We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With the facilities available & the location, this has the potential to be a 5 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Praia Norte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Praia Norte to your Saves list
Praia Norte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Monsenhor Manuel Bastos, Peniche 2520-206, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Peniche
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“With the facilities available & the location, this has the potential to be a 5 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2012. We got a great deal because of a promotion they had going if you stayed 2 nights. Our total bill was 79€ for the 2 nights; a fantastic deal.

The hotel is about 2 km away from the city centre and about 250 yards from a beautiful white sandy beach.
There is free outdoor parking
Our room had AC
The front counter staff were great, friendly & helpful.

In a move that still surprises me, they charge 5€ per hour for WiFi. When are hotels going to learn that free access to WiFi is now expected. It doesn't have to be in the room, in the lobby and common areas is fine, but get over this need to charge stupid rates for access to my email.

Our room was a good size; the bathroom was dated, but clean and mostly functional. The first room we were were assigned had a leaking sink. Every time we turned on the hot water, it flooded the floor. We reported it and went to the beach. When we returned they had given us a new room and moved all of our luggage for us. In both rooms, there was distinct smell of sewer gas in the bathroom.

There are lots of services available such as massage and lessons for surfing and scuba. There seemed to be a dive shop associated with the hotel but I never found it.

There were two pools, one inside and one outside. The seagulls loved the outside pool and as a result, it was pretty dirty looking. We did see a man cleaning the outdoor pool on our last day there.

The hotel management needs to pay more attention to maintenance. The wall holder for our hand held shower was so loose it was impossible to hang the shower on it. The plunger in the sink did not work, it was disconnected from the shaft that moves it up and down so it was constantly closed.

The breakfast was pretty standard Portuguese fare but there was lots of food and it was all pretty good.

The owners have a potential gem in this hotel with its location and facilities. They need to spend some money on the maintenance to bring it back to what it once was when it was newer. From the road, the hotel looks great and it has the potential to be great, just look after the maintenance.

Would I stay here again? If it remains in the state it is now, no.
If they upgraded to what it could be then I would stay here again.

Room Tip: It's pretty quiet around there so there aren't really bad rooms. Make sure everything works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
11
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

You could see that the Hotel just had the lobby, living room and the bar renew. The catering was plenty and of very good quality. It's not a everyday 3 stars Hotel that has a indoor and outdoor pool (this one also just renewed), sauna, jacuzzi and turkish-bath. Althought it doesn't have a sight for the beach, it stands from the same about 100m. You can rent a bike in the hotel and have a ride to Peniche or to the surroundings, what was very pleasant. The rooms were spacy and very clean. The staff was helpfull and polight.

I trully recommend it!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Ok we booked becase the appartment we wanted`
wasn't availble untill 2 days after our arrival. praia norte in short
+close to beach
-old
-dirty pool
-terrible beds
-no storage space
-over priced for what it is

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sines, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The ideal hotel for those who just need a place to sleep. They should consider equipping the rooms with double beds (couple beds), as all rooms have only two separate single beds. Not experienced the pools or the restaurant. Considering the quality, it's a good ratio with the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Service was very good.
The room was cranped with an extra bed we'd asked for.
The location is a bit far from center, excellent for bikers.
The best was the value for money and the least was the distance from the town's center.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lousa, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

It's easy to get there and the Hotel is close to the beach, and those are its most valuable features, besides being close to Peniche, a village that's trully a paradise for fish lovers.
A part from this, although it looks lovely on pictures, the Hotel is far from providing a 3 stars service. The staff is not friendly, properly trained and deffinitely doesn't know how to meet a costumer's needs.
The problems started the minute we arrived. Since there are no rooms with sea view, we booked one with pool view (and that was assured to us). In the end we got a ground floor facing two white walls and sandy field (no signs of pool at all).
The room was fine, although it had some security issues and the air conditioning was not working properly. The bathroom was flooding (we warned the staff and where totally ignored) and we couldn't use the shower at all (only the bathtub).
The facilities seemed great, however the playroom was poorly equiped (most of it was ruined), and there was deffinitely too much chlorine in the swimming pool and jacuzzi water, making it almost impossible to be there for more than an hour.
The brakfasts were ok (although there were no towels on the tables, just paper sheets), but the restaurant service (specially the self-service) is a mess, leaving the gest with very few options, besides chips and beans.
I guess by the comment above it seems like we are very exquisite people, but I can assure you that's not true. I love to travel and I use to camp. I'm Portuguese and I've been to all sort of places, including several other 3 star Hotels in Portugal (some of them with amazing services) and this one is for sure one of the worst.

Room Tip: Good luck with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I travelled to this hotel with my spouse for a week end getaway and we think first of all this is a good hotel for the value. The room was nice, the staff polite and the breakfast good..
The pool needs some improvements.
The sorroundings are very beautifull: Baleal, Carvoeiro cape...
Peniche food is wonderful

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Praia Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Norte

Address: Av. Monsenhor Manuel Bastos, Peniche 2520-206, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Peniche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Praia Norte 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Praia Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Norte Hotel Peniche

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praia Norte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.