We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You walk in and you feel home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PH - Peniche Hostel and Surfschool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added PH - Peniche Hostel and Surfschool to your Saves list
PH - Peniche Hostel and Surfschool
rua Arquitecto Paulino Montes, 6, Peniche 2520, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Peniche
1 review
“You walk in and you feel home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Peniche Hostel and I basically have nothing negative to say about it. As soon as we walked in, Shana gave us a warm welcome and checked us in even if we were 1 hour too early. We stayed in the private 2 beds room (Asia) and it was very comfortable. The whole hostel is very clean but has a "staying over at friends" feel more than "asceptisized hotel". There are two common bathrooms with showers that are pretty large and always clean, seemed like everyone staying there was very respectful. Shana gave us great tips about Peniche. We took a surf lesson and it was so chill and fun, we were 6 people from the hostel with 2 instructors (Yogo and Nuno!!! - probably messing then names up!) both of them were friendly, very good instructor and encouraging. We loved our experience. There is also a cruise to Berlenga Island that we didn't have time to do but highly recommend. They have information about it at the hostel. Oh! The included breakfast is generous and diverse, coffee and hot water, fruits, cereals, granola, milk, fresh bread, butter and nice jams. The overall feel of our stay is that we felt just like home. The other host that was there while we stayed, Patricia, was so nice, funny and helpful. In only two days, we feel like we made friends, both other guests and hosts. If you go to Peniche, look no further than Peniche Hostel!
(It's also a 4-5 minutes walk from the bus stop and 10 minutes from the beaches!!!)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you want a great, relaxed stay surrounded by great people, Peniche Hostel is definetly the place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere at the small hostel is very welcoming and chilled, a place you want to stay more than just one night. The rooms are nice and clean, the kitchen facilities are great, and you have a nice cozy living room too. The hostel is situated near the center of Peniche, with many supermarkets near by. The beach is at walking distance good also for surfing. The hostel offers surf classes, with excellent instructors, helping everyone individually to develop their surfing skills. I definetly recommend the hostel for all travellers who wish to share great time with great people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a very nice place to stay in Peniche, comfortable and cozy, and they also organize surf lessons and can rent you equipment, you just have to ask! Located near the bus terminal and the rede-expressos stop in front of the Courtyard, which is probably slightly closer to the hostel when you arrive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very cosy place with lovingly furnished and very clean rooms. The staff ist very friendly and does everything to make you feel good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Deutschland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

peniche has beautiful beaches that are wonderfully quiet in may.
the people are very warm and not just in the hostel.
Also in May, you can surf wonderful.
The hostel has a very nice surf instructor.
the operator of the hostels are very professionally and full of life.
with a great closeness to the ocean

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PH - Peniche Hostel and Surfschool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PH - Peniche Hostel and Surfschool

Address: rua Arquitecto Paulino Montes, 6, Peniche 2520, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Peniche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peniche Hostel (PH Hostel) is a boutique hostel located in Peniche. It is known for being a place that makes travelers feel at home. If you prefer a special and charismatic place, different from all surfing masses accommodation camps, we have 2 options for your staying. 1- A boutique hostel in Peniche Center that can offer you the true Portuguese surfing lifestyle. Going to the markets, visiting old town, visiting the natural park of Berlengas and surfing the famous Supertubes.. This hostel was the first to open in Peniche and it's been recognized as one of the best boutique hostels in Portugal by The Guardian and Lonely Planet Guides. 2- If you prefer more privacy come and meet our new studiosHi there and thank you for your email.Our Property are an open plan Studio furnished and with all the facilities needed for your stay including, kitchenet, fridge, tv, internet and air condicioned. All the studios have a double bed or 2 single beds and 2 more beds can be added. Owned by the same staff of Peniche Hostel Backpackers you can always count on us and the services the hostel can offer you like barbeques, surf guiding, taking you to Berlenga Island amoung other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your PH - Peniche Hostel and Surfschool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PH - Peniche Hostel and Surfschool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.