We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't even stayed there :P” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geekco Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Geekco Hostel to your Saves list
Geekco Hostel
R. Arquitecto Paulino Montez no. 25, Peniche 2520-294, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Coimbra, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't even stayed there :P”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived at Geekco very late, after missing our boat from the Berlenga island.
They were fully booked so we were not able to stay there.
Seeing our despair, the guy at the front desk was simply awsome: he invited us in for dinner, at the hostel lovely garden, and made a dozen of phone calls to find a place for us to stay.
The hostel is very cozy, and has a great garden with a small mini-bar where everyone gets together.
The next time we are going to Peniche, we'll definetly stay at Geekco.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
49
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Velenje, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Clean, firendly staff, made some great firends there. The garden and the kitchen are awsome. If you plan to rent surf equipment, do it there because the quality is much better than the ones you get on the beaches. The only minus is that the shared rooms are lower standard than the double rooms upstair but i guess that is normal.

Room Tip: the room next to the reception can be a bit noisy, because people get in and out of the hostel often
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Best hostel i've been to! Clean and cosy, with nice patio where you can eat and drink at the evening before party or just chill. You can save your money by making meals in well-equiped kitchen. Staff is very friendly and always helpfull! I truely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights there and there was not a single thing to complain about!
You can rent surfboards and wetsuits directly at the hostel and have a try at the beach ;)
We've also rent bikes for half a day and went cruising along the coast around the village, which was great fun too!
We'll be back ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I with the in laws stayed at Geekco last week. On arrival the staff were very helpful and gave us the tour of the place and basically gave us all the information we needed, right at the start. We were upgraded on the room also, nice surprise. The rooms were clean and new looking, we had the rooms with ensuites, both clean, everything working.

The good thing about Geekco is that there is a lay back attitude, so it feels relaxed, but also when you want to ask something things move quickly. 2 examples, we were looking for a good restaurant to eat when we arrived, we wanted some thing really good. The gent at reception gave us a recommendation, at our request he then went and booked the restaurant for us and with his booking got us a 10% discount on the meal, nice. The restaurant was awesome on the cliffs overlooking the ocean.

I hired a surf board and wetsuit which were in good condition also.

Overall we had a good stay and would have liked to stay longer at Geekco...maybe next time...

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

For sure the best location in town. Very centrally located, clean, very friendly staff, nice bar in the courtyard, extremely cosy place! The Master Bedroom for 2 is just perfect for a couple. Well run Hostel - Thats the way how to do it! Go ahaid like this, guys!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is what I wished all the hostels where like on our trip. We where traveling 2 months so we stayed in a few and this was by far the best. Geekco has a really great vibe, the staff are super friendly and bend over backwards to make your stay great. Most nights they have a communal BBQ for anyone who should want to participate. These communal events make for a great way to meet new people. The rooms are clean and fresh, kitchen has everything you would need to cook for yourself. I couldn't have asked for anything more. Don't hesitate to book here you won't regret it!
Thanks again for a great stay :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geekco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geekco Hostel

Address: R. Arquitecto Paulino Montez no. 25, Peniche 2520-294, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Peniche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GeekCo Hostel is located right in the heart of Peniche. A historic building from 1941, fully renewed into a multiple service kind of hostel. The GeekCo Hostel accommodations range from the bed in a dorm room to a suite with private bathroom, living room and fire-place. The common areas include a TV room, with 100 tv channel and wii games, Internet room, with free use computers (wifi connection available in the entire hostel), fully equipped kitchen, with around 1000L of freezer storage volume and all cooking gear, free coffee and tea, Garden areas, with Cocktail-bar, lounge area, BBQ and cold water showers. The Location makes all the external supports necessary for a perfect stay "just around the corner". The 24h reception and our experienced team members will be always available to provide to our guests every need and make sure that GeekCo Hostel is truly "A Place Like Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Geekco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geekco Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.