We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a quiet location, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helen Hotel Bacau

Save Saved
You added Helen Hotel Bacau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Helen Hotel Bacau
DN11 / E574, Bacau 607305, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Bacau
Wien
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a quiet location, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I truly cannot find a real fault with this hotel. Maybe the price, which is a bit high for Romania, but it's mostly worth it.
It's not really located IN Bacau, but at 5 km away, in a hilly, forested area overlooking Bacau.
The rooms are large enough, everything is well designed and kept clean, the staff is helpful and polite and the food is great. What more is there to be said? :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bacau, Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's placed in the forest out of the city, at a small distance from Bacau. It's a charming, quiet and comfortable place, excellent for relaxation or business meetings. The restaurant have good food. The staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that don't have direct view at main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piatra Neamt, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

It's my third time there and I always enjoyed ,the rooms , the restaurant ,the staff.It's a good choise to stay and rest during bussines travels.The surroundings are very relaxing ,out of the city , in nature.I recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms oposite to the road are quiter and the rooms from the fourth floor on corner are romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a working week (4 nights), the first thing I noticed was very polite and charming staff, they would do anything to help their customers. The restaurant has good food and great service, the rooms are large and beds are comfy, the bathroom was clean and toiletries were enough and fair quality. Internet was free and better than average speed. Just to help them improve I would say some of the areas that they can improve:
1) an iron and ironing board is necessary for business travelers, they need to add this item in the rooms.
2) it is important for business travelers that breakfast to be ready early morning or at least on time SHARP! During my stay I could had never found all items ready for the breakfast at 7:30! But I have to admit, the breakfast food quality was good and one important compliment to the receptionist on our last day ( Friday ) who personally prepared us a continental breakfast at 5:30 am, it was very nice of her...
3) the restaurant need to find a way to split correctly the bill between people who eat together, it is particularly important for business travelers who need to report their expenses.
I believe the hotel has great potentials and just needs a bit more professionally "managed" while not losing its charming elements.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Many times i enjoyed dinner or lunch at Hellen' s restaurant and i must say that is a perfect choice to anyone to enjoy a delicious dinner or lunch.
My friends stayed overnight at this hotel and they enjoyed a lot.
I live in Bacau so i often came to eat delicious dishes with my friends.
Helen is located outside Bacau City at 5 minutes drive over Onest road.
I must say that in Bacau you won't find a such beautiful place as this 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you've been to Bacau before, you probably know that the hotel selection in town leaves something to be desired. Helen is the solution - beautiful new place in the forests just west of the city. Everything is new, rooms are spotless (and a bargain for what you get), and the restaurant next door has a nice terrace to relax at. The upgrade to a junior suite is inexpensive, and worth it. We didn't try out the spa, but it looks nice as well. Friendly staff. Overall, highly recommended - ideal for both business travelers and tourists.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It's a small drawback that this hotel isn't in the city, so unless you're driving on the E574 to Onesti - Brasov you're likely to miss it. But if you are driving on that road, it's just 3-4 km outside the city, in the hill area.
The hotel is right next to a pine forest and has plenty of free parking. It has 4 floors, a spa, a bar and a restaurant which is right next to it (the food there is great and during summer they have a lovely terrace near the forest. Everything about this hotel shows that a lot of money have been spent to make for comfort. And most of that was spent very wisely. I've already stayed there 2 times and I really liked it.
The shower has a very nice design but the drainage is very bad. While showering, because it's really slow, you end up having water on half the bathroom floor...
If you are into that, i would recommend the spa, which even though you have to spend extra (40 lei), you get mineral water, fruits, lots of towels, two types of steam baths and a small but nice pool all with nice music to relax you.
The rooms are big and when I stayed there, even if it was summer, there was no need for air conditioning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the forest are very quiet and have a great view of the forest and the surrounding hills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helen Hotel Bacau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helen Hotel Bacau

Address: DN11 / E574, Bacau 607305, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Bacau County > Bacau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Bacau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel, placed in a wonderful forest near Bacau, Romania. It was built during one year (2009) and it is an excellent place for relaxation as well as for business meetings. It is an elegant and comfortable place, its architecture being well integrated to the regional and geographical features, but also answering to the up-to-date demands. It is equipped with conference spaces, restaurant and bar areas, spa and relaxation zones (massage rooms, Turkish and Finnish saunas, swimming pools). A proficient host always impeccable for its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Helen Hotel Bacau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helen Hotel Bacau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.