We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfer's Bay

Save Saved
You added Surfer's Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surfer's Bay
Rua do Salgado, lote D1, Peniche 2520-193, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Specialty lodging in Peniche
Lodz, Poland
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Surfers' bay is a nice quiet place to stay, a bit away from Baleal and Peniche, but close to the beach and bocaxica spot.. The accommodation is good, and the service is great. Great people and surf vibe. You do not need anything else

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here earlier this summer after suddenly deciding to take up surfing for a week while traveling Europe. Thoroughly enjoyed my experience! João and his whole crew were fantastic people and helped set me up with whatever I needed. Whether you're there to surf or just hang out and wander the beach or visit Peniche's cool pirate ruins, etc. you're in good hands. They've got great taste in films too, if that's your thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We staied for two days in Peniche, we had a shared apartment in a 3 rooms apartment. The staff was helpfull,the apartament was nice had view at the ocean, the beach is near. It's a great place especialy for surfers, they have surf classes every day at a location near by. It's better to have a car if yiu want to stay here because the grocerystores are quite far for a walk and the prices for the bicicle rent are quite high. We had a rented car so we haven't had any problems moving around. The apartment comes with a well equiped kitchen, every room has it's own bathroom,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 9 nights. Such an epic place to stay if you're keen on surfing. Joao who runs the place is a legend and will help you out with anything. Close to the beach. Not far from Peniche central and Baleal central where the bars are. Pools are great for relaxing at and the Cafe next door is convenientfor relaxed after oon beers or affordable meals. Definitely check it out!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hostel is beautiful, and the people who work here the best. Whatever we needed they provided with a smile. You can rent almost anything and have it delivered to the hostel, while you're relaxing by the pool or in the gameroom. I'm going back next year for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setúbal, Setubal, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Achei o hostel fantástico. As instalações muito modernas, bonitas e asseadas. O pessoal é simpático e prestável. A piscina é espetacular. Bons acessos. 5 estrelas!

I found the hostel fantastic. Very modern, beautiful and neat facilities. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is spectacular. Good access. 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

An amazing place! The staff and the location are the best! It felt like a stay with friends, in a genuine rather than simply "service-oriented" way. Whatever I needed, they arranged it with a smile - switching back and forth between surfboards, a bike at night, grocery shopping, a lift to the bus station, you name it! (Thank you again, guys!)
Five minutes across the street and dunes, you'll come onto the best surfing section of a long, beautiful beach that is also great for sunbathing. Very convenient since you don't need a car, can take a break from the July sun around noon back at the hostel, and can get a proper lunch between the waves...
The place is spacious, very clean, with a nice pool area (my dorm's door opened right onto it...) and a large, well-equipped lounge and kitchen - very luxurious for a hostel, and great value for money! There's also a nice breakfast, and fruits on the tables all day.
I fully recommend Surfer's Bay for surfers and non-surfers, since the place itself is so pleasant, and even for families - there's a separate children's pool!
I left with a big smile, and I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfer's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer's Bay

Address: Rua do Salgado, lote D1, Peniche 2520-193, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Specialty lodging in Peniche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfer's Bay is a lifestyle concept where the love for the waves and the experiences between different cultures are included in the best hosting, typical from Portuguese culture, in a comfortable and chillout ambience associated with reliability and innovation of our services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Surfer's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfer's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.