We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all! .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Decebal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Decebal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Decebal Hotel
Str Ionita Sandu Sturza, 2, Bacau 600268, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Bacau
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not bad at all! .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pretty nice hotel, good location, - was surprised to hear about it being a 2 star! made a change from the busy Bucharest. Rooms were very clean, good sized bathrooms too (I am disabled and access overall was pretty good) after recent experiences in Romania...been there a number of times now!

Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
1
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Renovated? Maybe 15 years ago. But the staff are very friendly, the non-smoking room was actually non-smoking, the rooms are small but clean and functional. TV is ancient with not one other language news channel unfortunately. Supper was very good; had the salmon steak and vegetable schnitzel (tofu in Bacau of all places).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is renovated and i gladly discovered accommodating in here for some nights.
Rooms are spacious and very clean.
Hotel offers a premium restaurant with fresh and good plates every day.
Is located in the center of Bacau City and has panoramic view above the city and nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is well located with easy carpark.
it's an old building, When I enter in the bedroom, I feel like I was going to my grand-ma place in the 90's. but it was clean and the bed was of good quality.

The staff were nice. I asked for croissant and I get a industrial wrapped one with custard... There is some vivarium with snakes in the reception area which is impressiv.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Been staying there for a short business trip,centrally located in Bacau,very close to all important places in town

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I've stayed here so many times in the past 20 years that i should receive some sort of a bonuscard :)) and i just checked it again. Always a pleasure!
My main reason is, as always, the top floor facing the south, for the panoramic view - you get half of the city plus the surrounding hills, simply beautiful ! The sunset in autumn is far right and is splendid but if you get up earlier dont miss the sunrise too!
The hotel is ultracentral located, in the middle of the city, well connected!
The rooms are clean, medium sized and very comfy, though somehow there is smth remembering the old communist attitude in the way they see accomodation, i dont know... They need a more modern approach, i guess, but all in one is a very good hotel.
I like their rooms because they have a nice office with free wi-fi wich is very practical if you travel on business, but make sure you ask for some extra electric wire so you can plug in.
Big clean bathrooms, keycard and poping-up cleaning ladies hahahaha (pls wait for the answer before open the door!!).
Not to forget the helpful reception - big thanx to all the staff!
I will so be back!

Room Tip: anything topfloor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spent six days, five nights traveling from Bucharest to Brasov to Sighisoara, Bucovina, and then back to Bucharest with a guide. Of all of the unique and wonderful places we stayed, this one was the least favorite.

It is a box hotel in the middle of Bacau and it is aging, not gracefully. The hotel reeks of smoke, the rooms are small, breakfast was terrible, though we had a nice dinner with a wonderful waitress serving us.

It would not have been one that I would have chosen but since we had to stop in Bacau, it was ok. We were returning from the Bucovina area to Bucharest and needed a midway point in which to stay. There has to be something better than this in Bacau.

Room Tip: Not sure that there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Decebal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decebal Hotel

Address: Str Ionita Sandu Sturza, 2, Bacau 600268, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Bacau County > Bacau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Bacau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Decebal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Decebal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.