Poor quality bed, including the worst pillow I have ever slept on

Not so bad:
- Located in the city center (but in a strange, clapped-out and unpaved roundabout)
- View from room
- Lots of channels on TV
- Free car park in front of the hotel

If this is your only alternative, and you are traveling on your own (please don't take your family here under any circumstances) you could stay for a night and run away as fast as you can, but it is certainly not a place I would go back to. In any case, see it for yourself and have a look at the photos.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

D'ont GO there !!! it's Terrible !!!!!
very dirty, very ugly, the smell in the room is Terrible !!!!!

i sleep with open window becouse the smell ....

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moldova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moldova

Address: 16 Nicolae Balcescu St, Bacau, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Bacau County > Bacau
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Bacau
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moldova 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Moldova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moldova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.