We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geekco Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Geekco Hostel to your Saves list
Geekco Hostel
R. Arquitecto Paulino Montez no. 25, Peniche 2520-294, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Fantastic hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

It's has been one of the most Fantastic experience of my travelling.
unplanned surfing holiday one way ticked to Lisbon and it's all about it. was so lucky to pick that small village and crash to Geekco Hostel.
they are SOOOOO friendly more than a family and there is nothing can't be done they have always helped doing thing for you no one els could do unless you know them for quite good time.
I have been and still in contact with them and i wish them all the best and growing business ..
We need more Geekco hostels all over the world..

Room Tip: Trust me take choose any and you will be happy if not just sk them and they will be good help to mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
49
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matosinhos, Porto, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This summer I spent the most wonderful weekend at Geekco Hostel!
The location and the facilities are excellent, as well as the breakfast!
However, nothing beats the host, that is nice, helpful and available!
Definitely, it is a place to come back in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I couldnt recommend Geekco high enough. Priced very well and I was expecting more of a hostel experience but we had booked a suite and it was a superb room in a lovingly restored old building. The staff are beyond helpful and are great fun. There is a lovely courtyard with a bar. We were passing through the area and werent there for surf school. I dont think there is much to the town unless you are looking to go surfing, the cliffs at the end of the town peninsula are worth a visit but if you were planning to spend time just in the town I would choose somewhere else. If, however you are drawn there like many others to surf and attend a surf school I think the Geekco is a perfect choice to meet other surfers and have a lovely place to relax after the day.

Room Tip: The junior suite was well priced and was really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Thelmo, Thiago, Anders & staff couldn't have been more welcoming and hospitable. The location was ideal, in walking distance to the waves! The wall paintings outside really make it a bright & colourful place. Many a fun times were had in the back garden, which has a bar, a bbq, a balcony and even a rabbit! Really chilled place, filled with friendly people making it a perfect base if your travelling for the surf or just to meet some great people from all corners of the world. The team there have all your needs covered, with breakfast provided, bike & surfboard rentals & even a surf guide who can bring you to the beach! It is a unique hostel because of the sense of community that I felt there, really was like a family away from home!!! It's a special place, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Looks that they thought about everything from bar in the yard to hairdryer in the room for ladies. The breakfast was tasty and rich. This is a perfect place with a good karma (for young people). This place inspired us to come back here to take a surfing lessons and become a surfers, because the place is very inspiring :)
Also it was perfect for one night stop on the way from Porto To Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 1 night. Really liked relaxed people that we found there (staff included into this). Nice interrior and backyard. Basic breakfast (bread, cheese, coffee, corn flakes). Sweet bonus: rabbit that is living in backyard:)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed for one week, and the time there was awesome! Location is really nice, in the center, but also close enough to the beach to walk and also close to the bus station. Team there is great, staff makes everything possible, strting from accomodation, breakfast but also providing surf material and transport. Hostel itself is nice, cozy, nearly family-style and great place to hang-out in the evenings in the own little garden with an own bar. In sum: will be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geekco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geekco Hostel

Address: R. Arquitecto Paulino Montez no. 25, Peniche 2520-294, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Peniche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GeekCo Hostel is located right in the heart of Peniche. A historic building from 1941, fully renewed into a multiple service kind of hostel. The GeekCo Hostel accommodations range from the bed in a dorm room to a suite with private bathroom, living room and fire-place. The common areas include a TV room, with 100 tv channel and wii games, Internet room, with free use computers (wifi connection available in the entire hostel), fully equipped kitchen, with around 1000L of freezer storage volume and all cooking gear, free coffee and tea, Garden areas, with Cocktail-bar, lounge area, BBQ and cold water showers. The Location makes all the external supports necessary for a perfect stay "just around the corner". The 24h reception and our experienced team members will be always available to provide to our guests every need and make sure that GeekCo Hostel is truly "A Place Like Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Geekco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geekco Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.