We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manassas Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manassas Museum

The Manassas Museum
9101 Prince William Street, Manassas, VA 20110
703-368-1873
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 16 attractions in Manassas
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy a permanent exhibit spanning Native American through 20th Century periods, with a special emphasis on the Civil War. Meet spies and scallyways, slaves and soldiers, presidents and generals as you and your family experience special living history portrayals from the past. Don't miss the Museum's seven diverse historic sites, all nearby, or changing exhibit space.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Manassas Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Manassas Museum is well worth the visit if you enjoy the civil war. For kids younger than 12 they may not enjoy it because there is a lot of reading and original photos to look at.

The museum was created by artifacts the local people donated to it. For me this makes it quite interesting.

It is a small museum so you problely could see it all in 2 hours.

There are some nice restaurants within walking distance. If you eat at Foster' grill and eat outside you can watch the trains pass through Manassas. It is near the train station and within walking distance of the museum. All the shops in Manassas are within walking distance of the museum.

The entrance fee is quite low $5

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“History in review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The nice open grounds make this even a nicer place to visit, a time to look back at our history and hope do not make the same mistakes.
See some interesting pictures of old Manassas and area and see some new review of the Civil War. Visit Train station across street as it is offers lots of information on area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Really nice museum, plenty to see. Nice place to go if traveling in the summer to get out of VA heat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Little bit of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good museum with a good amount of artifacts and history on Manassas. The staff is very knowledgable of the history in the area. Worth a stop if in the area

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy learning history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The museum is nice and worth a visit but what I really want to compliment are the walking tours and other tours the museum is offering this summer. I have done the city walking tour which details what happened in and around Manassas during the Civil War. It takes about 45 minutes and as a local resident I learned things I didn't know. In addition, I did the tour of Liberia Plantation which is rarely open to the public. I have driven past it so often and never knew it was there, hidden in the trees. Our guide, Paige, did a terrific job and despite the heat, wore her costume. I think the tours are conducted everyday except Monday at 11:00 am this summer. Check it out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manassas Museum also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to The Manassas Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manassas Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.