We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to visit it !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Log House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's Log House to your Saves list
Captain's Log House
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Av. do Mar, 142 Casais do Baleal, Peniche 2520-101, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Piestany, Slovakia
1 review
“You have to visit it !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I tried to find a right word to describe Captain´s....but you have to visit it !!! It´s a great place to stay, when you are in Baleal. House has unique design, not just outside the house, but also inside, you have to explore it and you can find very funny things (Like Chess from Frogs and Ladybirds instead of black&white figures) ;) Captain´s has great backyard,perfect for barbeque party, or just relaxing with your friends. It´s just a few minutes from beach and surf spots. Did I mention a breakfast? Yummy pancakes !!! I could write an ode to Captain´s because I spent here super surfweek and met great people...you have to visit it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
33
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very nice place to stay in Peniche. House is very clean with excellent breakfeast!!! You can surf whole day after that:) Beach can be reached on foot. There is a surf storage place in the basement. Owners are very nice and ready to help with everything. They are organizing barbecue parties with live music.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I'm looking forward for coming back to Baleal & Captain's.
Met a lot of friends there among the guests and all the staff is super cool.
The house has nice atmosphere & style and the best thing is that my favorite surf spot is just a minute walk down the cliffs :D

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letsgonow_11
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Captains is simply a great choice if you want a friendly and cool place to stay! Its a laid back atmosphere and the people who runs the place make you feel welcome from the first day.
If you bring your skateboard (or borrow a free bike) you can roll down to the beach in minutes, even passing by "The Drop" where you have great surf lessons and also great yoga.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It was my second stay at Captain’s. this time with full house. despite of that it was not crowded or uncomfortable, on the contrary, I felt like visiting an old friend's house.I was picked up from Peniche bus station and straight away went surfing a nearby secret spot.

I could talk a lot but will try to focus on most important aspects: - free breakfast, served each day by supernice staff; free fruits and little chocolates available for guests; surf storage place; bikes that you can rent free of charge and explore nearby villages or simply checkout waves each morning (do not forget to lock the bike ;) and interesting people from all over the world that you can meet and party with.

I hooked up with surf camp from Slovakia, which uses Captain’s as their base; it was great as I could improve my surf skills with Ben and Peter- the instructors. We had one barbecue party with 2 guys playing guitars, one guy playing watering can as drums, and few others singing
Jack Johnson “Old train to breakdown” which was quite epic...
Visit Captain’s and you will not regret it! High five to Ze and Sabina and see you next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your second visit and kind words. We enjoyed hosting and looking after you as much as you enjoyed being here. Thanks again and wishing you a great summer and hopefully see you back here SOON!
Wishing you good waves the Captain's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Everything was already stated - so simply thank for your hospitality. It was our pleasure after exciting surf course experience to come back and have relax. Kind regards Martin ps the "signing" beds should be replaced

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you´re looking for a place to feel soooo cozy, welcomed and safe from the harmful ocean breeze out there in Baleal, this is your place to go! Sadly just spent one night there because of us traveling on along the coast, but these guys managed to make me wanting to come back instantly! Nice rooms, a spacey living room with games, comics and an endless bowl of peanuts on the table - what more do you need? Everything a surfer needs, from a drying room for your wettie and board to good advices which spots to frequent, it´s like a 'no worries'-program there. Love to come back, and thanks a lot for scrambled eggs and pancakes !!! ps. pay attention the the nice artwork all around the house, this comic sailor-style is really cool!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Log House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Log House

Address: Av. do Mar, 142 Casais do Baleal, Peniche 2520-101, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Peniche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Log House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain´s Log House is a recently built beach hostel / surf lodge intended to accommodate people from all over the world. Is owned and run by travelers for travelers. There are more than 5 surfing spots at walking distance. Captain´s Log House has a unique decoration design, and a wonderful friendly atmosphere. Guests can cook and eat together. Someone travelling alone can do friends here. There is a particularly fabulous fresh grass smell, and it is very relaxing to lay down on the grass at the sun, after surf/stand up paddleboard (or other ocean sport). Upon request there are yoga/pilates/massages, etc in the garden. The beach is in the back of the house, so you can listen to the relaxing sound of the ocean every night. Or you can delight with the beautiful sunsets seen from the house balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Captain's Log House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Log House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.